Mxo2 = Woot - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 1st, 2008, 03:22 AM   #16
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,195
Okay, thanks for the answers.
Mathieu Ghekiere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2008, 05:24 PM   #17
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 48
"Realtime hardware up/down/cross conversion

Matrox MXO2 lets you deliver in any format your clients demand. The 10-bit hardware scaling provides high-quality mastering.

HD to SD downscaling
Matrox MXO2 provides realtime HD to SD downscaling so that you can monitor or record an SD master of your HD project in real time. Proper conversion of the HD color space to the SD color space and proper aspect ratio conversion to anamorphic, letterbox, and center cut are supported."


Dean, could you please explain how is the downconversion done with MXO 2. I am not sure I understand the procedure (meaning what do you connect to what and the general workflow) How do you export HD from MBP or Mac Pro to SD?
Pavlos Symeon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2008, 06:26 PM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 898
This is where things get sticky ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pavlos Symeon View Post
"Realtime hardware up/down/cross conversion

Matrox MXO2 lets you deliver in any format your clients demand. The 10-bit hardware scaling provides high-quality mastering.

HD to SD downscaling
Matrox MXO2 provides realtime HD to SD downscaling so that you can monitor or record an SD master of your HD project in real time. Proper conversion of the HD color space to the SD color space and proper aspect ratio conversion to anamorphic, letterbox, and center cut are supported."


Dean, could you please explain how is the downconversion done with MXO 2. I am not sure I understand the procedure (meaning what do you connect to what and the general workflow) How do you export HD from MBP or Mac Pro to SD?
I'm not sure about how that is doable? Perhaps, someone more experienced with IOs can chime in and offer their thoughts. But here's what's possible ... maybe ...
The MXO2 goes HD/SDI to something like a carrion monitor HD/SDI in and then DVI into MBP capture via ScopeBox. This is one possible method ... maybe.
There is no firewire on the MXO2 but there is on the AJA IO. On the AJA IO it's possible ... maybe to go from that box direct into capture FCP, ScopeBox ... etc. The problem with the AJA IO is that it is still too bulky and although a field piece not all that portable.
The whole point of the MXO2 for me is to get HiRess 4.2.2 recorded without going for convergent designs $5,000 solution or Elite's hard drive solution at $ 6,000! All things are still up in the air as far as I can see. I truly wish for a simple affordable box that records HiRess 4.2.2 directly into removable hard drives with HD/SDI from HD/SDI output from the camera that would also have firewire 800 out of that box to off-load!
Correct me if I'm wrong on any of this ... please!
Dean Harrington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2008, 07:29 AM   #19
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Utrecht, NL | Europe 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 612
I think we should wait with the more in-depth usability questions until the product is shipping, unless someone has a pre-production version ;)

From what I believe I know the SD downconversion will be able to do a real-time hardware downconvert, for example from HD SDI input to component outs. This will be controlled by the software and may/can/could/would/should/will enable other in/out combo's.

So in general you would "play back" (or live input) HD to the MXO2 and then capture/record the SD from one of the outs. Maybe to a deck or a capture card.

It is unlikely that you can "loop" a HD to SD downconvert through the MXO2 without using at least one capture card. And it would/could be quite taxing on your (Mac) hardware. But who knows?

Just wait and see. It's only a few weeks 'til "Unboxing Day".

George/

P.S. If any of you want to freeze themselves "SouthPark Style" I can only advise against it...
George Kroonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2008, 10:23 AM   #20
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dorval, Québec
Posts: 5
Hello everyone,

I want to clarify a few points about the MXO2.

It's a portable, lightweight (under 3 1/2 pounds) I/O box with the ability to scale (up/down/cross) in realtime.

It has SDI (HD/SD), Component (HD/SD), HDMI (HD/SD), composite and y/c inputs and outputs for video.
On the audio side there's 8 channels I/O in the SDI an the HDMI stream. 2 XLR in, 4 out, 2 rca in, 6 out, 2 channels AES/EBU in, 2 channels out.
You can see it all here: http://www.matrox.com/video/media/pd..._datasheet.pdf


Concerning the codecs supported by the MXO2, it supports whatever QuickTime will support on your system.
For the specific case of ProRes on the MacBook Pro, you should be able to playback without any issue with a 2.4Ghz or faster CPU, but capturing on a laptop with ProRes isn't going to work with the current MacBook Pros. They aren't fast enough. It will work however on the Mac Pro for capture to ProRes with the MXO2.

