Field Power from any 12v Battery is OK - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 16th, 2008, 01:48 PM   #16
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Central Florida
Posts: 762
Also, does anybody know this answer: If you are running off of an external battery source and it drops below the Sony's minimum requirement, will the camera switch over to the internal battery without a problem?
Dave Morrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2008, 10:11 AM   #17
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Orem, UT United States
Posts: 2
EXDC1 Power Cable Works!

We Found that there is already a cable made that will allow you to use a external power supply.
http://www.vortexmedia.com/EXDC1/EXD...ble/EXDC1.html

We have used this cable with Antonbauer batteries and a 4pin professional pwoer supply.

Works great! Check it out.
Steven Hill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2008, 03:21 PM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 321
Or a trip to Radio Shack and the Blog article @
http://web.mac.com/stevecahill/Steve...1_Autopsy.html


Vortex is a good solution.
__________________
Regards
Steve
Steve Cahill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2008, 03:55 PM   #19
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 32
Confirmed

Would just like to report that my studio configuration has been powering 3 EX1's for two months now with no issues. I ended up using laptop power supplies, reasoning that if it's good enough for a computer, it should be graceful enough for the EX1. At $75 (vs. $25 for a regular modern power supply) I figured it was worth the peace of mind.

I chopped the power terminals, soldered XLR4's, and that goes into a junction box, and about 150 ft. inside the wall and out to the cameras, over a custom-terminated snake that carries HD-SDI, intercom, tally and power; originally an A/V snake, I used a pair of balanced audio cables (a total of 6 conductors) to carry the power, which satisfied TIA requirements for load vs. gauge handling. In the end, the cameras are getting about 14V and are happy.

The power connector is called EIAJ class IV, or EIAJ-04. Philmore makes them, P/N 255 and 2559.

I'd like to thank Sebastien Thomas and Michael Stevens for being the first on the line with their EX1's, to discover this handy and scarcely documented feature of the cameras.
Drew Lahat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2008, 05:58 AM   #20
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Monroe, NY
Posts: 686
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Lahat View Post
Would just like to report that my studio configuration has been powering 3 EX1's for two months now with no issues. I ended up using laptop power supplies, reasoning that if it's good enough for a computer, it should be graceful enough for the EX1. At $75 (vs. $25 for a regular modern power supply) I figured it was worth the peace of mind.

I chopped the power terminals, soldered XLR4's, and that goes into a junction box, and about 150 ft. inside the wall and out to the cameras, over a custom-terminated snake that carries HD-SDI, intercom, tally and power; originally an A/V snake, I used a pair of balanced audio cables (a total of 6 conductors) to carry the power, which satisfied TIA requirements for load vs. gauge handling. In the end, the cameras are getting about 14V and are happy.

The power connector is called EIAJ class IV, or EIAJ-04. Philmore makes them, P/N 255 and 2559.

I'd like to thank Sebastien Thomas and Michael Stevens for being the first on the line with their EX1's, to discover this handy and scarcely documented feature of the cameras.
Drew,

Which laptop power supplies?

How long do they operate before they need a recharge?

How are you recharging them?

John
John Peterson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2008, 06:33 AM   #21
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
A very elegant solution to power either the cam, or some accessories (like a field monitor, light, or the NanoFlash for that matter), is this:

http://www.tekkeon.com/downloads/dtasht_MP3450.pdf

However, with the above battery or with my PAG 100Wh brick, I'm equally at lost:

How to fix them to the tripod?


With all those smaller cams, an underneath cage systems (for batteries, HDD's, and what-not) are available. However, with the EX1? Or the EX1 on a rail system, holding Letus and/or some matte box? A small cage is out of question!

How would you attach a battery like the Tekkeon, or an adapter like PAGlock, to your tripod so that it's elegant, safe, and you're not literally attached yourself by wearing it at your belt?

