IR Remote "off" with EX3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 6th, 2008, 10:10 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Grass Valley, California
Posts: 348
IR Remote "off" with EX3

For some reason, the IR remote turns off in the menu. Anyone else have this issue with the EX3? I turned it on last night and today it was off. All other menu settings seem to be holding.
Larry Huntington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2008, 10:22 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff, Wales, UK
Posts: 410
Just checked my EX1, it forgets when the camera is switched off and back on again. Since many people's remotes don't seem to work I suppose it is not a big issue! thought Sony may have fixed it on the EX3.
Bruce Rawlings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2008, 10:32 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Grass Valley, California
Posts: 348
Why don't they work? For an $8400 camera, I expect not to have to go into the menu to turn the IR remote every time I want to use my remote. Hopefully a firmware update will resolve this soon.
Larry Huntington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2008, 11:48 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 126
I think I remember it actually saying that the remote option turns off every time you turn off the camera. So I guess for Sony it's a "feature".
Rick Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2008, 11:59 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Grass Valley, California
Posts: 348
A pretty ridiculous feature in my opinion.
Larry Huntington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2008, 02:41 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff, Wales, UK
Posts: 410
Because the remote (if it functions) only works when in front of the camera it is not much of a feature.
Bruce Rawlings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2008, 02:46 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Grass Valley, California
Posts: 348
I thought that was a bummer as well. There should be an IR sensor on the front and the back of the camera.
Larry Huntington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2008, 02:47 AM   #8
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Fellows, it's supposed to work this way. Works the same way on my F350. The reason is because it is assumed that you might be doing work on a professional level with this camera. That being said, you don't want an 'inadvertent' IR command to be responded to by the camera (like, STOP, in the middle of an important shot). Therefore, you have to consciously enable the IR function every time the camera is powered on. On the F350, I can assign it to one of the assignable buttons so that I can turn it on or off as needed. But it still defaults to off every time the camera is powered up.

In a crude but related way, think of this feature like you would the safety on a gun.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2008, 02:57 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Grass Valley, California
Posts: 348
Thanks Greg,
I totally agree with your argument. I just feel if they want to continue on assumptions in their programming, then I may loose more on features that I require. Perhaps more options in the menu to cover for these assumptions is the way to go.
Larry Huntington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2008, 07:24 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Boston View Post
The reason is because it is assumed that you might be doing work on a professional level with this camera. That being said, you don't want an 'inadvertent' IR command to be responded to by the camera (like, STOP, in the middle of an important shot).

Greg is exactly right. I'd rather have it off until I really need it.
Steven Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2008, 08:47 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff, Wales, UK
Posts: 410
Greg I totally agree with your reasoning, personally I don't use the remote for anything serious but in my case it would be nice if it worked at all.
Bruce Rawlings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2008, 09:53 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: UK 50i/25p Land
Posts: 103
I would think a simple f/w update could add a secondary option in the menu...

IR at power up = NO CHANGE(Last state) // OFF // ALWAYS ON

Of course, like most here, I also prefer to 'have it off' ;)
__________________
Play to Learn,
Learn to Earn,
Earn to Play...

Dave - Broader Pictures
Dave Elston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2008, 10:09 AM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Elston View Post
IR at power up = NO CHANGE(Last state) // OFF // ALWAYS ON
With these three options though, you would have to visit the menu TWICE to get the current functionality :)
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2008, 10:29 AM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: UK 50i/25p Land
Posts: 103
Hi Piotr,

To clarify, the current ON/OFF commander option would still override the power-up option.
This would just need to be a sub-menu option that tells the EX1/3 IR receiver how you would prefer it to behave when you power cycle the camera. Same principle as with most PC's BIOS 'on-power-loss' setting.
__________________
Play to Learn,
Learn to Earn,
Earn to Play...

Dave - Broader Pictures
Dave Elston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2008, 01:09 PM   #15
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Thomas View Post
Greg is exactly right. I'd rather have it off until I really need it.
I'd prefer that you could turn it off/on in the menu. Then, as you'd like, it would be always off until you switch it on in the menu.

BTW, my remote doesn't work even when I switch on the IR menu command and point the remote at the front of the camera. The battery may have gone sour. I would have preferred a AAA battery that is easier to replace. The cutesy remote is almost too small to use. I wish Sony stuck with the size of the Z1 remote. Though, on the plus side, I do like the "joystick" pad on the EX1 remote. Too bad they didn't use the same control on the camera instead of the protruding joystick that requires a high degree of finger accuracy to maneuver.
Gints Klimanis is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:40 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network