Physical Memory Dump when editing EX footage in PremProCS3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 20th, 2008, 07:33 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Leavenworth, KS
Posts: 72
Physical Memory Dump when editing EX footage in PremProCS3

Ok, lots of Blue Screens of Death... all saying physical memory dump. I have no idea what this means and less of an idea how to fix it.

I am running on Premiere Pro CS 3.2 (So I can edit the footage)
I have NO color correction, just a modified scale down.
Very simple text every 6min. And it crashes... a lot. So I save... a lot, now I went to open the file. And it said CORRUPT FILE... wtf!!!!! So most of that work has been lost (went to auto save files).

Please, if anyone has any ideas. Let me know.

Dual Core 2 (e6600 2.4ghz); 2gig DDR2 ram; Raptor 10k system drive; 1.3 TB Raid 5; GeForce 7900 GT/GTO
Nick Schale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2008, 04:11 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Utrecht, NL | Europe 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 612
A BSOD is a low-level driver or related hardware issue. The driver that is causing the BSOD is usually noted in the error.

Major candidates are graphice card (driver up-to-date?) or harddisk issues (scan for defects).

George/
George Kroonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2008, 08:24 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Leavenworth, KS
Posts: 72
I've heard that about drivers... and I know my graphics card is uptodate... so I'll do the scan.

You dont think it's that i have too little Ram do you? (Always looking for an excuse to upgrade.)


Thanks.
And thanks for the move MOD.
Nick Schale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2008, 05:16 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Utrecht, NL | Europe 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 612
Your 2GB of RAM will cause more disk activity for paging activity, so a disk related error is more likely to cause problems like this.

So 4GB is about as much as 32-bit XP can handle, if you're running Vista 64-bit, 8GB would be sweet.

An upgrade won't resolve your problem however, which looks like a bad disk to me.

George/
George Kroonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 23rd, 2008, 08:04 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Posts: 201
This fix worked for some other AV equipment I was getting BSOD's with:
Unplug the network cable from the back of your computer while editing or dumping. Sounds silly but it worked for me...might solve your problem
__________________
Mitchell J. Skurnik
http://www.mjcsstudios.com/ - EX1, 4x hoodman 16GB, Libec Tripod, Sony LAV
Mitchell Skurnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 23rd, 2008, 08:07 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Posts: 201
As for the disk error, My Computer > right click your drive > properties > tools > Error Check

Then defrag your hard drive. If it is still a problem after that, then premiere is probably messing up the file, enable auto save and set the revisions to like 100 and time to like 10 min. That way when something goes wrong, you only loose 10min of work :)
__________________
Mitchell J. Skurnik
http://www.mjcsstudios.com/ - EX1, 4x hoodman 16GB, Libec Tripod, Sony LAV
Mitchell Skurnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 23rd, 2008, 08:48 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Leavenworth, KS
Posts: 72
I was using the microsoft wireless laser mouse 6000 the one that makes all adobe softwares 'jump' randomly....

was driving me nuts so i uninstalled the software....

then did some HEAVY HEAVY editing..... SO FAR SO GOOD!

PRAYING THIS WAS THE ISSUE!
Nick Schale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2008, 12:41 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Posts: 103
I'm a postpro specialist for feature film. Tried many editing softwares for HD.
Premiere has very bad memory management.

I once edited a 90minute HD feature using Premiere + Decklink Multibridge, the project file bloats to +100MB!! Loading project itself takes 6-7minutes, frequent random crashes all the time.

I then have to cut the project into 10 minute parts. That way i can finish the edit.

After that, i move the Decklink to FCP and never use Premiere again for heavy or HD editing.

Recently a student of mine used Axio + Premiere CS3 to edit a feature. Same symptoms. Bad memory management, always crashes. He then resorted to Vegas as my recommendation.

Now i mainly use FCP & Avid & Vegas.
__________________
Camera: Sony F350 + Sony PMW-F3 | Fujinons: S13x4.6 + A17x7.6x2ext + 4 Super Cine E-Primes [8,16,34,54] + Red Pro Primes [25,35,50,85,100] + Nikon 80-200mmf2.8 + Samyang 14mmf2.8
Hornady Setiawan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2008, 09:25 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Leavenworth, KS
Posts: 72
I think that's probably going to be the truth.

But I have to say... since I have uninstalled that freakin software... thing has been running like a champ!

I cannot disagree with mismanagment of memory... I think it has a lot to do with the titles for some reason. Just a theory but something probably go overlooked, or not refined with the titles...

again, either way, I'm getting products knocked out FAST again :)
Nick Schale is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:12 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network