Sony confirms backfocus problem - Page 6 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 30th, 2008, 04:30 PM   #76
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 380
Images: 1
I have had no luck getting my backfocus fixed through the maintenance menu. It is certainly infuriating.

Do others who have BF problems notice that (at least with the ND on) the only way to get far away things in focus is to turn the focus to the minimum distance? I can zoom into some far away trees and get focus and pull out but have to go to the opposite end of infinity to get infinity focus. Aargh!

Benjamin
Benjamin Eckstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2008, 04:40 PM   #77
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Austria
Posts: 122
Benjamin,
Im sorry to read that it did not work for you.
I had exactly the same situation with 2 cameras before I could fix it.
Did you try the adjustment as described in this thread?
Most of the users who tried it so far had some success.
Gerald Loidl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2008, 05:13 PM   #78
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 380
Images: 1
I have tried it with one chart, six charts and just tried with a siemens chart displayed through a 50" plasma (although that got really weird looking and probably was not as good an idea).
I called the highly reputable dealer in Boston that I bought it from and spoke to their head engineer and was surprised that to his knowledge nobody else has mentioned the backfocus problem. They have sold a lot of EX-1s and rent them as well. It had me thinking I was just being crazy and seeing a problem that was not real but I have confirmed that it is a problem. The dealer will certainly support in getting it to Sony, but I am just scared from people saying Sony did nothing to fix it.
Benjamin Eckstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2008, 12:40 AM   #79
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Malta
Posts: 306
Benjamin what is your camera's firmware version? I too have not been successful after more than 10 attempts and making sure I'm following Gerald's procedure to the letter. My FW is 1.02
Brian Cassar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2008, 03:51 AM   #80
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kelkheim, Germany
Posts: 375
Gerald, could you post another split screen image of your actual testclips?
Would be very much appreciated. Thanks in advance.
__________________
Michael
Michael Mann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2008, 07:04 AM   #81
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 380
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Cassar View Post
Benjamin what is your camera's firmware version? I too have not been successful after more than 10 attempts and making sure I'm following Gerald's procedure to the letter. My FW is 1.02
FW 1.03. Gonna try again today.
Benjamin Eckstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2008, 07:25 AM   #82
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 1,562
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Mann View Post
Gerald, could you post another split screen image of your actual testclips?
These are my before/after tests - roll mouse over image to switch:

http://www.mdma.tv/ex1/fb.html

Full story here:

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthrea...108433&page=47

Perhaps this thread is a more logical place to continue.
Matt Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2008, 07:45 AM   #83
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kelkheim, Germany
Posts: 375
Much appreciated, Matt, thanks.
__________________
Michael
Michael Mann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2008, 12:41 PM   #84
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Austria
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Mann View Post
Gerald, could you post another split screen image of your actual testclips?
Would be very much appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Michael,
unfortunately I already formated the SxS card with the test clips of the loaner camera, as it was picked up today - they looked exactly like the ones I already posted on this forum from my camera - no difference at all. (looked exactly like this: http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showpost....29&postcount=3 )
Sorry,
Gerald

Last edited by Gerald Loidl; March 31st, 2008 at 12:46 PM. Reason: added link
Gerald Loidl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2008, 03:14 PM   #85
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Desert, California
Posts: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Daviss View Post
These are my before/after tests - roll mouse over image to switch:

http://www.mdma.tv/ex1/fb.html

Full story here:

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthrea...108433&page=47

Perhaps this thread is a more logical place to continue.
Has Sony (or the service manual) said the FB adjustment needs be done once for each ND setting or is this a sumize?
Michael H. Stevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2008, 03:33 PM   #86
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,868
I talked with Sony today on the BF problem and was told NO you do not need to do it with ND on that is only remembers the last adjustment. Also I was told that it is better to have a black background and only the Focus Chart/black background in the frame at full wide. But it seem that Gerald has proven that this is not needed.

Then I said that will not be easy for me at full wide and 3 meters how about a brick building. He said that was fine but make sure it is well lit and be wide open iris.
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2008, 03:37 PM   #87
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 380
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Cronin View Post
I talked with Sony today on the BF problem and was told NO you do not need to do it with ND on that is only remembers the last adjustment. Also I was told that it is better to have a black background and only the Focus Chart/black background in the frame at full wide. But it seem that Gerald has proven that this is not needed.

Then I said that will not be easy for me at full wide and 3 meters how about a brick building. He said that was fine but make sure it is well lit and be wide open iris.
The fact that many NEED to find that setup to properly tune our BF is ridiculous. I tried again today (6 charts on white wall) with fellow DVinfo user Bill Parker (who also had bad BF problems). I got it all fixed (so I thought). Every setting looked sharp. We went to lunch and I was all happy. We came back and lo and behold my backfocus was off again.

It is right on with the ND OFF, but with ND I need to go to min focus to get infinity focused. Really stupid. I am giving up for now, as I have to travel with the camera this week but it is going to the dealer next week.

Aargh.
Benjamin Eckstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2008, 03:56 PM   #88
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,868
Benjamin that does not sound good.
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2008, 05:01 PM   #89
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Benjamin Eckstein View Post
Every setting looked sharp. We went to lunch and I was all happy. We came back and lo and behold my backfocus was off again.
Hmm...
Why is this?
It was good, then bad. Strange.

After you ran the calibration and determined that it was good, did you power cycle the camera, or did you keep using it for a while?

It sounds like there may be step needed to have it remember the settings.
Steven Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2008, 06:29 PM   #90
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 380
Images: 1
I did the BF adjustment and then powered down and went to lunch. Yeah, is there a "Save" thing? I doubt it. This is troubling. Between this and my faulty zoom lever (doesn't do a slow zoom) hopefully Sony will deal with it.

Boo :-(
Benjamin Eckstein is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:37 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network