Help needed, can't convert to mxf at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 7th, 2008, 03:05 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
Help needed, can't convert to mxf

I need some advice.
I did a shoot today, i've got about 110 clips on one 8gb card.
The clips play fine in clipbrowser.
When i try to convert to mxf i'm getting the message

Conversion error occcurred .Conversion Aborted

so i click ok then i get another message pop-up

Condition Failure-Non Real Time Metadata XML validation-Details
Error in non-real time metadata content (invalid string)
@DataTypes/AudioPortType.h:594

This only happens for clips numbered 1168-1178
clips 1179-1278 are ok.

I went through the clips individually importing until i found the clips which wouldn't convert.
But as i said, they all play fine in clip browser.

Help please.

Paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2008, 03:16 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
I see you're using Vegas, which isn't capable of importin/reading the EX1's native MP4's - therefore you must use the Clip Browser to re-wrap your clips. Perhaps you could give it a try, and download the trial version of Edius 4.61, which can read both mxf's and mp4?
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2008, 03:26 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
Hi Piotr, i'm using clip browser, i've done the rewrap proccess loads of times, never without problems.

I just watched the clips again in clip browser and there's only audio coming out of one speaker properly on my desktop when stereo is selected on the clip browser preview window, however when i change it to monaural i only get audio when "2" is selected, when i select "1" the audio is very faint.

Now if i remember correctly i had the wireless reciever in xlr input 1 but the receiver was switched off at the time, i was still waiting for the groom to be laved, so i was recording audio through the gun mic on xlr 2.
Surely this shouldn't stop the whole clip(s) from being rewrapped ?

Thanks.
Paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2008, 03:38 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Kellett View Post
Surely this shouldn't stop the whole clip(s) from being rewrapped ?
Certainly not, Paul. It's almost impossible to diagnose this kind of problem remotely - like yourself (until now), I've never had any re-wrapping problems with Clip Browser, either. This is why I'm suggesting to try and bypass the whole rewrapping stage by using an NLE which can read native MP4's (after all, even those successfully re-wrapped clips are probably going to be edited and rendered out into some common delivery format, so you could do just the same, only starting from MP4 instead of MXF for those clips you're having problem with.

Another thing that crossed my mind is this: you're saying all the clips are physically on a single card. Are you sure you didn't inadvertently press the slot switching button while shooting? Just check the other card; if there is anything in it use the Clip Browser to copy its content into the folder - if indeed the offending clips have been split between the two cards, Clip Browser will stitch them for you.

Just a thought, though.
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2008, 08:15 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Decatur, GA
Posts: 198
Maybe try and convert them in MPEG Streamclip... it does a great job converting files.

Windows and Mac versions available
http://www.squared5.com/
__________________
Sony EX1 v1.11, crap loads of SxS, Macs w/ Final Cut Studio
Andrew Hollister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2008, 10:17 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
Andrew, thanks, i'll have a look at that.

Piotr, all the clips are definately on the same card.
I can watch the clips in camera or clip browser, no problems at all.
It's just the rewrapping of the first 10 clips won't happen.

Thinking back now, the receiver may have been switched on, i was just waiting for the transmitter on the groom to be switched on, the audio input was on external for both channels with the menu set to not linked, ie ch1/ch2, receiver was on channel 1, gun on channel 2.
When i heard the grooms mic become live i then switched the cam's audio input to ch1, form this point on all the clips imported/rewrapped ok.
Looking at the error message i had does say something about the audio port.
It's like clip browser is saying if i don't give it all info,ie 2 audio and 1 video then it won't let me have anything.
The ironic thing is that the audio from these offending clips won't even be used because music will be used instead.

As regards finding an NLE which reads the raw files, i hear that the next vegas update will allow this. This update is soon i think/hope.

My only other option is to capture the old fashioned way.

Thanks guys.

Paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2008, 11:41 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
Problem overcome.
Captured the old fashioned way.

Be good to get the vegas update so no rewrapping in needed.

Thanks to Piotr and Andrew for the help.

Paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2008, 01:34 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
Ok i've just done extensive testing to try an replicate the problem again.
The problem only happens when i use the camera's internal mic or mics.

for example, if i have the gun in external 1 and internal mic 2 picking up some ambient or whatever then i can't rewrap.
If i use both internal mics i can't rewrap.

Could this be a clip browser problem ?
The sound is there when i'm watching clip browser, i just can't rewrap.

Or could this be a camera problem ?

Paul
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2008, 01:54 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
Ok i'm having loads of fun here talking to myself.

Ha ha only joking.

I just remembered that i have clip browser also installed on my laptop.

So i did the rewrap on that and it went ok, so it must be a problem with my main pc.

So now i'll do an uninstall and reinstall of clip browser.
Be back here soon to talk to myself .

Paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2008, 02:35 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
Sorted

Reinstall of clip browser.

Paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2008, 03:13 PM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Kellett View Post
Ok i'm having loads of fun here talking to myself.
Paul, even though it might look like it, you're actually being listened to. Quite an important experience for all of us - thanks for sharing!
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2008, 03:37 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
Yes i know Piotr, i was only joking.
I was hoping it might give some members a laugh that's all.
I know members are looking and i hope my experience with this little problem might help someone else one day.

Just a note to myself, and others, i'm now going to keep a copy of the clip browser install file on my laptop.
Imagine if this would've happened when on a shoot.
At least i can uninstall and then reinstall clip browser again now.
I had no problem copying files but couldn't rewrap some offending clips.
Imagine if i had to hand over some MXF files to someone else at the end of a shoot.
I did a shoot once when someone bought a portable hard-drive along, so i just rewrapped and gave them the footage.

Paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:07 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network