Pro res or xdcam native? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 8th, 2008, 09:16 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London
Posts: 9
Pro res or xdcam native?

Hi guys,

I just wanted to get a general opinion from those who have been working with this footage a little longer than i have.

I have always worked under the philosophy that any re-encode is a bad re-encode in the case of keeping the footage as high quality as possible. I therefore have been assembling in final cut and then using automatic duck/FCPtoAE to move to AE without any re-encode and doing my post and online straight out of there. Do you think that this is better than working in Pro res?

All feedback is appreciated.

Many thanks,

Nick
Nick Papworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 9th, 2008, 02:02 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 795
Stu Maschwitz makes a pretty good case for doing your post in a 10bit format (even if your source is 8bit) in the DV Rebels Guide - essentially rendering back to a higher bitrate codec preservers the original information better and can reduce banding, etc which can appear during color correction. So in your case it would probably make sense to go ProRes with your edited material before doing post in AE (assuming you aren't doing anything in your NLE that requires rendering).
__________________
My latest short documentary: "Four Pauls: Bring the Hat Back!"
Evan Donn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 9th, 2008, 03:23 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
It really depends on what your are doing with the footage. Any re-encoding to a different codec will add artifacts, you might not see them, but they will be there. If a large proportion of you edit is cuts only then I would recommend staying in Native XDCAM mpeg as a large part of the programme won't need any re-encoding. If you are doing a lot of grading or effects then I would work with the native XDCAM in the timeline and encode to pro-res.
__________________
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2008, 04:26 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 210
Hi,

Going to prores will "soften" the image a bit. But you go to 10 bits 422, which is good if you need a lot of FX.
In fact, as far as I know, you can use the xdcam footage in the timeline, and setthe "rendering" to prores. this way, you don't have to re-encode the untouched footages and, if you apply filter, it goes pro-res natively.
Finaly, I always re-encode to proress the footage I need to work with in After Effect.

Maybe someone else will have an experience on this ?
__________________
DoP, Video/Camera assistant
http://www.lecentre.net/blog
Sebastien Thomas is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:17 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network