If there's any questions I'll see if I can help out.


cheers,

Joe




Joseph Trepanier
Product Specialist
Matrox Video Products Group
Joe Trepanier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2008, 10:58 AM   #21
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Utrecht, NL | Europe 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 612
Hi Joseph,

Now we have you on the line... Will Matrox develop Windows drivers for the MXO2 or is that not feasible?

Regards,
George/
George Kroonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2008, 10:37 AM   #22
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 276
Images: 2
Joe,

Can the macbook pros capture live via the HD-SDI anything from the MXO2/EX1 combo? That's what I was really looking forward to using it for, was to leverage the uncompressed signal out. Is it drive speed issues or the processors themselves?
Jeremy Hughes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2008, 02:36 PM   #23
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Utrecht, NL | Europe 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 612
EX1 to MBP via HD-SDI is what Matrox demo-ed at their NAB stand; pretty much designed for it.

George/
George Kroonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2008, 02:38 PM   #24
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 276
Images: 2
Did you see them capturing off of it by chance? What were they capturing into?
Jeremy Hughes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2008, 02:46 PM   #25
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Utrecht, NL | Europe 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 612
You can capture in anything that can use a QT source like FCP, or if you must iMovie I suppose.

Also ScopeBox should work, but we're getting ahead a bit again. Will know for sure when it's out.

George/
George Kroonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2008, 03:28 PM   #26
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 795
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy Hughes View Post
Joe,

Can the macbook pros capture live via the HD-SDI anything from the MXO2/EX1 combo? That's what I was really looking forward to using it for, was to leverage the uncompressed signal out. Is it drive speed issues or the processors themselves?
For uncompressed the issue would be drive speed - theoretically it's possible to connect an external SATA array to a macbook which is fast enough to capture uncompressed HD. In practice though it won't work with the MXO2 because you only have one expresscard slot so you can't have both the array and the MXO2 connected simultaneously.

For compression like ProRes the issue is processor speed. You could have both the MXO2 and a fw800 array connected and that should be fast enough to capture ProResHQ but the macbook's processor has to be able to encode it in real-time and currently can't. This setup should work for uncompressed SD though.

In fact, currently I don't see any real practical setup using this for HD capture in the field with a macbook. Maybe you could do DVCProHD in real time, but in that case why not just shoot on a panasonic camera?

Of course this all changes if there's new macbooks on the way...
__________________
My latest short documentary: "Four Pauls: Bring the Hat Back!"
Evan Donn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2008, 03:36 PM   #27
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Central Florida
Posts: 762
So would the Aja IO be able to capture HD-SDI output from the EX1 and dump it to HD? IIRC, the IO does the ProRes 422 encode inside the box with its' own hardware encoder instead of relying on the speed/power of the MacBook Pro, correct? I was excited about the MXO2 originally, but now.....not so much.
Dave Morrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2008, 04:01 PM   #28
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 276
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Morrison View Post
So would the Aja IO be able to capture HD-SDI output from the EX1 and dump it to HD? IIRC, the IO does the ProRes 422 encode inside the box with its' own hardware encoder instead of relying on the speed/power of the MacBook Pro, correct? I was excited about the MXO2 originally, but now.....not so much.

Same here, I'm really disappointed about that one I'd have to say. I'm in need of the ability to capture in the field the 422... guess that moves me back to looking at the IO and what to do with its need for a plug... unless of course my macbook can... but doesnt sound like it.
Jeremy Hughes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2008, 01:00 PM   #29
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dorval, Québec
Posts: 5
hi guys,

At this time there are no drivers in the works for the MXO2. Whether there will be in the future, I cannot say, I guess it would depend on market demand. What software would you want to use it with?



As for the issue of uncompressed/ProRes and general use on a MacBook Pro.
Yes it is true that full 1920x1080 uncompressed or ProRes isn't possible with the current generation of laptops, who knows what options the next generation will provide, but all of it is supported on the Mac Pro.
That being said, if you're working in a digital format such as XDCAM Ex, HDV, DVCPRO HD or P2 then you can transfer directly in to the laptop via firewire and if that wasn't acceptable you could capture via SDI or component to DVCPRO HD.
Keep in my guys that the MXO2 is still in testing and we cannot provide a complete and accurate image of what will and will not work right now. When the testing is complete and the MXO2 is released we will be in a better position to give you all this info.


cheers,

Joe
Joe Trepanier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2008, 01:55 PM   #30
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 188
I have captured into prores 422 from the SDI port of an EX1 at 60i. This was with the latest 17" MBP with an eSATA 2 drive RAID.

-Sean
Sean Donnelly is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:23 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network