Remote Lens Control on the PDW-EX1 - Page 12 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 19th, 2008, 07:37 AM   #166
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
No it doesn't.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2008, 12:28 PM   #167
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 975
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vincent Oliver View Post
Doe the EX3 have a Lanc input port? I can't find this in the specs. or the PDF manual.
No the interface protocol is very different. If it was LANC we would most likely be using the Manfrotto 523PRO control arm which is way nicer than the slimmed down 521EX. Hopefully Manfrotto is working on an equivalent to the 523PRO for the EX series.

EDIT:

The 521EX does relatively controlled zooming. There is a little thumbwheel that allows you to dial up the zoom speed which is in some ways nicer than the 523PRO but it lacks the all important quick "auto focus" button.
Andrew Stone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2008, 12:36 PM   #168
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Afaik, it's quite possible that Manfrotto "handle" version will be available for the EX cameras some day, but the Push Auto Focus will definitely not - as the EX zoom remote controller protocol doesn't provide this functionality.
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2008, 12:59 PM   #169
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Poole Dorset England
Posts: 22
libec told me today that the cable extension will be on sell within 2 weeks for 56.00
plus tax

regards Brian
Brian Rigler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2008, 01:56 PM   #170
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 107
Is it possible to control focus with remote?
Tuomas Sebastien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2008, 10:17 PM   #171
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 418
Well after reading this whole thread im still not sure which remote i want.

Its a toss up between the Bebob Zoe Ex and the VariZoom VZ Rock EX.

Now i currently have a Varizoom Rock for my HVX and love it.

Im currently learning more towards the Varizoom as im use to the pressure sensitive rocker and its also cheaper (exchange rate is currently awful)

Am i making a big mistake going with the Varizoom? is the speed control dial on the Bebob worth the extra money?

It sounded like the original Varizooms on the market had some issues but then were later fixed..
Joe Lawry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2008, 03:16 PM   #172
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 107
Anyone knows if it is possible, even theorically, to control focus like controlling the zoom with remote lens control?
Tuomas Sebastien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2008, 08:53 AM   #173
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,414
not for EX1, EX3 only
Buba Kastorski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2008, 09:14 AM   #174
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,867
Tuomas I have been researching this since I need this options to go from EX1 to EX3. And yes you can control focus with optional Fujinon and Canon lens but you have to buy their controllers that attach to their lens. You cannot remotely control focus with the stock EX3 lens. But then again why not buy the EX1 if you are not going to use better glass on the EX3?
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2008, 02:19 PM   #175
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,867
Tuomas I found this for the stock lens to control focus by remote.
VariZoom Lens Controls - Zoom &amp Focus Controls, Camera Stabilizers & Supports, Batteries, Monitor Kits
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2008, 02:31 PM   #176
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,435
I don't quite understand this.

EX1 does electronically control focus in auto-focus mode.

So what could possibly prevent from doing so remotely as well?
Alex Raskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2008, 02:37 PM   #177
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,867
Just the fact that no one has built the control for the EX1. Sony must have their reasons.
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2009, 02:36 PM   #178
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 61
Remote focus and zoom

Anybody know if these focus controllers would be a good solution to using the EX 1 on a jib?

I think the zoom control would work but not sure about the cable version.

VariZoom Lens Controls - Zoom &amp Focus Controls, Camera Stabilizers & Supports, Batteries, Monitor Kits

The Zoe zoom control would work provided I can get a long enough cable to the camera.

16x9 | Distributor of Film & Digital Products

Also this wireless solution from varizoom....does this even work on the EX1?

VariZoom Lens Controls, monitors, Camera Stabilizers & Supports, Batteries, Monitor Kits Phone: 512-219-7722

thanks for the feedback in advance

Steve
Steve Minnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2009, 08:21 AM   #179
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: All over, USA
Posts: 512
Variable speed control

I've read several comments about some of the remote zoom controllers having a variable speed control.

Is this redundant to the varible speed control on the camera? do you get anything extra out of the speed control on the external zoom controller?

Thanks
Ed Kukla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2009, 09:33 AM   #180
Sponsor: VariZoom
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 58
EX Zoom

Yes it is redundant. The extra is just the benefits of remote control and maybe a little better control over speed because of ergonomics. The slowest speed will still be the same and the fastest speeds will vary little if at all.
Thomas McKay is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:58 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network