30p-to-24p timeline for slowdown in FCP at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 9th, 2008, 09:25 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wellington, CO
Posts: 26
30p-to-24p timeline for slowdown in FCP

I decided to shoot some footage in 1080/30p thinking I could plop it into a 24p timeline and get a slight slow-down of motion. The audio is not a factor. Unfortunately, for the life of me, I can't figure out how to do it in FCP 6 nor have any web searches yielded the answer.

I guess basically what I want to do is trash the 30 fps timecode and remap all the frames to 24 fps. So if I have 10 second clip @ 30 fps (300 frames), I'd like to utilize all 300 frames in a 24 fps timeline, which would make the clip 12.5 seconds. Instead, FCP keeps the time length the same and just drops frames, which looks like crap. I've tried fussing with all the project, sequence, and user settings I can find, but none seem to change the way FCP places clips on a track.

Please help, I'm hoping it's pretty simple and doesn't require special Motion filtering. Even if I were to use Motion to enlongate the clip, I'm betting the FCP would send the frame-dropped version instead of the original, which wouldn't help.
Justin VanAlstyne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2008, 08:26 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 382
Justin, you will want to dig into the Compressor Manual Chapter 20 and specifically to work with the "Frame Controls" to retime your project. It's a good thing that you are willing to forego the audio because I've not had any success with keeping sync when the video is retimed.

Alternately you could also try Cinema Tools to do a reverse telecine. Again more digging around in that manual to find a workflow that will work for you. I find it easier to work with Compressor. In any case good luck and next time plan ahead to avoid the nasty. Cheers!
Barry J. Anwender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2008, 12:08 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wellington, CO
Posts: 26
Barry, thanks. That's not the solution I was hoping for. That requires a total rerender. However, it does work. What a pain though; I guess in the future I'll stick to 24p.

I really wish the EX1 had a 1080/60p option that would allow slow-mo at 24 fps. I guess the bandwidth just isn't there.

-J
Justin VanAlstyne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2008, 09:59 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Posts: 3,777
I believe you can do this in Cinema Tools without recompress. Basically it remaps and saves. I haven't done this myself but others have and say it works.

I would have shot 1080p24 and overcranked to 30 (max at 1080) especially if audio isn't important. Not sure why you didn't do that.
Craig Seeman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:33 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network