Mxo2 = Woot at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 30th, 2008, 10:21 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 1,562
Mxo2 = Woot

http://www.matrox.com/video/en/products/mxo2

Nuff said.
__________________
Director/Editor - MDMA Ltd: Write, Shoot, Edit, Publish - mattdavis.pro
EX1 x2, C100 --> FCPX & PPro6

Last edited by Matt Davis; May 30th, 2008 at 11:53 AM.
Matt Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2008, 10:34 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Central Florida
Posts: 762
You're a man of few words, Matt. ;)
Dave Morrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2008, 12:11 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 1,562
I don't want to spoil the moment, but...

- Downconvert in hardware
- SDI to MBP, record SD from HD
- RT 720 to PAL/NTSC O/P
- Upconvert in hardware
- 720p60 to 1080p25
- Monitor on-screen in hardware
- Work in ProRez
- And it goes on. I've deleted my rant.

A while back, I dumped an entire Avid suite and replaced it with an AJA IO and FCP. Suddenly everything worked, we could ingest and output BetaSP, work at 4:2:2 even from DV sources (ingest DV using S-Video using DV50 - hey, it looked nicer), even bring in the occasional digiBeta. We did great work with that suite after sweating some petty stuff before.

Well, I feel like I'm sweating petty stuff again (or, more realistically, petting the sweaty stuff) in the SD-HD transition, and this box may well be the same enabler that the AJA was.

Not to diss the new AJA box - it's just that the MXO2 is MBP sized, battery powered (sorta) and most importantly works with my EX1 rather than the Red I Do Not Have.

There's only one point I'd have to draw attention to: the old MXO did not display fields correctly, so you couldn't spot field ordering problems on an LCD (an issue that's bitten me on the bum a couple of times - thank you LiveType). I hope the new MXO2 does what the Matrox cards did on the PC which is display field ordering problems by showing interlaced video at 50p. You can see problems then. And at the same time, get converted to shooting Progressive for data delivery.
__________________
Director/Editor - MDMA Ltd: Write, Shoot, Edit, Publish - mattdavis.pro
EX1 x2, C100 --> FCPX & PPro6
Matt Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2008, 12:12 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 1,562
I prefer the original message:

Nuff said.
__________________
Director/Editor - MDMA Ltd: Write, Shoot, Edit, Publish - mattdavis.pro
EX1 x2, C100 --> FCPX & PPro6
Matt Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2008, 02:25 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 172
I see it says that it's a great solution for both MBP's and Mac Pro's. But does it work with iMacs?
Tyler Franco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2008, 02:37 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Utrecht, NL | Europe 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 612
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyler Franco View Post
But does it work with iMacs?
No, it needs a Mac with either a PCIe expansion slot (Mac Pro) or an ExpressCard slot (Macbook Pro).

George/
George Kroonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2008, 03:03 PM   #7
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Daviss View Post
Yeah... I saw this thing at the FCP Supermeet during NAB. Matrox was there showing it off. Very nice piece of hardware.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2008, 03:57 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 172
Thanks George!
Tyler Franco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2008, 01:11 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 28
Will this convert live uncompressed from the EX1 SDI to the MacBook Pro in ProRes for capture?
Mike Testin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2008, 02:15 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 1,562
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Testin View Post
Will this convert live uncompressed from the EX1 SDI to the MacBook Pro in ProRes for capture?
I don't own one yet, but in regard to the communication from Matrox, I believe this to be precisely what it's good at. Amongst many other things.

Could do with one right now, in fact.
__________________
Director/Editor - MDMA Ltd: Write, Shoot, Edit, Publish - mattdavis.pro
EX1 x2, C100 --> FCPX & PPro6
Matt Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2008, 04:43 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 795
I was wondering about that too - as far as I can tell it's just passing the uncompressed signal through to the processor which then handles the compression in whatever format you want to use... that's where it differs from something like the IO which has prores in hardware. So I guess the real question is can a macbook pro do realtime prores encoding from uncompressed?
__________________
My latest short documentary: "Four Pauls: Bring the Hat Back!"
Evan Donn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2008, 06:05 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 898
check out ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evan Donn View Post
I was wondering about that too - as far as I can tell it's just passing the uncompressed signal through to the processor which then handles the compression in whatever format you want to use... that's where it differs from something like the IO which has prores in hardware. So I guess the real question is can a macbook pro do realtime prores encoding from uncompressed?
ScopeBox monitor/record software for Mac.
Dean Harrington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2008, 06:55 PM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,195
If I now convert HDV (from my Z1's, next to my EX1) to DVD, in Compressor, it can take a while. I remember rendering for 13 hours for a 2 hour show, in the preset Best Quality 120 minutes, on a Macbook Pro. How long would it take with such a card, would it improve speeds?
Or am I misunderstanding things?
Mathieu Ghekiere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2008, 11:26 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 898
recording ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathieu Ghekiere View Post
If I now convert HDV (from my Z1's, next to my EX1) to DVD, in Compressor, it can take a while. I remember rendering for 13 hours for a 2 hour show, in the preset Best Quality 120 minutes, on a Macbook Pro. How long would it take with such a card, would it improve speeds?
Or am I misunderstanding things?
If you are going to capture HD/SDI camera out into Mac via MXO2, you would be recording Apple HiRes 4.2.2 out of the MXO2 as direct capture. You are not capturing HDV but HD.
these are the specs.
"Realtime hardware up/down/cross conversion

Matrox MXO2 lets you deliver in any format your clients demand. The 10-bit hardware scaling provides high-quality mastering.

HD to SD downscaling
Matrox MXO2 provides realtime HD to SD downscaling so that you can monitor or record an SD master of your HD project in real time. Proper conversion of the HD color space to the SD color space and proper aspect ratio conversion to anamorphic, letterbox, and center cut are supported.

SD to HD upscaling
Matrox MXO2 provides realtime SD to HD upscaling with proper conversion of the SD color space to the HD color space.

Cross conversion
Matrox MXO2 offers realtime cross conversions from 720 to 1080 and 1080 to 720. Realtime frame rate conversion is also supported with the following cadences – 2:3:2:3, 2:3:3:2, and 2:2:2:4. This feature is useful if, for example, your source material is recorded at a different frame rate or resolution than the delivery format your client requires. It also facilitates monitoring when, for example, you need to work with 23.98 fps footage but your monitor does not support that frame rate. You can use MXO2’s realtime frame rate conversion to view your project at 29.97 fps."
http://www.matrox.com/video/en/produ...o2/conversion/
Dean Harrington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2008, 02:45 AM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Utrecht, NL | Europe 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 612
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathieu Ghekiere View Post
How long would it take with such a card, would it improve speeds? Or am I misunderstanding things?
The MXO2 is not a hardware accelerator card but an Input/Output device that interfaces with your Mac Pro or MacBook Pro.

Your Compressor workflow would not gain any speed.

George/
George Kroonder is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:55 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network