Help with Avid Express and mxf files at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 18th, 2008, 11:19 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
Help with Avid Express and mxf files

I've sent some files off to an editor, who is using Avid Express Pro HD, the problem is with the clips which span 2 cards, he can't import them.
I rewrapped them to mxf, all the short unspanning clips are ok, it's just the long clips that are the problem.
He's using a pc.

Can anyone give me some advice to pass on ?
Thanks.
Paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2008, 04:45 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 462
Did you join the clips in Clip Browser before you rewrapped to MXF or did you revrap the individual source clips?
Ola Christoffersson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2008, 03:52 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
I think i worked it out.
I gave my colleague some files which where not spanned which were then passed onto the editor on dvd's, these were where the files got spanned across 2 dvds i think, so not the situation which originally thought. Problem solved now.

What do you mean when you say "join the clips in clip browser before rewrapping" ?
If a clip spans 2 cards and i can only see one card in clip browser then how can i join the 2 halves of a clip when they're on 2 cards ?

Paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2008, 05:20 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Kellett View Post
What do you mean when you say "join the clips in clip browser before rewrapping" ?
If a clip spans 2 cards and i can only see one card in clip browser then how can i join the 2 halves of a clip when they're on 2 cards ?

Paul.

This is how I do it:
After shooting, I copy all the cards to a harddrive using Clip Browser. I use the same destination folder, that way Clip Browser will join the spanned clips into one. I then export the joined clip as MXF. That way I can have very long clips in one MXF-file to later import in the Avid.
Ola Christoffersson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2008, 07:38 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 337
Ola,

What type of PC are you using with Media COmposer? I have to build a new PC for my media composer as the old one is not up to working with 1920 x 1080 35mbs files from the EX1. I just thought I would see what you were using and how you were working in MC V3 with the EX?

Any help is much appreciated.
__________________
Graeme
Graeme Fullick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2008, 07:53 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ola Christoffersson View Post
This is how I do it:
After shooting, I copy all the cards to a harddrive using Clip Browser. I use the same destination folder, that way Clip Browser will join the spanned clips into one. I then export the joined clip as MXF.
And this is exactly how it should be done. Pity the Shotput Express designers didn't grasp on this concept; the utility creates separate folder for each card, thus enforcing the additional step of using Clip Browser to just copy it again in order to stitch the chunks..
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2008, 03:16 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by Piotr Wozniacki View Post
And this is exactly how it should be done. Pity the Shotput Express designers didn't grasp on this concept; the utility creates separate folder for each card, thus enforcing the additional step of using Clip Browser to just copy it again in order to stitch the chunks..
Ah - but that can be solved much easier! Just use the "combine folders" under the clip-menu in Clip Browser and it combines the folders you select into one folder without copying the material. Very quick!
Ola Christoffersson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2008, 03:37 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graeme Fullick View Post
Ola,

What type of PC are you using with Media COmposer? I have to build a new PC for my media composer as the old one is not up to working with 1920 x 1080 35mbs files from the EX1. I just thought I would see what you were using and how you were working in MC V3 with the EX?

Any help is much appreciated.
I built my computer in january using the components listed below. It has no problems what so ever with any resolutions that come out of the EX1. Actually my Dell Vostro 1400 laptop with a dual core 2.2 GHz processor and 2 Gig RAM plays 1080p material at full resolution as well. I am using MC ver.3 on both systems.

Gigabyte P35-DS4
Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 775 1333FSB 3.0GHz 4MB
1066 MHz, 4GB
WESTERN DIGITAL RAPTOR 150GB 10000RPM SATA (System drive)
ANTEC MIDITOWER P182B GUN METAL BLACK
Corsair HX Series Modular Power Supply 520W
Samsung DVD±RW 20x DL SATA Svart Bulk Nero (Vista)
Nvidia 8600 graphic card.

Of course this was eight months ago. Today some components should probably be replaced. Anyhow - this could be a starting point for you.

Good luck building your computer!
Ola Christoffersson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 21st, 2008, 02:34 PM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ola Christoffersson View Post
Ah - but that can be solved much easier! Just use the "combine folders" under the clip-menu in Clip Browser and it combines the folders you select into one folder without copying the material. Very quick!
Never tried this approach, Ola - do you mean you can - say -use Shotput Express to copy each card to a separate folder, and then simply merge all the folders (comprising a project) into one of them (e.g. the first one), thus making Clip Browser merge any split or spanned clips?

I guess I should RTFM sometimes :)
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 21st, 2008, 03:24 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by Piotr Wozniacki View Post
Never tried this approach, Ola - do you mean you can - say -use Shotput Express to copy each card to a separate folder, and then simply merge all the folders (comprising a project) into one of them (e.g. the first one), thus making Clip Browser merge any split or spanned clips?

I guess I should RTFM sometimes :)
That's exactly what I mean! Mind you - I think I have only yet tried doing this with clips that were not spanned. It might have to copy at least the spanned clips but not necessarily. Give it a try and report back.
Ola Christoffersson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2008, 01:35 PM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
OK guys - it indeed combines split files this way, and very fast, too; in fact a bit too fast for me to completely trust it does it completely seamless. I have a VERY important, 3 cameras, 2 day project and LOTS of separate folders from ShotPut EXpress; it'd be great to merge them this way - but the files are just too long to check in Vegas how good the merging is...

Can anyone assure me it's the same, seamless quality as when you just copy spanned/split clips to a single folder, when they get merged really seamlessly?
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:11 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network