How's the Audio? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 1st, 2007, 02:23 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 234
How's the Audio?

Did Sony do this camera justice by putting in some nice audio circuitry? If you also own an HVX200 does it compare well?

Sample audio clips would be great.
Adam Reuter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2007, 04:11 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kelkheim, Germany
Posts: 375
Did Sony add a limiter?
__________________
Michael
Michael Mann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2007, 05:56 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Spain, Barcelona
Posts: 27
I guess unfortunately not. So you have to level with lots of headroom, which partially negates the advantage of 16 bit uncompressed audio.
Carlos Moreira is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2007, 04:16 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kelkheim, Germany
Posts: 375
No limiter for a pro-cam like the EX1? That would not make no sense at all. Let's hope it's just hided somewhere in the menues.
__________________
Michael
Michael Mann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2007, 05:22 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Basingstoke
Posts: 83
Audio from EX1

Does anybody now how how the auto level control compares with Sony's DSR300 which I use?

Have always found that the DSR300 gives a good level without distortion for discos and church organ. I believe this camera has a good limiter.
It has been mentioned that the EX1 does not have a limiter. Is this really true?
Greg Hawkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2007, 05:33 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,684
Just looked the menus - no limiter.
Leonard Levy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2007, 03:02 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kelkheim, Germany
Posts: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leonard Levy View Post
Just looked the menus - no limiter.
Very annoying - even the consumer FX1 has a limiter!
Thanks Leonard for verifying this.
__________________
Michael
Michael Mann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2007, 03:22 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
OK, so it's not in the menu - perhaps it's not switchable, but still there? I'll start considering it a problem once I get badly distorted audio.
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2007, 03:28 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kelkheim, Germany
Posts: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by Piotr Wozniacki View Post
OK, so it's not in the menu - perhaps it's not switchable, but still there?
I really hope so, since I experienced heavy clippings with my Canon A1 that hasn't a limiter (neither switchable nor by default). Does the EX1-manual say anything about a soft clipping feature?
__________________
Michael
Michael Mann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2007, 05:58 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 174
Thats a bummer if its true - so what are the options in this intance if you need a limiter? Find a small form field mixer that has one and patch from mic to mixer to camera?

Im sure Ive seen one small enough to mount on a cam, 4-5 inches or so.
Paul Cook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2007, 06:37 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,414
Might as well start working on this now.... if you want good audio it seems
that a good mike or set of mikes is going to be required and a mixer with
limiters and such.....

Here's two I'm looking at:

Sound Devices 302
and
Sound Devices Mixpre
Attached Images
  
Ray Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2007, 07:23 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kelkheim, Germany
Posts: 375
Ray, theses are fine pieces, I own a 702 myself. But - beeing a one man team - I really don't like the idea of carrying a seperate mixer/recorder "only" to use its limiter.
Dear Sony designers: Was it intention - if so, I'd really like to learn why! - or did you simply forget to add a limiter?
__________________
Michael
Michael Mann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2007, 07:49 AM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 1,570
Are you asking for a limiter or AGC, they're quite different beasts and I don't recall a limiter on any Sony camera.
Bob Grant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2007, 08:01 AM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kelkheim, Germany
Posts: 375
Bob, I am asking for a limiter. I was told even the FX1 has a limiter but I am not sure.
__________________
Michael
Michael Mann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2007, 08:41 AM   #15
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Yes, I've just checked and both the Z1 and FX1 have limiter switchable in the audio menu. The V1 doesn't have one, however - and now it's been dropped with the EX1.
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:22 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network