EX1 clips to FCP via XDCAM Transfer? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 8th, 2008, 05:52 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 107
EX1 clips to FCP via XDCAM Transfer?

I downloaded Final Cut Pro/XDCAM Transfer v2.1 Update from http://www.sony.co.uk/biz/view/ShowC...=1193315656825

When I connect my camera it recognizes it, and imports clips to the program. However, every clip is pitch black. I can play them and the clip's length shows right but no image is shown. Import button to FCP is greyed out probably because the videos are pitch black. Clip browser shows them all ok. What to do?
Tuomas Sebastien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2008, 07:28 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Posts: 3,782
Make sure you have FCP 6.0.2 otherwise you may not have the EX1 codec.
Craig Seeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2008, 05:58 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 17
I had the same problem. I had a freshly installed Final Cut Studio 2.0.1, and the FCP version was 6.0.1. I downloaded from the Apple website the following files:

ProAppsUpdate2007-01
ProAppsUpdate2007-02
FinalCutProUpdate6.0.2

After running these updates, the clips import properly.
Henry Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2008, 07:47 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Posts: 3,782
Yes you MUST have 6.0.2. 6 or 6.0.1 does NOT have the EX1 codec.
Craig Seeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2008, 08:33 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 107
ok, thanks guys
Tuomas Sebastien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2008, 11:48 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 107
It works now when camera is connected and i import directly from it. but how do i import clips that have been already copied to my hard disk. selecting directory with clips.. or it's root directory with multiple clip directories finds no clips?
Tuomas Sebastien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2008, 01:07 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuomas Sebastien View Post
It works now when camera is connected and i import directly from it. but how do i import clips that have been already copied to my hard disk. selecting directory with clips.. or it's root directory with multiple clip directories finds no clips?
You need to keep the file and folder structure as it where on the cards. There is a BAPV folder and you copy it INTO a folder named something clever like Card1 and make sure all files whitin BPAV is copied to. Then use add source in the file meny to add the folder Card1 as a source for clips.
Andreas Johansson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:12 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network