EX1 HDSDI to Laptop at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 11th, 2007, 04:17 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Heeney colorado
Posts: 103
EX1 HDSDI to Laptop

I am thinking of buying a EX1 and matching it with this laptop for HDSDI capture:

http://eurocom.com/products/showroom...m?model_id=188

I have not been able to find an Express Card HDSDI capture card.

I think it could be a desktop replacement for on site capture, editing and DVD burning.

Just wanted to see what the crew here thought...?
Charles Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2007, 04:52 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Seattle WA
Posts: 376
Plan on keeping it plugged in....The Battery life will be horrible! They say 1.5 hrs but that probably will never happen under the conditions you would be running especially with those specs. Great Specs though and over all sounds like a killer laptop...I too have never seen an HDSDI express car for capture...But you could just use a Decklink.
Jason Bodnar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2007, 05:47 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 101
I dont think an express card could handle uncompressed HDSDI, I've certainly never seen/heard of one - and I probably would of. Your best bet for a laptop solution is the MOTU V3, Adobe On Location and an eSata raid but then you're still only capping uncompressed DVCPRO HD....surely the huge advantage of this camera is the workflow this method makes it a whole lot more expensive...
Jamie Allan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2007, 06:17 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 498
There was a company that had an HDSDI Express 34 on their website as a "coming soon.." product. It was there for awhile and I used to check back on its status, but it never materialized. Now all references to it have disappeared. It must have been difficult or impossible to engineer, or not worth it given the potential market.
Eric Pascarelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2007, 06:17 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 2,488
Not bad, but if you're going to spend that kind of money why not wait for the Convergent Designs CF-based recorder or the proposed Cineform equivalent? Those offer a more manageable bit rate and are probably more portable, plus should be less likely to get stolen than a souped-up laptop.
Kevin Shaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2007, 06:39 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 240
Charles,
You might want to look at the AJA Hi5 HD-SDI/SDI to HDMI Video and Audio Converter. I think you could use it to connect an HD-SDI camera to an HDMI input card like the Black Magic Intensity.

www.aja.com/html/products_converters_HI5.html

($489.95 at B&H)

Ken Hull
Ken Hull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2007, 12:54 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Heeney colorado
Posts: 103
From what I understand HDSDI is 1.4Mb/sec. The Hard drives will do 3.0Mb'sec and in RAID 0 that should be X3 about 9Mb/sec. The drives should be able to handle it but...

Acquiring the video needs to be HDSDI in or use a converter to get HDMI.

The MOTU V3 is a 1394B device. 1394B is 800Mb/sec...? How does that work?


chuck
Charles Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2007, 10:34 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 2,488
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles Young View Post
From what I understand HDSDI is 1.4Mb/sec. The Hard drives will do 3.0Mb'sec and in RAID 0 that should be X3 about 9Mb/sec. The drives should be able to handle it but...
Your numbers are off: standard uncompressed HD is ~1.5 gigabits/second which equals 187.5 MB/sec, while a good single hard drive can sustain speeds of roughly 30-50 MB/sec reliably. That means you need at least a 4-drive RAID to capture and play uncompressed HD, which is why most of us use some form of compression for most purposes.

And I don't know how one could get 1.5 Gb/sec through an 800 Mbps firewire bus, so something doesn't add up there.
Kevin Shaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2007, 10:54 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Wyomissing, PA
Posts: 1,141
Images: 57
Prospect 2k is a decent alternative to uncompressed HD-SDI. Easier on the array and you can edit the material on non-HD-SDI machine. However, capture, export, and monitoring via HD-SDI will require an AJA card or similiar. At the present, a compromise would be a shoebox or shuttle based PC with a carrying handle that will accomodate a full sized card.

Still, how are you going to carry/acomodate an external array? Kinda makes the laptop not as portable a solution. (A shuttle could also accomodate a two disk array... have to test that one first).

An HD-SDI express card would be a huge benefit,and couple that with an array made from solid state drives at 1/4 the power, size, and weight (when available), I could easily replace my quad workstation with a loaded Dell laptop.

Patience, technology/availability is almost there... one more cycle...
__________________
Pete Ferling http://ferling.net It's never a mistake if you learn something new from it.
-------------------------------------------
Peter Ferling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2007, 11:50 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New York City
Posts: 613
I think that fitting the 10bit 422 HD signal over an expresscard 1x pci-e bus might be a bit tough. granted the intensity does it (although im not sure it supports more than 8bit), but most HD-SDI cards like decklink or kona are pci-e 4x. my understanding is that a single pci-e lane is 250MBps, so its not totally impossible, but ~190MBps HDSDI (not sure about that number) is awfully close considering there is no doubt other communication going over than pci-e lane as well.
Noah Yuan-Vogel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2007, 07:57 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 898
tekkeon might help ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Bodnar View Post
Plan on keeping it plugged in....The Battery life will be horrible! They say 1.5 hrs but that probably will never happen under the conditions you would be running especially with those specs. Great Specs though and over all sounds like a killer laptop...I too have never seen an HDSDI express car for capture...But you could just use a Decklink.
this little battery might help the battery drain.
http://www.tekkeon.com/site/products-mypowerall.php
Dean Harrington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2007, 03:48 PM   #12
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Posts: 12
The MOTU V3 is DVCPro HD, not uncompressed, which is how they can send the signal over firewire. (I believe it can work over regular firewire too).
Tom Frisch is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:08 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network