Support in NLE's? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 3rd, 2007, 04:39 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,195
Support in NLE's?

With the coming of a real affordable XDCamera (The EX, well, affordable for a big chunk of DVinfo anyhow), will there (have to) come support from programs like Adobe Premiere?
Just wondering.

Thanks,
Mathieu Ghekiere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2007, 09:06 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
no idea, but vegas already supports XDCamHD mxf format, as does AXIO (premiere)
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2007, 03:52 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
As the EX will probably use the same MPEG MXF's as the bigger XDCAM's any NLE that currently supports XDCAM HD should also work with the EX. So for at the moment for Premiere you will need something like the one of the Cineform plugins or Matrox hardware. Avid, FCP, Vegas and many others already support XDCAM HD natively.

I think in the last year or so Premiere has really started to slip behind most of the other NLE's. I used to love Premiere, but it seems to be stagnating at the moment.
__________________
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2007, 04:51 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: cham, switzerland
Posts: 36
I edit XDCAM HD mxf files on Avid Liquid ever since the XDCAM HD format came out without any problems so far.

Peter
Peter Arnold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2007, 04:50 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: North Hollywood, Atlanta
Posts: 437
Its my understanding...
That if your doing any serious software based editing with Premiere pro in HD, then you really have to have Aspect HD installed. All the adobe people at the conference really push Aspect HD as if its there own product.

The only downside might be having to spend time to convert the files to the cineform codec as opposed to editing the XDCAM files nativly. But cineform codec is a good one.

Some how Vegas was able to have the aspect HD codec software engine - whatever - become a part of Vegas natively... is that right? Im not sure why Adobe cant do this, but perhaps there are licensing fees they don't want to pay -and it would make premiere more expensive... when anyone that needs it can just go buy it from Cine form as a plug in.
__________________
Tyson X
Tyson Persall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2007, 05:18 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 2,488
Edius "Broadcast" version should work.
Kevin Shaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2007, 06:35 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,414
With Cineform now supporting XDCAM with the Cineform intermediate " AVI "

All editors will support the XDCAM and the EX to come later this year....

Premier Pro is included....
Ray Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2007, 12:50 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 735
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray Bell View Post
With Cineform now supporting XDCAM with the Cineform intermediate " AVI "

All editors will support the XDCAM and the EX to come later this year....

Premier Pro is included....
So you're all saying that Premiere Pro supports it provided we have Aspect HD, right?
__________________
John Hewat
Mammoth Media Productions
John Hewat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2007, 06:31 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,414
Well, depends.... Cineform products come in different flavors.... one set of options support MAC and another support for PC... within those you get to choose products for Adobe and Vegas (other NLE's ?) and in each of those
choices you get to choose different levels of quality/features....


Personally I would not choose Aspect for the EX cam... for PC work I'd choose Prospect as a minimum...

Go to the Cineform web site to explore the different options...

Its really down to color depth and the size of the frames that push you in the right direction.........
Ray Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2007, 09:28 AM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 2,488
Pre-release info for Sony Vegas 8 indicates that it will have support for the XDCAM format, so if that includes the EX it could be worth a look for use with that camera. For more info see this link: http://www.videoguys.com/vegaspro8.html
Kevin Shaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2007, 02:23 PM   #11
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Shaw View Post
Pre-release info for Sony Vegas 8 indicates that it will have support for the XDCAM format, so if that includes the EX it could be worth a look for use with that camera. For more info see this link: http://www.videoguys.com/vegaspro8.html
Of course it supports XDCAM format, that's already in Vegas 7. Can't see why it would get removed in Version 8. Vegas 7 is one of the few that supports editing the proxy files then conforming to the full resolution material at the end.

Keep in mind that XDCAM EX will be compatible with its larger siblings, and may add to it. But it won't be a totally new codec scheme.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2007, 09:52 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USVI
Posts: 232
Fcp

I see all kinds of XD cam options in FCP2 and I would imagine pro res can do it. I still have my "old" G5s and from what I have spent time reading I need a capture card to use it and they are too slow anyway.
Mike Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2007, 10:09 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 735
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray Bell View Post
Personally I would not choose Aspect for the EX cam... for PC work I'd choose Prospect as a minimum...
I understand that - what I'm asking is whether PPro will work on its own, without having to pay for one of those Cineform downloads?
__________________
John Hewat
Mammoth Media Productions
John Hewat is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:46 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network