EX1 - Audio and Premiere Pro CS3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 4th, 2008, 09:39 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Leavenworth, KS
Posts: 72
EX1 - Audio and Premiere Pro CS3

I have seen a few post about no audio on clips that are edited in PProCS3. While I understand the majority is on FCP and probably a good handful on AVID and even Vegas. I have to believe there is a large community with this problem.

Am I just missing the work around? Or perhaps am I not setting the project up right at the beginning.

*new to the EX1 but good lord does it shoot like a dream!
Nick Schale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2008, 06:45 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 93
I got this as a comment on my site.

The problem with the native EX audio is its Big endian (a la motorola) not little endian (a la Intel) which is why its mute unless you convert it.

If this is correct and I don't see why not since I don't know about endians since I don't do any programming and trust that the commenter does know, then you need to do some kind of conversion.

You could use ffmpeg to extract a wav file.
Andreas Johansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2008, 10:26 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Leavenworth, KS
Posts: 72
Andreas (We have exchanged a few emails, but would rather do it here so maybe others would get some help as well).

In average joe terms *i understand this is not an average joe camera* what does that mean? Is ffmpeg an actual software? Does it compress audio or video? I have seen lines of code when finding ffmpeg mentioned... is this code that I have to run inside of ffmpeg?
Nick Schale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2008, 11:20 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 93
ffmpeg is a program. There are a lot of post about it here on the forums and links to downloads of binary files (.exe for windows) and tips on how to use it.

It's a command line tool.

This is an example of how to use it in a dos prompt in windows.

ffmpeg -i inputfilenam.mp4 -acodec pcm_s16le outputfilename.wav

ffmpeg is the program name.

-i defines the filename you like to convert. In this example inputfilename.mp4

-acodec tell you what audio codec to use in this example pcm_s16le

and the last thing is the outputfilename.wav

Do a google for "ffmpeg win32" and you will find binary files compiled for windows.
Andreas Johansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2008, 08:34 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Leavenworth, KS
Posts: 72
so i downloaded the lastest ffmpeg (about 2.5mb).

Unpacked it and it gave me an ffmpeg.exe and ffplay.exe.

ran the ffmpeg.exe and it flashed a command prompt type window.
ran the ffplay.exe and i got a REALLY quick hour glass and nothing else.

So i assumed it worked and went into DOS.

the file is in my E:\deleteme\BPAV\CLPR\ folder and is named 308_0010_01.mp4

So here is what the command line looked like:

E:\deleteme\BPAV\CLPR>ffmpeg -i 308_0010_01.mp4 -acodec pcm_s16le testdelete.wav

Ran that and it said 'ffmpeg' is not recognized as an internal or external command operable program or batch file.
Nick Schale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2008, 10:13 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 107
If you've ever used ms dos you'd know that only commands that are located on directories loaded on boot will work from other directories than where they are located.

use full path name to execute ffmpeg
Tuomas Sebastien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2008, 01:37 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Schale View Post

So here is what the command line looked like:

E:\deleteme\BPAV\CLPR>ffmpeg -i 308_0010_01.mp4 -acodec pcm_s16le testdelete.wav

Ran that and it said 'ffmpeg' is not recognized as an internal or external command operable program or batch file.
Don't give up yet! Your almost there.

Either put ffmpeg inside the folder of the files you try to convert (this is the fast easy way)

Or change the Path variable, instructions below.

I'm trying to write how to from memory now, I don't have windows at home to look at.

Rigth click "My Computer" > Choose properties > Choose the Advanced tab. At the bottom there is two buttons the one to the left is the one and its named something with Environment variables > click it and a new page opens.

Look for a list a bit down and the name PATH in it. > Choose edit > add ;C:\Program Files\FFmpeg at the end of what already is there.

Then create a folder FFmpeg in C:\Program Files called FFmpeg and put the ffmpeg files in there.

Now use run and write cmd and in the prompt type ffmpeg and press enter it should work and print some output. If it says

'ffmpeg' is not recognized as an internal or external command operable program or batch file.

Then the Path variable is incorrect, go back an try again.

/Andreas
Andreas Johansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2008, 09:35 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Leavenworth, KS
Posts: 72
o.
m.
g.
Nick Schale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2008, 09:05 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Leavenworth, KS
Posts: 72
so... what a great work around for the audio. Seriously you guys are tech gods.

So I got a .wav for the interview clip and that worked like a freakin champ.

The new problem is, PPro freezes every 5 minutes. (literally about 5minutes).

To do a test, i installed the maincept plug in demo (watermarked) and was able to edit for hours. /sigh.
Nick Schale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2008, 10:13 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 107
Try converting the video to DNxHD codec, you can simply copy audio track in it instead of ripping it out to separate wav. Haven't tested the 5min crash problem with it but.. you are free to test it :P

720p: ffmpeg -i input.mp4 -vcodec dnxhd -b 90Mb -acodec copy output.mov
1080p: ffmpeg -i input.mp4 -vcodec dnxhd -b 185Mb -acodec copy output.mov

http://www.itbroadcastanddigitalcine...peg_howto.html
Tuomas Sebastien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2008, 10:24 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Leavenworth, KS
Posts: 72
wonderful ill give this a shot.
Nick Schale is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:05 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network