VX & PD series battery / batteries - Page 4 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony VX2100 / PD170 / PDX10 Companion

Sony VX2100 / PD170 / PDX10 Companion
Topics also include Sony's TRV950, VX2000, PD150 & DSR250 family.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 20th, 2003, 02:18 PM   #46
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 804
VX2k and pd150 are the same on battery issues. See http://www.henrys.com/webapp/wcs/sto...s.com/manuals/ on page 11
Andre De Clercq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 20th, 2003, 05:31 PM   #47
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Northridge Ca
Posts: 734
All that information is located on page twelve of the owner's manual. If you do not have a PD150 manual, you can find a download at many sites.
__________________
Wayne

If it was easy, they'd get a relative to do it.
Wayne Orr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2003, 09:31 PM   #48
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Bozeman MT
Posts: 51
Battery Powered Me66 Mic or Phantom Power?

Is it a total mistake to buy the Battery powered Me66 Shotgun mic over the phantom powered for the pd 150?
Todd Moen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2003, 01:58 AM   #49
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
I do believe the battery powered version will also accept Phantom power. The phantom-only version is sometimes more expensive but why limit your options? Get the version that will accommodate both.

Check with someone who has a manual. I have the microphone but no manual and I don't actually remember the last time I phantom powered it instead of using the battery.

BTW, many microphones perform slightly better with phantom than with battery because of the higher voltage available with phantom power. Usually it is a broadening of the bandwidth.
__________________
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2003, 02:17 PM   #50
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Posts: 34
I have the battery and phantom powered mic but still don't understand about them. Is the phantom power coming from the main Lithium battery - and so if I used the AA battery I would save power for the video camera?
Mark Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2003, 02:21 PM   #51
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vallejo, CA
Posts: 263
My SGM2X uses LR44 (AAA) batteries, my PD150 has phantom power, can I take the battery off and turn on the phantom power? I haven't tried that yet...
__________________
"USA Today has come out with a new survey - apparently, three out of every four people make up 75% of the population." -David Letterman
Garret Ambrosio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2003, 03:07 PM   #52
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
The microphone uses so little power that you will not be able to detect the difference in run times.

Garret, I don't know about your unit. If it has XLR connectors, then phantom power should not bother it in any way. I'd look at the manual first.
__________________
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2003, 06:01 PM   #53
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vallejo, CA
Posts: 263
It does have XLR connectors, but I was wondering if I can "free" the Lr44 and just use the power off the PD150.
__________________
"USA Today has come out with a new survey - apparently, three out of every four people make up 75% of the population." -David Letterman
Garret Ambrosio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2003, 03:48 AM   #54
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: U.K.
Posts: 125
PD150 Rechargeable Batteries

I am having big problems with my two additional batteries, in as much as neither of them appear to be charging up.

The battery that came with the 150 charges up okay via the charger and also the mains volatge power supply, but I can't get any of the other two batteries to charge up/respond.

The batteries and the DVCAM are less than a month old and both appeared to charge up a few weeks ago.

I recall the problem seemed to begin when I went to change out my first tape after it was full. I had to re-insert it a few times and in amongst all that, I accidently ejected the tape whilst the camera was on, though not recording. I am beginning to wonder if there is a reset I can perform to synchronise everything again.

Any help would really be appreciated as I only get about an hour with the battery that came with the 150.

Many, many thanks,
Neil
Neil McLean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2003, 05:53 AM   #55
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
The stock battery will only give about an hour.
Ejecting the tape with the camera should have no bearing on the batteries, I do it all the time.
What kind of batteries did you buy, (the manufacturer) did you get a seperate charger for them, if not, are the batteries seated fully on the camera when you are charging them?
A little more info will help to clear up you power mystery.
Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2003, 07:23 AM   #56
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: U.K.
Posts: 125
Hi Don,

Thanks for your reply.

I bought an additional two Digital Hi-Power 3500mAh Lithium-Ion battery packs and a SAKAR Rapid charger.

I'm convinced that the batteries are installed correctly, when I try and charge either of them up now with the charger, the red LED no longer comes on suggesting the batteries are charged. This is further replicated when I use the camera power supply to charge them.

After a minute or so, the small LCD screen indicates the battries are fully-charged, though it no longer displays the time. After switching the camera on with the mains still attached it powers up okay, then as soon as I switch off the mains supply, the camera dies on me.

Neil
Neil McLean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2003, 08:08 AM   #57
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
HMMMM, not familiar with that particular brand of battery but, it sounds like it could be either you were really unlucky and got a couple of bad batteries (it's been known to happen) OR the charger is giving a false reading.

I think I would power the camera up with battery only just to see if it will and how long it will run. I'm guessing that the extra batteries you got should give at least 4 hours of run time. Open the LCD and do some zooming to see how much time you'll really get. In other words use the camera as if you were shooting a job and see what the battery is "saying". You might have to return the batteries and get new ones. I'm assuming there is some kind of warranty on the batteries?

The fact that the time isn't showing isn't a big deal, it doesn't on my 150's either until I do something with the camera, either zoom or start recording, then the amount of time left on the battery shows in the LCD.

Don B.
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2003, 08:25 AM   #58
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: U.K.
Posts: 125
Hi Don,

I left the battery to charge for about three or four hours and it cuts out as soon as I switch off the mains supply.

Initially I switched on the camera with the mains power supply still on, then switch off the mains. As soon as I switch of the power supply the camera ceases to function and switches off immediately.

With the mains still connected, I tried to get the battery time on the LCD after panning and zooming for a minute but all to no avail.

Neil
Neil McLean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2003, 08:27 AM   #59
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: U.K.
Posts: 125
Further to the above, I forgot to mention that the battery time is displayed as _ _ _ even when indicating a full charge on the display window and not the LCD.

Neil
Neil McLean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2003, 09:20 AM   #60
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,922
The Sony battery that was supplied with the camera works. The two off brand batteries don't. That should tell you something right there.

Return them and buy Sony replacement batteries. If you can't chalk it up to experience. JMHO
Bryan Beasleigh is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony VX2100 / PD170 / PDX10 Companion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:42 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network