Ex1 or Ex3 purchase decision... - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 21st, 2008, 01:22 AM   #16
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 498
I took the lens off of the EX3 at NAB (and then Sony Reps descended on me and took the camera away from me). I was hoping to find the secret of the EX1 backfocus problem by examining the internal ND filters of the EX3.

The mount is definitely all-metal, but felt more "die cast" or stamped than finely machined. It was definitely not as sturdy or precise as a PL or Panavision mount, but was stronger and nicer than, say, a Nikon mount. The design is quite unusual because of the mount's versatility - the flange depth is almost zero, allowing many optical options.

The pin for releasing the bayonet seemed rather crude (it was like a zoom lever) but then this was a pre-release camera. I am sure the final package will be quite a bit slicker.
Eric Pascarelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2008, 09:28 AM   #17
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,414
Just to chime in...

The camera at two times the price of an EX1 is too expensive....

The price of this Cam needs to come down...
Ray Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2008, 03:58 AM   #18
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Grant View Post
Given the ongoing back focus problems with the EX1 my feeling is that the interchangeable lens mount on the EX3 could be a negative feature. It doesn't look as solid as a PL or B4 mount, it appears to be only plastic.
unlike b4 mounts the ex3 lens has no mechanical adjustment to fiddle with so i can't see it making any difference to the ex1 backfocus.

The new firmware that Sony install when you send your camera back apparently fixed the back focus issue. The proper firmware update that will be done by users won't be out until early Autumn when the 32gb cards come out.
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2008, 05:04 AM   #19
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Wales
Posts: 2,130
Hard to imagine how a firmware update can influence back focus, what am I missing here?
Steve
Steve Phillipps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2008, 07:27 AM   #20
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,414
No way I'm paying double price for the same sensor size, I'll give up my EX1 only when/if half inch EX will be out;
:-)
Buba Kastorski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2008, 08:52 AM   #21
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Utrecht, NL | Europe 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 612
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Phillipps View Post
Hard to imagine how a firmware update can influence back focus, what am I missing here?
Steve
At least for the EX1 the camera talks to the lens to compensate for ND. For this it uses a single Look Up Table (LUT) with corrections for the ND positions.

In the EX1 with firmware prior to 1.05 this correction data is incorrect, resulting in BF problems at one or more ND settings. This aparently differs per camera.

A FB Adjustment function is present in the service menu to "rewrite" the LUT, which can be used (sparingly) as a workaround. With FW 1.05 the adjustment should result in correct backfocus at all ND positions.

I have no specific information about the EX3 mount and how you will be able to adjust BF. Hhowever I expect it to be similar to the Z7/Z270 which have a similar menu-driven auto adjustment feature in the user menu as found in the EX1 service menu but includes "manual" adjustment as well (it's actually more like semi-automatic).

George/
George Kroonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2008, 09:22 AM   #22
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Bloom View Post
The proper firmware update that will be done by users won't be out until early Autumn when the 32gb cards come out.
Phil.
Is this a definate ?
IE from a reliable source. I'm quite happy with my self fixed backfocus,although i wouldn't mind having the latest firmware, i've got V1.02.

Paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2008, 09:41 AM   #23
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Utrecht, NL | Europe 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 612
Philip is a reliable source ;)

But no release schedule is ever to be relied on.

Aparently a FW update is needed to support he new 32GB cards and harddisk unit, so Sony has to make it available around the release to be able to sell these things. That is always a good motivator for companies.

What other goodies will be in this release is unclear, but it's really unlikely to be a step back from 1.05.

George/
George Kroonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2008, 09:51 AM   #24
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
Yeah i know Phil is a relialble source, i just meant was his source reliable.

Paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2008, 09:55 AM   #25
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Kellett View Post
Yeah i know Phil is a relialble source, i just meant was his source reliable.

Paul.
Ditto, and Amen.

Let us all hope it was!
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2008, 07:10 PM   #26
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,414
For the price that is being asked for the EX3, it should at the minimum
have, 2/3 sensors and 422 color, if not 444 color...
Ray Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2008, 03:23 AM   #27
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
Well there is an HD camera that is 4:2:2 with 2/3" CCDs for the price of an EX3. But you have to decide whether you want SD sensors or Full 1920x1080 HD sensors.
__________________
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2008, 03:37 AM   #28
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray Bell View Post
For the price that is being asked for the EX3, it should at the minimum
have, 2/3 sensors and 422 color, if not 444 color...
Ray...the price being asked (street price will be around 10k), is cheap. 2/3 sensors, 422 colour (444? really?) removable lens, full HD sensor? Then look at the PDW700 that is a hell of a lot more than 10k.

Also don't forget this is a small camera. Not a full size camera. Which is advantageous for so many reasons.

I have just placed my order for one. I can't wait!
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2008, 08:45 AM   #29
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 2,230
What I don't understand is the lens offered with the EX-3 is the same as the EX-1.

IMHO, they should have offered a longer lens with the EX-3 to separate it from the EX-1.

That way you justify it as a compliment to the EX-1.

Right now it looks like a larger EX-1 that costs $4,000 more.

I realize that one could purchase a separate lens, but to be honest, that would take the camera out of its price class.
Tim Polster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2008, 08:54 AM   #30
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
i guess that would require getting fujinon to make another lens. Quite a cost which would have bumped up the price even more.

It is the same with a lot of cameras. The glass often costs more than the bodies. The cheaper the camera the more likely that will be. High quality 22 x 2/3" HD glass with extender costs 2 and a half times more than an HPX500.

To get the same lens for 1/2" that would fit the ex3 and my f350 i would need to spend about 10,000. I have a 20x Canon without extender for my F350 that will work my EX3 already so I am lucky but that in itself cost 5500 and it is far from best lens out there!
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:28 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network