Sony DSR-300A at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony VX2100 / PD170 / PDX10 Companion

Sony VX2100 / PD170 / PDX10 Companion
Topics also include Sony's TRV950, VX2000, PD150 & DSR250 family.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 11th, 2010, 08:55 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga, ON Canada
Posts: 9
Sony DSR-300A

Hello,

First off, forgive me if I have posted this in the wrong forum area, I noticed another DSR-300 related question in this forum.

I recently purchased a Sony DSR-300A with the Fujinon Lens. During testing before purchase, the camera auto focused on a subject I was pointing at (at least I could have sworn it did). However, since bringing it home, it does not auto focus at all. I have to manually focus the lens when zooming in. The person I purchased it off of (Technologist at a College) was pretty sure it will auto focus when you zoom in, some of the students were sure of this as well from using it.

Is there a feature, or menu setting I have overlooked?
Robert Perry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2010, 11:29 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
No auto focus, I'm afraid. And yes, I've used the camera. Chances are whatever you were zooming in on happened to be at the distance the lens was focused at.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2010, 03:38 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga, ON Canada
Posts: 9
I Was affraid of that. Are there lenses you can buy that Auto Focus, or is this a limitation of the camera itself
Robert Perry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2010, 04:33 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
Any camera that uses a professional type lens such as the 300 which I used and loved for a long time doesn't really have or use an auto focus feature. I state it this way becaue I did have a JVC5000U that had an auto focus which BTW is a feature of the camera, and frankly, it was as useless as a dog at a cat show.
__________________
What do I know? I'm just a video-O-grafer.
Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2010, 05:30 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga, ON Canada
Posts: 9
I can see that, anobject that is far enough away (Such as when I shoot outside) require no focus, even at full zoom. It would be a nice feature to still have for the just in case scenarios
Robert Perry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2010, 07:23 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Perry View Post
I can see that, anobject that is far enough away (Such as when I shoot outside) require no focus, even at full zoom.
Chances are that the lens is "stopped down" so far (f16 or f22) when you are outside due to that big burning ball of gas in the sky that the depth of field is so large as to show most things in focus. With a wide open aperture on a 1/2" camera like the 300A, it is possible to get a REASONABLY shallow depth of field that would still require focusing.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2010, 11:33 AM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga, ON Canada
Posts: 9
The good news is I realized I had my focus wide open, where as if I go to 30/10 or a little lower, wide angle is still focused as well as it remains focused half way zoomed (had to play around a bit)

On another note, bit of a stupid question. Right now the camera is shooting in 4:3. How do I change it to film in 16:9. Tried searching the manual and the internet only to be told the camera can do that, but not how to switch to it. IN SHORT..... When I pull video off the camera onto the computer, it is always in 720x480 resolution (too low IMO) and I want to increase the resolution as high as I can to reduce the chances of pixilation showing on a TV when the film is burned to DVD

thanks for all the help

Last edited by Robert Perry; July 14th, 2010 at 11:44 AM. Reason: Added Information
Robert Perry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2010, 11:48 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Hilversum, The Netherlands
Posts: 184
It can't shoot 16:9.
It's a 4:3 only camera, so SD is the best you can get out of it. The good thing is that the quality of DVD is SD as well so if it goes to DVD it should be fine. You could always pillarbox it.
Sander Vreuls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2010, 12:08 PM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga, ON Canada
Posts: 9
What about Blu Ray, I have a customer interested in what I filmed for him being burned to Blu Ray.

Why does the information manuals state that the 300A can film in 16:9?
Robert Perry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2010, 12:41 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Hilversum, The Netherlands
Posts: 184
DSR-500 can, DSR-300 can't. They're both in the same brochure and share the manual.

DSR-300 series is all 1/2 inch 4:3, so DSR-300, DSR-300A, DSR-370, DSR-390 are 4:3 while DSR-500, DSR-570 are 2/3 inch 16:9/4:3
Sander Vreuls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2010, 12:49 PM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Perry View Post
What about Blu Ray, I have a customer interested in what I filmed for him being burned to Blu Ray.
If you're trying to go to BluRay (a High Def delivery format), you bought the wrong camera. The DSR300A is a great midlevel SD camera that I'm sure you got for a song, but it's not HD and never will be. I know a number of people that have done satisfactory upconverts to HD and/or film prints from 2/3" DigiBetacam but that is/was another league of SD production all together.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2010, 03:35 PM   #12
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga, ON Canada
Posts: 9
So in essence, (btw, you bet I got it for a song... about 150.00 CDN along with a DSR-70 Deck for 100)

I am interested in doing weddings, so for customers that insist on Blu Ray format, I'll just have to inform them that it will still be DVD quality (SD)

BTW, Using a Canon Rebel XT DSLR with a wide angle, and zoom lens, and this Video Camera, what would a lot of you suggest be a good price to charge for doing weddings. Right now I am building up a portfolio and have a very steady hand with both pieces of equipment. I only ask this question as a general reference to go on. I would be performing both video, and photo
Robert Perry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2010, 06:52 AM   #13
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga, ON Canada
Posts: 9
Any opinions to my above immediate post
Robert Perry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2010, 10:26 AM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 747
From all of the questions that you asked, don't be offended but I don't think you know enough to charge, so you better do a few for free first before thinking about charging, this way you will learn so much and they won't get mad at you if you screw up because it was free.
__________________
Khoi Pham
www.proeditproductions.com
Khoi Pham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2010, 08:26 PM   #15
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga, ON Canada
Posts: 9
I've learned never to get offended, only take constructive criticism. I have a wedding set for October for a Co-Worker, I will be employing a variety of knowledge on that day including my other video camera (small Canon) and my DSLR both which I am VERY well knowledged in using.

I have been told that I am a very technological person, so I have till then to learn a lot of the features of the DSR-300. This past weekend, I went shooting at the airport (Aviation Enthusiast) and got myself very comfortable with shooting in advanced mode. Learned to white/black balance before shooting, and relocating. Had the correct filter in place, etc. Once home, I spent about 2 1/2 hours in post using MAGIX Movie Edit Pro, adjusted a few colors, corrected some sound, and was very satisfied. I have also been making myself familiar with the wedding tips post on this forum. Very informative I might add.

I would more like to know for the immediate future, what one would charge as an amateur looking to build his portfolio.

BTW, Search "Nascar_Perry" for a video I did with the DSR-300 before the weekend I described above. It should be titled Departures and Arrivals.......
Robert Perry is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony VX2100 / PD170 / PDX10 Companion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:36 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network