remote cable for F55 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony Digital Cinema Camera Systems > Sony XAVC PMW-F5 / F55 CineAlta

Sony XAVC PMW-F5 / F55 CineAlta
35mm CMOS Sensor / 4K Ultra-HD Camcorders


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 18th, 2013, 03:34 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Nieuw-Vossemeer, The Netherlands
Posts: 451
remote cable for F55

I am looking for a remote cable to start/stop a F55. The only thing I find is a Vocas cable, but you need to use it in combination with a handgrip. The cable itself doesn't have a button. Purpose is to start/stop the camera without touching the camera or tripod handle when using extreme telelenses.

Any suggestions?
__________________
Cees van Kempen
www.iwp-wildlife.com
Cees van Kempen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2013, 04:29 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 491
Re: remote cable for F55

Cees
- I guess the RMB-170 remote can do the job - but better check with SONY.
http://www.pro.sony.eu/pro/lang/en/e...-b170/overview
Bo Skelmose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2013, 04:42 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Nieuw-Vossemeer, The Netherlands
Posts: 451
Re: remote cable for F55

Thanks for your input again Bo. The RMB is however overkill for me. Certainly the price of it. I just need a simple cable with start/stop button, one or two ft. long, hanging down my camera. Like you have this simple lanc start/stop cables for lower end cameras.
__________________
Cees van Kempen
www.iwp-wildlife.com
Cees van Kempen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2013, 04:52 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 491
Re: remote cable for F55

Hi
We use the RM-B170 as CCU on our OB wagon and the signal to start, stop, replay and all ccu operations is a data signal in the cable to the camera. It has to be more than a switch. When the camera will work with B4 lenses it will act on the start/stop switch on the lens and on the connected zoom - so the function must be on the lens pin too.
Bo Skelmose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2013, 02:15 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Tinton Falls, NJ
Posts: 749
Re: remote cable for F55

Do you have it set up to control iris as well for any of your lenses?
Dave Sperling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2013, 02:21 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,865
Re: remote cable for F55

Cees I have purchased the Arri start/stop handle with cable. It has a rosette to go on my Shape 700 shoulder brace. It is suppose to arrive this week. When searching it was the best price and as with most Arri products I expect it to be well made.

Arri part number K2.66278.0

Purchased it from Abel in NYC

Here is a link just scroll down the page to find it in the options.
ARRI Group: Ready-to-shoot Kits
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2013, 04:02 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Nieuw-Vossemeer, The Netherlands
Posts: 451
Re: remote cable for F55

That's more or less what I mean, but then without the handle. Guess there must be something somewhere. Also consider to take a remote trigger cable of my nanoflash and replace the connector by a hirose 4-pin connector.

nanoFlash.net - Remote Control & Time CodeCustom lengths in 24 hours. E-mail or call us.

Don't know if that works or if it could harm the camera one way or another. Electronics really isn't my thing.
__________________
Cees van Kempen
www.iwp-wildlife.com
Cees van Kempen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 20th, 2013, 11:19 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,865
Re: remote cable for F55

I am sure if you ask at CD they will let you know if the cable will work. Same here I am not about to build a cable for my F55 and have any chance of causing damage. But I am sure there are a lot of people on this and other forums who are capable of building a start/stop cable with button.
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2013, 03:30 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 91
Re: remote cable for F55

Hi Cees,

This is relatively easy to make yourself, you use the 4-pin Hirose connector on the camera as trigger input.

There are 4 connections on the Hirose socket on the camera. You would solder up the following.

1 Ground
2 Rec tally
3 Rec trigger- grounding this briefly will roll the camera, grounding it again will stop the camera.
4.+12 v

You can use a simple start/stop button bought from an electronic components shop, you will need to get the Hirose 4-pin from a specialist (online), same for cable.

If this is unclear then there is a whole thread over at the Sony community.

Warm regards,

James
__________________
Natural History Cameraman
Earthmedia Film, Oslo, Norway
James Ewen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2013, 03:52 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Nieuw-Vossemeer, The Netherlands
Posts: 451
Re: remote cable for F55

Thanks James. This is exactly what I wanted to know.
__________________
Cees van Kempen
www.iwp-wildlife.com
Cees van Kempen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2013, 05:03 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 91
Re: remote cable for F55

Cees,

Just so its clear, its the switch connection between pins 1 and 3 that triggers record, I recommend that you read the whole thread on the aforementioned forum as there are many good suggestions there.

James
__________________
Natural History Cameraman
Earthmedia Film, Oslo, Norway
James Ewen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2013, 11:23 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Victoria Australia
Posts: 246
Re: remote cable for F55

Is there a way to connect to the 8-pin remote on the camera besides the un-ergonomic Sony controller? I'd like to keep the single 4-pin (on the R5) for powering a wireless mic or mini-LCD.
__________________
Peter Corbett
Powerhouse Productions www.php.com.au

Last edited by Peter Corbett; October 25th, 2013 at 12:55 AM.
Peter Corbett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2013, 02:39 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Nieuw-Vossemeer, The Netherlands
Posts: 451
Re: remote cable for F55

Peter, Looking at the manual for the F5/F55 I see two 4-pin power out connectors on the battery plate.
__________________
Cees van Kempen
www.iwp-wildlife.com
Cees van Kempen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2013, 08:35 AM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Victoria Australia
Posts: 246
Re: remote cable for F55

When you use the R5 raw recorder, the battery plate is removed and you just have one 4-pin power port.
__________________
Peter Corbett
Powerhouse Productions www.php.com.au
Peter Corbett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2013, 08:25 AM   #15
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,055
Re: remote cable for F55

Cees, any reason no interest to use the remote via wi-fi and control with mobile device, tablet, etc.. ?
Dennis Hingsberg is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony Digital Cinema Camera Systems > Sony XAVC PMW-F5 / F55 CineAlta

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:40 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network