Macro on EX3 EX1 lens at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 8th, 2008, 04:44 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Larkspur, CA
Posts: 378
Macro on EX3 EX1 lens

Does the Ex3/Ex1 have the same kind of macro ring as a normal broadcast lens? Looking at pics I can't see a macro ring.

If there is no ring then is there a switch or button to put it into macro mode or something like that?
Justin Ferar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2008, 05:20 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 144
I can't speak to the EX3, but the EX1 has a switch just below the Iris switch on the barrel between the aperture and zoom rings to put it into macro mode. It only works when the camera is in servo focus mode though.
__________________
www.elkinseye.com
David Elkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2008, 05:41 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Larkspur, CA
Posts: 378
Thanks David,

Okay, so it sounds like it's just a switch and not a locking ring like on a standard broadcast lens. Once you throw the switch are you able to adjust it manually even though it's in servo?
Justin Ferar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2008, 05:55 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 144
Exactly. No ring. It functions, to me at least, like a DVX100 where the focus ring spins and spins but you have manual control. You just have to remember to flip the switch. What I do is always leave macro turned on because I always use the focus on the geared setting where macro does not function. If I need macro I just slide the ring forward and go to work. HTH.
__________________
www.elkinseye.com
David Elkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2008, 06:22 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 162
Images: 3
"What I do is always leave macro turned on"

Yea, it's kinda made me wonder what that switches usefulness is.

- Ray
__________________
www.undergroundplanet.com
Raymond Schlogel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2008, 12:33 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 75
You might be interest to know that in my tests the greatest magnification you can get fills the screen vertically with a 1" tall object. I'm finding there is a big "no mans land" between where normal full zoom ends and macro begins. Does anyone else see this or know a workaround?
Mike Stevens is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:48 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network