Adobe announces Native support for EX1 - Page 3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 18th, 2008, 03:19 PM   #31
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Haiku, HI
Posts: 196
Images: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Hewat View Post
Yes, with H.264. But I don't want to be doing that, I just want plain old AVIs.

What do you think I have a bad install of? the update? or CS3 to begin with?

Whichever the case, what does that even mean? How can an install go bad??

What settings should I be using for correct output?
Here is my new guess. Your default application is choking on the .avi. Try this:

Export again, but open the .avi in Premiere, not in Media Player or QT.
Randy Strome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2008, 06:07 PM   #32
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 134
For Randy

Hi Randy -

I tried to email you through the site, but your settings won't allow me to. I have a project going in Hawaii that I'd like to talk to you about. Will you drop me a note? You can contact me via email through the site from my profile.

Apologies for hijacking the thread.

Thanks,
Zac
Zachary Fink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2008, 07:52 PM   #33
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 735
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy Strome View Post
Here is my new guess. Your default application is choking on the .avi. Try this:

Export again, but open the .avi in Premiere, not in Media Player or QT.
Well I'll be a monkey's uncle.

Ok, so there is video there. It wouldn't play on Windows Media Player and it wouldn't play on VLC, but importing it back into the same project that created it works fine, except that there is a black frame in there for some reason (dropped??) and it needs to be rendered!

I was so excited about this update and now it's just a downer for me.
__________________
John Hewat
Mammoth Media Productions
John Hewat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2008, 08:49 AM   #34
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Haiku, HI
Posts: 196
Images: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Hewat View Post
Well I'll be a monkey's uncle.

Ok, so there is video there. It wouldn't play on Windows Media Player and it wouldn't play on VLC, but importing it back into the same project that created it works fine, except that there is a black frame in there for some reason (dropped??) and it needs to be rendered!

I was so excited about this update and now it's just a downer for me.
Hi John,

I am still thinking there is another issue on your system. You should be able to play mp4's smoothly without render, same for avi's. I would suggest an uninstall of Premiere and a reinstall.
Randy Strome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2008, 04:18 AM   #35
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 735
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy Strome View Post
I would suggest an uninstall of Premiere and a reinstall.
Aaaaagain.....

I must have done that so many times...

I don't really understand that whole process. How can an install be "bad"?
__________________
John Hewat
Mammoth Media Productions
John Hewat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2008, 12:20 PM   #36
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Aachen, Germany and Las Vegas NV
Posts: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake Craig View Post
What I can suggest you, is to follow a different workflow, the end result will be the same.

1.- Import all your clips to Premiere.

2.- Select the parts that you will use from each one of them on the source monitor window, NOT on the timeline.

3.- Save the resulting clips with a different name.

4.- Under the project menu, go to project manager and make sure that the following options are selcted. Create a new trimmed project and EXCLUDE UNUSED CLIPS and rename media files to match clip names.

5.- Click OK and Voila ! New project only with the footage that you actuallly need.
Thanks Jake, I'll try this.
Swen Goebbels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2008, 01:18 PM   #37
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Heeney colorado
Posts: 103
The first thing I noticed was the clips can be imported from the SxS card but if you move the clips off the SxS card into a directory on your hard drive then try to import them you get the "Unsupported Media" error message.
Charles Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2008, 07:50 PM   #38
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Haiku, HI
Posts: 196
Images: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles Young View Post
The first thing I noticed was the clips can be imported from the SxS card but if you move the clips off the SxS card into a directory on your hard drive then try to import them you get the "Unsupported Media" error message.
I wrote this earlier on:

"When I import the entire BPAV folder, Premiere gives a not supported message with ony the .smi file selected as not allowed. Press OK. All of the .mp4 files should import perfectly. When the individual .mp4's are selected, I get no error message."

Are you sure it is not just the .smi file that is showing as unsupported? If it is, just ignore it and press OK. It should not be imported.
Randy Strome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 23rd, 2008, 10:06 AM   #39
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Stockholm, sweden
Posts: 26
I have look after this news in the Adobe homepage but I cant find it, its official?
Alfredo Silva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 23rd, 2008, 11:47 AM   #40
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Haiku, HI
Posts: 196
Images: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alfredo Silva View Post
I have look after this news in the Adobe homepage but I cant find it, its official?
If you own Premiere CS3, just update from within the program and it will install the new update.
Randy Strome is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:02 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network