One tape has no displayed timecode in my PD-170?! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony VX2100 / PD170 / PDX10 Companion

Sony VX2100 / PD170 / PDX10 Companion
Topics also include Sony's TRV950, VX2000, PD150 & DSR250 family.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 17th, 2004, 10:06 PM   #1
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
One tape has no displayed timecode in my PD-170?!

The very last tape I shot tonight at a wedding wasn't displaying any timecode in the upper right hand corner of my LCD on my PD-170. I never changed any settings- it seemed to be displaying timecode all night on all my tapes accept this one. It just show dashes where the #'s would be. I went back to review the footage and it seems fine- just no timecode ...both when I'm recording and when I'm playing back. What could be the problem?
Glen Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2004, 02:44 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 366
Glen, can we assume that you've put in another tape and recorded on it since this and the timecode has displayed properly? Have you used the remote controler to turn the display for timecode on and off? Actually, since it shows little dashes where the timecode should be, this indicates you have the display turned on in playback. Is the absence of timecode dislay just on the camcorder's viewscreens or is it also missing from an analog output, shown on a monitor, when the display is turned on? Does this tape display datacode? Have you placed the problem tape in another DV VTR and seen if it will show timecode? Is there such a thing as drop-all-the-frames timecode mode? Good Luck.

Steve McDonald
Steve McDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2004, 07:38 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Deep River, Connecticut
Posts: 253
Try cycling through the t code/user bit button. I have hit this button by accident before and all of the sudden no timecode displayed....could be a simple fix...we could only hope!
Chad Whelan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2004, 10:19 AM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
<<<-- Originally posted by Chad Whelan : Try cycling through the t code/user bit button. I have hit this button by accident before and all of the sudden no timecode displayed....could be a simple fix...we could only hope! -->>>

Chad I think you might be on to something- as long as that button resides physically on the body and not nestled in a menu. The probability I bumped a button is much higher than me "accidentally" going into a menu and changing something. Unfortunately I'm not at home and can't test this but I will do so asap. Is it, indeed, on the side of the camera where the lcd is folded and stored?
Glen Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2004, 06:34 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Deep River, Connecticut
Posts: 253
yes it is, I have a pd150 but would imagine the button being the same.
Chad Whelan is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony VX2100 / PD170 / PDX10 Companion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:49 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network