any experience with stuck pixels and remapping on EX1? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 22nd, 2008, 12:09 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: new york
Posts: 231
any experience with stuck pixels and remapping on EX1?

Took delivery of the EX1 yesterday and saw a cluster of 4 in a square shape that were shades of gray when surroundings was black. Perfect when lighter colors.

talked to sony pro shop this morning and with instructions from Sony XDCAM support, we went through some remapping process built within the EX1.

I have yet to use photoshop and screen grabs to verify if the pixels are remapped. As the lighting of the first samples cannot be replicated just now.

Is this a good solution?
Attached Thumbnails
any experience with stuck pixels and remapping on EX1?-5-22-2008-12.06.44-am.jpg   any experience with stuck pixels and remapping on EX1?-5-22-2008-12.05.23-am.jpg  

Paul Chiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2008, 12:55 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Posts: 3,777
BTW what was the remapping process?

It seems the only way we can learn about maintenance procedures is to ask those who Sony has dared to enlighten.
Craig Seeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2008, 01:07 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: new york
Posts: 231
it was done by entering into the maintenance menu of the EX1 system.
pressing menu, select/set, and cancel buttons in the back at the same time gets you there.

then there is an "auto" correct button that ran something to eliminate that the stuck pixels.

what was strange to me is that i did not tell it where the stuck pixels were, the system seemed to have found them and done something to them.

puzzled is the word.

(WARNING to all)
please don't do this as i have no idea what happened. call sony xdcam support for answers.
Paul Chiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2008, 01:14 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Posts: 3,777
That maintenance menu also has a routine to fix back focus issues and test signal which helps examine how PP1 settings have impact.

Sony should really should provide software maintenance manual at least. Some of us are experienced engineers.
Craig Seeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2008, 01:19 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: new york
Posts: 231
we can buy a service shop manual for our cars, i am sure there is one for the EX1. wonder how we can order it.




Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Seeman View Post
That maintenance menu also has a routine to fix back focus issues and test signal which helps examine how PP1 settings have impact.

Sony should really should provide software maintenance manual at least. Some of us are experienced engineers.
Paul Chiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2008, 01:46 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Posts: 3,777
If memory serves me, Sony charges a small fortune for their service manuals (I'm a former video engineer). In this case I'd wish/hope that there would be a "limited" one just for the software functions in the maintenance menu and maybe something basic like firmware upgrades. I'm not optimistic since Sony doesn't even seem to allow local Sony Professional Authorized service centers to handle the EX series (yet).
Craig Seeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2008, 02:18 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 171
Black Balance

I had the same prob. with my 350, i black balanced 2 or 3 times and that took care of it.
__________________
esquared
Eric Emerick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2008, 03:04 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: new york
Posts: 231
i have been taking shots all afternoon, from 2800k to 4500k and i cannot see anything in that pixel region.

what in the world did that built in software do?
i can't get them to exchange it now, as the problem seem to have gone away.

i wish i could do this on my 30" cinema displays

any reason for this?

paul






Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Emerick View Post
I had the same prob. with my 350, i black balanced 2 or 3 times and that took care of it.
Paul Chiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2008, 01:19 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Utrecht, NL | Europe 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 612
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Chiu View Post
what in the world did that built in software do?
Well, if it was a defective pixel element on the sensor than it didn't magically fix it!

Purely speculation, but it probably ignores the pixel and fills in the gap with infomation from the surrounding elements. This could be done on several places in the camera I suppose.

I'm curious if it is still there on HD SDI or component.

George/
George Kroonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2008, 01:39 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: new york
Posts: 231
looks perfect with component at 1080i and file downloaded AOK

george,
what is strange about the software is this.
it ran automatically and took about 2 seconds or less.
i didn't tell the EX1 where these clusters were.
i looked at details of objects and other areas looked fine even under photoshop of screen grabs at 800%. at 800%, the bad cluster is gone, under many colors i checked. after many checks, i got bored but still puzzled.
is it filled things in, shouldn't the eyelashes of subjects be weird as how does the EX1 knows what to fix and what to leave alone?

i did connected via component output and the cluster look good that way, albeit the colors were warmer with component out

i have no aja iohd to connect to my MBP pro, so cannot check SD-HDI. would love to

so, only check SxS output files for that cluster fix.

any ideas?

paul






Quote:
Originally Posted by George Kroonder View Post
Well, if it was a defective pixel element on the sensor than it didn't magically fix it!

Purely speculation, but it probably ignores the pixel and fills in the gap with infomation from the surrounding elements. This could be done on several places in the camera I suppose.

I'm curious if it is still there on HD SDI or component.

George/
Paul Chiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2008, 03:50 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Utrecht, NL | Europe 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 612
Who nows how Sony does it's magic, but it takes ~1/30 of a second fo rthe Camera to scan the CMOS array and detecting always on pixels could be easy; it could check the output at closed iris or something.

That's my guess.

How and where they compensate for it I don't know, but aparently they do it well enough! (and isn't that all that matters)

George/
George Kroonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2008, 05:20 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 188
Was the option perhaps auto black shading? The F23 and Genesis use the auto black function to deal with "stuck" pixels. The procedure takes about 30 seconds at most and sometimes has to be repeated 2-3 times before it works. The reason I'm thinking this is it is because your bad pixel is white. That would mean correspnding pixels on all 3 sensors would have to go bad at the same time. The pixel concealment menu on the ex1 is just like the F900, where you select a color channel (sensor) to target, use a crosshair to pinpoint it, and select the averaging properties.

-Sean
Sean Donnelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2008, 12:19 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: new york
Posts: 231
sean,

i spoke in detail with someone at the Sony business XDCAM support line yesterday afternoon and what he said made sense.

what that function did was a check for the voltage level from all the sensors. when one is different from the rest, levels are charged back to reference.
i asked why some would be different in the first place and environmental factors was the answer. so, upon the proper level sent to the sensors, another voltage check is made. when that is the same for all and matches reference, the test is finished.

of course, if the pixel is really burned or dead, this would not fix anything.

according to the rep, only the Cinealta line has this function to self check and self correct.

it sounded like it made some sense and i'll go along with it as long as no other stuck bright points are seen from now on.

paul



Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Donnelly View Post
Was the option perhaps auto black shading? The F23 and Genesis use the auto black function to deal with "stuck" pixels. The procedure takes about 30 seconds at most and sometimes has to be repeated 2-3 times before it works. The reason I'm thinking this is it is because your bad pixel is white. That would mean correspnding pixels on all 3 sensors would have to go bad at the same time. The pixel concealment menu on the ex1 is just like the F900, where you select a color channel (sensor) to target, use a crosshair to pinpoint it, and select the averaging properties.

-Sean
Paul Chiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2008, 01:50 AM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: new york
Posts: 231
8 months later

well, the other day while filming more piano stuff, saw a cluster of white dots on a black grand on my macbook pro 17 notebook.

i thought it was the dead pixels i spotted back in may.

false alarm as it was stuck pixels on my apple notebook.

too bad apple does not have the fancy remapping function of the EX1 built in.

paul
Paul Chiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2008, 07:24 PM   #15
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 1,896
No big deal..
This is exactly how it's done with my JVC HD100.

It's accessed through the service menu too.
Steven Thomas is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:13 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network