Line at the top of the frame at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony VX2100 / PD170 / PDX10 Companion

Sony VX2100 / PD170 / PDX10 Companion
Topics also include Sony's TRV950, VX2000, PD150 & DSR250 family.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 10th, 2007, 07:18 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 204
Line at the top of the frame

I've noticed recently - don't know how I didn't spot it sooner - that there's a weird line on top of the frame. It seems to be the top line of pixels... It doesn't show up on a regular TV. It is viewable in the editing software. What's up with this? Glitch? Should I call the service guys?

Thanks.

~~Dave
Dave Dodds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2007, 07:23 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
You don't mention what kind of camera you have (this forum covers the whole PD and VX series).

I would want to confirm that the line actually exists and isn't some artifact of your software/computer/monitor setup. Look at some footage on another computer or with a professional monitor that shows the entire frame (underscan) if possible.

But beyond that, I wouldn't worry a whole lot about it, since regular TV's won't show anywhere near the first scan line. If you're editing the footage to be viewed on a computer (web, etc) it might be more of an issue, but it could be easily compensated by cropping the first line or two out of the image.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2007, 07:25 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 204
clarification

It's a PD-170.

I don't think it's the computer. I looked at footage shot on a different camera but input with the PD-170 and it's totally fine. Is this a common thing?
Dave Dodds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2007, 07:35 PM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
It is normal. That is why you need to mask video that will be shown on devices that display the full image, such as LCD projectors. You would never see it on a CRT display but you will on a LCD display.

I always put a 5-10 pixel mask over images for just this reason.
__________________
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2007, 07:31 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 204
how do you do that? i'm cutting on the latest version of Premiere Pro. How can I mask the footage off?
Dave Dodds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2007, 10:22 PM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
I'm a Canopus user so I cannot answer the question. I can mask in Edius or in After Effects. Probably a good question for the editing forum.
__________________
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony VX2100 / PD170 / PDX10 Companion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:54 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network