Final Cut Pro & EX1 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 20th, 2008, 02:08 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Angers, France
Posts: 181
Final Cut Pro & EX1

I have a shinny new EX1 arriving soon.

I have just update to a new iMAC 24inch 2.8 Ghz

I also have Final Cut Pro Studio 2 Version 6.0.1 just installed.

What updates to I need to get my system ready for editing on the EX1?

Thanks
Simon Duncan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2008, 02:48 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
You need to download the import tool from the sony website. You should run the Software Update tool a couple of times as FCP is up to 6.0.3.
__________________
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2008, 10:55 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USVI
Posts: 232
Software Update

Hi Simon,

Make sure you have the absolute latest version of FCP. If you stay at 6.0.1 you will have this wierd duplication of clip problem found in the early pioneer days.

I think I have 6.0.3 with all the firmware and pro apps up to date and that solved the problem. Good luck. Search around for what sequence settings people like.

The footage really is amazing. Break a leg :)
Mike Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2008, 01:32 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: new york
Posts: 231
workflow with FCP and EX1

i have about 60gb left on my 17" MBP after FCP 6.0.3 is fully loaded.
is this enough on the field if i need to do 1 to 1.5 hours of 1080p at 30fps with the EX1 and SxS cards?

would one of those 320gb usb2 mini drives help or are these too slow?

thanks
Paul Chiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2008, 02:14 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New York City
Posts: 613
paul, my guess is youll be fine for <2hrs of footage since ex1 footage is less than 20gb/hr. usb hard drive would be good, too if you need more space. also, im not sure what kind of FCS install you did, but ive found that by default FCS installs about 30GB of useless junk you never use. if you uncheck all the extra optional samples/templates/media, then it installs to about 3GB instead of ~35GB.
Noah Yuan-Vogel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2008, 04:53 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Dakar, Sénégal, West Africa
Posts: 30
Loops

Take the soudtrack loops away, u will win 20 Gigas.
__________________
Dakar - Sénégal - EX1- Nikon D7000 - HVRA1 - H4 - FCP 6.0.6 / http://brunodemeocq.viewbook.com/ bdeme@mac.com
Bruno Demeocq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2008, 06:55 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: new york
Posts: 231
49.4gb!

it took me over 3 hours and 49.4GB to install the Final Cut Studio suite and all its updates.
how to uninstall the thrills?

thanks




Quote:
Originally Posted by Noah Yuan-Vogel View Post
paul, my guess is youll be fine for <2hrs of footage since ex1 footage is less than 20gb/hr. usb hard drive would be good, too if you need more space. also, im not sure what kind of FCS install you did, but ive found that by default FCS installs about 30GB of useless junk you never use. if you uncheck all the extra optional samples/templates/media, then it installs to about 3GB instead of ~35GB.
Paul Chiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2008, 07:15 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 285
http://www.digitalrebellion.com/fcs_remover.htm
Dominik Seibold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2008, 03:49 AM   #9
Tourist
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alister Chapman View Post
You need to download the import tool from the sony website. You should run the Software Update tool a couple of times as FCP is up to 6.0.3.
does any one have the link for this?

thanx,
Justin
Justin Giritlian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2008, 08:27 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 285
http://www.sonybiz.net/biz/view/Show...DCAMCamcorders
on the lower right
Dominik Seibold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2008, 04:53 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: new york
Posts: 231
Please Help a Tyro!

So I filmed my son with his class in school with my 1 day old EX1 under full auto from 9 rows back in an auditorium on gitzo sticks and 503hdv manfrotto head.

man! the 1080-23.98p footage looked like broadcast quality until the portion where i changed the white balance tab to "A" as i thought the LCD color looked warm. well, i screwed up as the SxS card showed that the full auto indoor lighting settings were flawless and what i did at "A" was too blue. the full auto looked much better.

my 1st question is whether there is something under FCP that can match the color of the 2nd part to the full auto part.

2) is there a rendering setting that is best to compress the SxS footage into footage for VIMEO or YouTube?

thanks!


paul
Paul Chiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2008, 02:57 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 430
Paul Chui wrote:

"is whether there is something under FCP that can match the color of the 2nd part to the full auto part?"

Yes. The three way colour corrector in FCP.

Effects>video filters>colour correction>3-way colour corrector.

maybe go into the colour correcting layout: Window>layout>colour correction and set up the windows so you can see both bits of footage simultaneously.

Here's the vimeo compression guidelines:

http://www.vimeo.com/forums/topic:4331
Dom Stevenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2008, 12:34 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: new york
Posts: 231
thanks dom!
i'm ordering some books on FCP as i write.

paul




Quote:
Originally Posted by Dom Stevenson View Post
Paul Chui wrote:

"is whether there is something under FCP that can match the color of the 2nd part to the full auto part?"

Yes. The three way colour corrector in FCP.

Effects>video filters>colour correction>3-way colour corrector.

maybe go into the colour correcting layout: Window>layout>colour correction and set up the windows so you can see both bits of footage simultaneously.

Here's the vimeo compression guidelines:

http://www.vimeo.com/forums/topic:4331
Paul Chiu is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:24 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network