Any way to mark a clip OK in Camera mode? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 31st, 2008, 12:59 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 513
Any way to mark a clip OK in Camera mode?

Hi,

I'm really loving this tape less workflow. Just shot some green screen footage and went over to Media mode to make clips OK that were good takes.

Then, in clip browser, copied over to my PC's hard drive, and set Cineform to batch convert the clips I copied over.

It's WAY cool that I don't have to capture ALL the tape or log the tape IN/OUT of each clip to be captured.

It was a pain for me to keep moving over to Media mode though on the EX1 to mark the clip OK.

Is there any way in Camera mode to mark the clip you just took as OK?

Thanks,
__________________
Reel Inspirations - www.reelinspirations.com
Commercials, Dramas, Image Pieces, Documentaries, Motion Graphics
James Huenergardt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2008, 08:24 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Posts: 3,778
I believe you can assign Mark1 and Mark2 to assignable buttons and add them while recording. I don't think they add the OK to them but I do think you can sort for the Markers and add OK at that point. I haven't tried this though.
Craig Seeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2008, 09:37 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Northampton, UK
Posts: 259
I think the remote lets you add shot marks too.

Nick
Nick Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2008, 09:47 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Posts: 3,778
But you have to stand in front of the camera. Great if you're marking takes if you're a one person ENG crew becoming more common these days.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Wilson View Post
I think the remote lets you add shot marks too.

Nick
Craig Seeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2008, 10:39 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Seeman View Post
But you have to stand in front of the camera.
This is something I wondered a lot about. I cant imagine a situation where I would rather operate the remote in front of the camera then behind it. If you could operate the remote from the behind you could attach it to your tripod handle and use it as zoom even.

sami
Sami Sanpakkila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2008, 10:46 AM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Seeman View Post
But you have to stand in front of the camera. Great if you're marking takes if you're a one person ENG crew becoming more common these days.
Try pointing the remote at the LCD screen from behind. It works on the F350 and my little Panasonic camera. The manuals for both cameras state this can be done so it's not some fluke.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:14 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network