Do EX1 Systems Play Together? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 22nd, 2007, 11:21 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Greeley, CO
Posts: 63
Do EX1 Systems Play Together?

Hello,

I can't seem to find any definitive information on how to achieve frame accurate time code sync between multiple EX1 units. I know that the EX1 doesn't have a time code BNC input, but does it offer a TC Link or something similar to the V1U time code function?

Thank you,
__________________
Cale (CJ) Rogers
http://homepage.mac.com/vlcjrogers
Cale Rogers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2007, 03:20 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 116
I haven't read anything about a TC sync, but you could probably do the same thing that you can with the Z1. If you have the TC set to free run, you can then take the remote commander and zero the counter (pointing the remote at both units) and they will both go to 00:00:00:00, and stay in-sync after that.
__________________
Scott A. Vystrcil
Equipment - Sony HVR-Z1U--Firestore FS-4 Pro HD (40GB)--Cartoni Focus F101
Editing - Canopus Edius Pro 4, Intel Pentium D 940 (3.2 GHz), 2GB, 74GB SATA 10K, 160GB SATAII, 300GB SATA, nVidia GeForce 6800 (256MB), Dell 20 in widescreen flat panel (2007WFP)
http://watersedgefrisco.com
http://vystrcil.com
Scott Vystrcil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2007, 04:02 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Posts: 3,777
When I spoke to Sony rep at HD World Expo he said there's no direct way to sync time code between multiple EX1s. The method Scott mentions would work.

I'm surprised it doesn't work the way it would in the V1 but the Sony rep at the show was wrong about other things.
Craig Seeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2007, 04:34 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Greeley, CO
Posts: 63
Thanks for the replies and all of the input. I think the idea of using the remote commander to zero out the counter will work just as well as anything else.

Thanks,
__________________
Cale (CJ) Rogers
http://homepage.mac.com/vlcjrogers
Cale Rogers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2007, 05:49 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Studio Alnitak, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 640
Images: 3
The camera records metadata for markers, which allow entering shot data (including the equivalent of "print!") and what were called "essence markers". So cameras can be synced using essence markers (using the remote). My notes were very rough and the bullet points now less interpretable, but I wrote:
"metadata for markers - data - shot mark - essence sync for 2 cameras"
Serena Steuart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2007, 03:47 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
Yes it's possible... through SDI.
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:21 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network