Output problems at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 23rd, 2008, 03:16 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Jonkoping, SWEDEN
Posts: 9
Output problems

Hi!

I was hoping to use my EX1 with the Steadicam Pilot for live OB-events but there is a problem.
I need to use the SDI output for a SD/HD signal, no problem.
But i need to feed the monitor on the Pilot with a videosignal to.
Since itīs not possible to use both the SDI and the video output at the same time on the EX1 i have big problems.
Donīt know if this is a firmware or hardware issue...

Any ideas?

Regards Hakan
Hakan Haraldsson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2008, 07:44 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 188
An AJA downconverter box. It's small enough to be velcroed to the camera, and gives you composite, component and an HD-SDI DA. The only issue is powering it...
Sean Donnelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2008, 08:04 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 498
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Donnelly View Post
An AJA downconverter box. It's small enough to be velcroed to the camera, and gives you composite, component and an HD-SDI DA. The only issue is powering it...
Have you found a good spot to velcro anything to the camera?
Eric Pascarelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2008, 12:21 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: providence, RI
Posts: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hakan Haraldsson View Post
Hi!

I was hoping to use my EX1 with the Steadicam Pilot for live OB-events but there is a problem.
I need to use the SDI output for a SD/HD signal, no problem.
But i need to feed the monitor on the Pilot with a videosignal to.
Since itīs not possible to use both the SDI and the video output at the same time on the EX1 i have big problems.
Donīt know if this is a firmware or hardware issue...

Any ideas?

Regards Hakan
Does it not work because you are trying to tap video out in SD for the Steadicam Pilot monitor?
I know you can use both SDI out and component out in HD mode at the same time on the EX1. Maybe you could swap out the LCD with a small HD LCD with HD component in. < from marshall or another vendor >
Brian Jansen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2008, 01:50 PM   #5
Tourist
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vermont, USA
Posts: 123
The SDI and video outs both output a signal. You need to disable i.LINK and set your component YPb/Pr/SDI out to SD.

check page 118 of the manual.

The outputs that are mutually exclusive are the AV out and the Component Out and the SDI does nothing if your i.LINK is enabled.
Andrew Wilson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:04 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network