IKAN HD8000 $795 (as advertised here) at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 24th, 2008, 05:48 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Desert, California
Posts: 311
IKAN HD8000 $795 (as advertised here)

I was inches away from buying this monitor when I saw it does not handle 1080p - only 720p. With the EX1 the video outs are always the same as the shooting mode so with this monitor you can not shoot in 1080p as I always do. Beware.

Mike
Michael H. Stevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2008, 07:32 PM   #2
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Actually that monitor will accept a 1080i component video input.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2008, 01:32 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kerala, India
Posts: 93
Just curious to know what will be the look when the camera in 1080p mode connected through component to this monitor. Is the result that much bad?. Cant one judge it for focus colour and framing?

Rajiv
Rajiv Attingal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2008, 02:14 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Desert, California
Posts: 311
The monitor does not support 1080p so you will likely get nothing
Michael H. Stevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2008, 03:07 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Michael,

Component is ALWAYS interlaced by its very nature.

Only a monitor with HDMI /DVI / HD-SDI may be rated 1080p.
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2008, 05:24 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Agua Blanca Ibiza
Posts: 303
I have an EX1, and shoot 1080i enabling me to produce high quality slo motion
in post production. The results are fabulous, and much better than if I'd shot my material in progressive mode.

all the best from "cuckoo land"

Paul
__________________
Another Sunny Day in Ibiza
Paul Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2008, 08:17 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 188
Piotr, that is simply not true. Component is analog by nature, but certainly not interlace only.

-Sean
Sean Donnelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2008, 08:31 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 188
I wouldn't be surprised if this monitor will accept a 1080p signal however I'm fairly sure it would not accept 23.98, but none of that matters since the display is only 800x480. You could send SD over the component out (or even use the composite) and probably not see much of a difference.

-Sean
Sean Donnelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2008, 09:18 AM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 2,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Newman View Post
I have an EX1, and shoot 1080i enabling me to produce high quality slo motion
in post production.

Paul
Paul, how do you get better slo-mo in 1080i compared to 720p60?

The 60p stuff I have seen is without equal.
Tim Polster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2008, 10:35 AM   #10
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
If the EX1's component video output sends the p30 and p24 modes out as 1080i, then this monitor will indeed be compatible. One way to find out for sure, and that is to get the two pieces together and test it. I'll put an inquiry into iKan, and if they can't get their hands on an EX1 then surely we'll find out at NAB, where both the camera and the monitor will be under one (admittedly rather large) roof, at the South Hall of the LVCC.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2008, 12:06 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Desert, California
Posts: 311
But it doesn't. The output is always the same as what you are shooting. That IS the problem for the ikan when in 1080p because 1080p is what comes out and the iKan can't handle it.
Michael H. Stevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2008, 04:42 AM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Donnelly View Post
Piotr, that is simply not true. Component is analog by nature, but certainly not interlace only.

-Sean
Sean, I stand corrected, thanks. Actually, there are two types:

Y,Pb,Pr - Progressive Scan component video input/output connection.

Y,Cb,Cr - Interlaced scan only component video input/output connection

For some reason, I only was thinking about the latter :)
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2008, 04:58 AM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Viersen, Germany
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Polster View Post
Paul, how do you get better slo-mo in 1080i compared to 720p60?

The 60p stuff I have seen is without equal.

If you use a good bobber (like mvbob) you will get a better 50p/60p picture
than with 720p.



regards Dennis
Dennis Schmitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2008, 08:19 AM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Haiku, HI
Posts: 196
Images: 12
Is anyone currently using an on camera monitor/mount/battery/hood/input setup that they are very satisfied with? I am in the market, and would love some known-good user input.
Randy Strome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2008, 09:21 AM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Desert, California
Posts: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy Strome View Post
Is anyone currently using an on camera monitor/mount/battery/hood/input setup that they are very satisfied with? I am in the market, and would love some known-good user input.
Me too Randy. The problem is the good ones are expensive. DVmag did a review last month. I will try to find it. It is no point getting one unless it is at least 8", full HD horizontally and capable of playing progressive HD.

The SONY monitor made for the EX1 is the LMD-9050. It is HD via HDSDI which is what you want and there is a $250 rebate for EX1 owners. Price is $4125.

Last edited by Michael H. Stevens; February 26th, 2008 at 10:51 AM.
Michael H. Stevens is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:28 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network