Any suggestions welcome!
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2008, 06:59 AM   #22
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 1,570
We use the Zacuto rail system which has a AB or V-Lock battery option. This is an expensive option though.
I have a reel of industrial Velcro which can be used to lock anything with a flat surface to just about anything else with a flat surface. Other option is to use tool clips (very cheap) to clip things onto tripod legs. Example of tool clips here:
Auto Parts Wholesalers - Terry Tool Clips
Pretty certain you can buy them anywhere. You can use them to clip a small aluminium plate onto tripod legs and then the velcro to lock all manner of things onto the plate.

What I call industrial Velcro is 3M Dual Lock SJ 355 D. You can buy it from Radio Spares PN 458-7321. Be warned this stuff really locks tight. Not terribly cheap but a reel goes a long way.
Bob Grant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2008, 07:13 AM   #23
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Thanks Bob; my problem is that in this relatively young and shallow market where I live, it's quite difficult to source this kind of stuff.

But I guess the general idea is clear: a light-weight plate clamped to the tripod's leg, and pretty much anything velcro'ed to it!
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2008, 09:23 AM   #24
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
I just thought about a poor man's solution: do you think I could just hang the PAGlok (with belt clip) on the stick that you use to level the Mannfrotto 503 head? Did anyone try that?

I'm afraid that the mass of the 100Wh brick dangling underneath the head could make my shots unstable...
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2008, 09:53 AM   #25
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Monroe, NY
Posts: 686
Quote:
Originally Posted by Piotr Wozniacki View Post
Thanks Bob; my problem is that in this relatively young and shallow market where I live, it's quite difficult to source this kind of stuff.

But I guess the general idea is clear: a light-weight plate clamped to the tripod's leg, and pretty much anything velcro'ed to it!
How about from eBay - France?


Dual lock SJ 355 D marque 3 M boite de 10 m en vente sur eBay.fr (fin le 21-Sep-08 08:47:02 Paris)

or Belgium?:

eBay.be: Dual lock SJ 355 D marque 3 M au mètre (object 270246217298 eindtijd 11-okt-08 09:16:57 CEST)

John
John Peterson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2008, 09:58 AM   #26
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Monroe, NY
Posts: 686
Quote:
Originally Posted by Piotr Wozniacki View Post
I just thought about a poor man's solution: do you think I could just hang the PAGlok (with belt clip) on the stick that you use to level the Mannfrotto 503 head? Did anyone try that?

I'm afraid that the mass of the 100Wh brick dangling underneath the head could make my shots unstable...
I use a Manfrotto 3146 in between the legs of my tripod. When I put someting heavy in it, it adds stability to my tripod.

Bogen / Manfrotto | 3146 Tripod Utility Apron | 3146 | B&H Photo

It is also known as the Manfrotto 166

Manfrotto 166 Utility Apron Support - fotoSENSE

John
John Peterson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2008, 10:19 AM   #27
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Peterson View Post
I use a Manfrotto 3146 in between the legs of my tripod. When I put someting heavy in it, it adds stability to my tripod.

John
Yes, lowering the COG and adding some weight can be advantageous - but I was hesitant about anything actually dangling from the center column.
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2008, 10:29 AM   #28
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Monroe, NY
Posts: 686
Quote:
Originally Posted by Piotr Wozniacki View Post
Yes, lowering the COG and adding some weight can be advantageous - but I was hesitant about anything actually dangling from the center column.
Before I got the apron I used to use a sock filled with ball bearings dangling from the center of the tripod. It actually worked well, but didn't look very professional.

The other thing I like about the Manfrotto apron is that it has three compartments.

John
John Peterson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2008, 10:31 AM   #29
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Thanks John - your sock got me convinced... ;)
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2008, 02:18 PM   #30
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 210
Hi,

trying to answer an old question of this thread :

if you have both the inside battery + the power plug connected you will use the power plug as source.
If the power plug get out or energy, the internal battery will be used immediately, without poweroff of the camera.

At least, this is my experience.
__________________
DoP, Video/Camera assistant
http://www.lecentre.net/blog
Sebastien Thomas is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:15 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network