No video output SDI and HDMI with FS700 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony Digital Cinema Camera Systems > Sony NXCAM NEX-FS700 CineAlta

Sony NXCAM NEX-FS700 CineAlta
4K EXMOR sensor with SDI, slow-motion recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 2nd, 2013, 04:28 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Almelo
Posts: 177
No video output SDI and HDMI with FS700

Hey everybody,

Maybe somebody else had this problem and can hopefully help us.

All of a sudden we have no video output with both SDI and HDMI with the Sony NEX FS700. For both we have no signal at all now, but it started with our Swit monitor that gave an interference when both the HDMI (connected an tv monitor) and SDI (Swit monitor) were connected. It gave stuttering lines and then it gave a freeze frame. I disconnected the monitor and when a connected it again it had no signal. We tried the Swit monitor with HDMI in our Canon 5D Mark III and it worked fine, just like the tv monitor.

Anybody else had this problem?

Cheers Niels
__________________
Studio MAD
www.studiomad.nl
Niels Neeskens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2013, 05:51 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Efland NC, USA
Posts: 2,315
Re: No video output SDI and HDMI with FS700

If you have the FS700 set for 60p and the monitor output set to progressive it will output a signal that isn't compatible with a lot of monitors.

What framerate do you have the FS700 set for?
__________________
http://www.LandYachtMedia.com
Chris Medico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2013, 07:28 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Almelo
Posts: 177
Re: No video output SDI and HDMI with FS700

Thanks for that Chris. We have it set on 25P so that shouldn't be the problem.
__________________
Studio MAD
www.studiomad.nl
Niels Neeskens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2013, 09:11 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Efland NC, USA
Posts: 2,315
Re: No video output SDI and HDMI with FS700

As a test can you set the SDI/HDMI output to interlaced?

This will be the most compatible output signal and if you still have no output with this setting then the camera has suffered an internal failure.

The only other thing I could recommend is to do a factory reset in the menu to eliminate setup memory corruption as a cause.
__________________
http://www.LandYachtMedia.com
Chris Medico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2013, 06:27 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Almelo
Posts: 177
Re: No video output SDI and HDMI with FS700

Thanks for that Chris. Unfortunately it didn't solve the problem. I can't find the factory reset in the menu. You probably mean the reset above the play button? We tried that and it didn't work.
__________________
Studio MAD
www.studiomad.nl
Niels Neeskens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2013, 09:24 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Efland NC, USA
Posts: 2,315
Re: No video output SDI and HDMI with FS700

That isn't looking good for a simple fix. I suspect only a trip to the nearest Sony service center is going to get you back in the game.
__________________
http://www.LandYachtMedia.com
Chris Medico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2013, 09:31 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Almelo
Posts: 177
Re: No video output SDI and HDMI with FS700

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Medico View Post
That isn't looking good for a simple fix. I suspect only a trip to the nearest Sony service center is going to get you back in the game.
I know, all ready got it set up for the trip. Total bummer!
__________________
Studio MAD
www.studiomad.nl
Niels Neeskens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2013, 09:33 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Efland NC, USA
Posts: 2,315
Re: No video output SDI and HDMI with FS700

Let us know what the final result of the service is. Hopefully it isn't a flaw in the camera design.
__________________
http://www.LandYachtMedia.com
Chris Medico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2013, 09:36 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Almelo
Posts: 177
Re: No video output SDI and HDMI with FS700

I will, they promised it will be back within 7 days or we'll get a replacement model.
__________________
Studio MAD
www.studiomad.nl
Niels Neeskens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2013, 01:04 PM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Dorset, uk
Posts: 6
Re: No video output SDI and HDMI with FS700

My FS700 HDMI board has probably never worked. I have had the camera for around 6 months.
I have just sent it back for a warranty repair to Sony.
I have been using the HD/SDI output up until now, but just bought an Arrow Plus wireless unit which needs the HDMI for the video feed.
Colin Froud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2013, 10:56 AM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Dorset, uk
Posts: 6
Re: No video output SDI and HDMI with FS700

My camera is still with Sony who are 'awaiting parts' to repair my unit.
They have kindly sent me a brand new one to use.
Unfortunately, this unit also has a faulty HDMI output!
Colin Froud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2013, 04:18 PM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
Re: No video output SDI and HDMI with FS700

Two cameras with two faulty HDMI outputs is a little unlikely. I would start to look for reason why the HDMI is either not working or appears not to be working.

For a start is the camera output set to P or I? Many monitors and external devices will only work with I or PsF. Start by ensuring your output is set to 50i. Very few devices will recognise 1920 x 1080 25P.
__________________
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2013, 04:53 PM   #13
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Dorset, uk
Posts: 6
Re: No video output SDI and HDMI with FS700

Hi Alister,
I wish you were right, but unfortunately several professional grade monitors say otherwise, including a Oxygen dct Evolution Pro P3 7" oled, a 24" Evolution Pro grading monitor, a 7" TV logic and an Alphatron viewfinder. All are in fine working order, but none display a HDMI signal, no matter what setting the camera is set to, and I did try your suggestions.
All however display HDSDI with no problems.

Sony still have my camera 2 weeks on as they are awaiting parts, so there definately is a problem.

I have talked to an engineer regarding the problem and they confirm my camera was faulty.

I guess it is sheer bad luck the replacement unit is also faulty!
Colin Froud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2013, 10:10 AM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 456
Re: No video output SDI and HDMI with FS700

Not to state the obvious, but did you try several different cables? HDMI cables are notoriously unpredictable.
Eric Darling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2013, 07:45 AM   #15
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Dorset, uk
Posts: 6
Re: No video output SDI and HDMI with FS700

Hi Eric,
Yep, cables check. It's always the first thing I do when checking any kit problems, but always worth stating the obvious! 14 years in the broadcast industry has taught me that.

The camera has been returned to me today and is now outputting 25p via HDMI to my wireless monitor, just as it should have done in the first place.

The engineers report states there was a fault which has been rectified by replacing components.
Now they just need to repair the replacement hire unit!
Colin Froud is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony Digital Cinema Camera Systems > Sony NXCAM NEX-FS700 CineAlta

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:43 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network