Only have XDCAM EX MP4? - THE MAC SOLUTION! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 3rd, 2008, 02:58 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Posts: 3,782
Only have XDCAM EX MP4? - THE MAC SOLUTION!

1) download this free program
http://ffmpegx.com/index.html
2) Drop the XDCAM EX MP4 on input and select output codec, bit rate, frame size, frame rate, etc like any compression app. It has choices such as H264 or MPEG2 Transport Stream. While it's a round of compression I had no problem using MPEG2 Transport Stream at 35000kbits/sec.
3) Drop File in Episode Pro 5 and encode to XDCAM EX (1080p30 in my case).

The resultant file was full XDCAM EX 1080p30 file (both video and audio) that worked just fine in Final Cut Pro 6.0.3

If you don't have Episode Pro 5 you may need to use the ffmpegz output file in FCP and render but in any case the free ffmpegz will get you there. It's a round of compression but for many, that's better than a reshoot.
Craig Seeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2008, 03:07 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Port Coquitlam BC Canada
Posts: 179
Nice. Good job, Craig. You're the codec king. I see you also let the "other guy" know :)

- Don
Don Greening is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2008, 03:29 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Posts: 3,782
"Have codec will travel" as they used to say.

Somewhere the are folks reading this and saying "why didn't you figure this out x weeks ago"

We can be free from the chains of corrupt or lost metadata on the Mac!
Craig Seeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2008, 03:33 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Port Coquitlam BC Canada
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Seeman View Post
We can be free from the chains of corrupt or lost metadata on the Mac!
I know! Your discovery is quite huge actually, and wasn't lost on me.

- Don
Don Greening is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2008, 06:30 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 898
fmpegx ...

This is one program I use extensively! It's one of the best kept secrets on codec manipulation around! Glad to hear it'll handle EX files.
Dean Harrington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2008, 06:40 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 836
Hi Craig,
Would this app allow me to get files into Avid Xpress Pro or Media Composer on my Mac? I just went to the bother of getting XP and VMWare, so I can use the PC version of the Clip Browser to give me Avid-friendly files.
Would this program do it better than, or instead of, the XP/VMWare/Clip Br. solution?
Malcolm
Malcolm Hamilton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2008, 07:33 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Decatur, GA
Posts: 198
a good article to check out

someone has to have referenced this before, but if not, or you missed it...
http://www.bolanski.com/ex/home/ffmpeg-is-your-friend/

here is another link on the same site for all you Avid people.
http://www.bolanski.com/ex/home/ex1-...port/#Comment1
__________________
Sony EX1 v1.11, crap loads of SxS, Macs w/ Final Cut Studio
Andrew Hollister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2008, 08:25 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Posts: 3,782
actually ffmpegx, although based on ffmpeg is different since it's specific to Mac and includes a GUI rather than command line.

from ffmpegx site I linked to above:
"Please note: the ffmpegX project is not associated with the ffmpeg project,"

and

"ffmpegX is a Mac OS X graphic user interface designed to easily operate more than 20 powerful Unix open-source video and audio processing tools including ffmpeg"
Craig Seeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2008, 04:30 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Utrecht, NL | Europe 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 612
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Seeman View Post
2) Drop the XDCAM EX MP4 on input and select output codec [...]
3) Drop File in Episode Pro 5 and encode to XDCAM EX (1080p30 in my case).
Hi Craig,

Why do a second transcode (in Episode) and not just go with the result out of ffmpegX?
Or does Episode just rewrap? (I don't have it, but even then, why rewrap?)

George/

P.S. Maybe I'm missing something here, please point it out; always keen to learn.
George Kroonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2008, 08:59 AM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Posts: 3,782
ffmpegz doesn't encode to XDCAM EX. You'll be faced with another render in your timeline. You can certainly go that route but that render to XDCAM EX (unless you want to work in another codec) is inevitable.

BTW, I contacted the folks at Telestream Episode and said it would be good if Episode Pro could actually take the EX MP4 and do a rewrap. It is interesting that the do have the ability to encode to EX but can't take the EX MP4 as input.
Craig Seeman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:48 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network