EX3 & Shooting 2.35 Cinemascope Aspect Ratio at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 20th, 2008, 07:57 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Fracisco, CA
Posts: 49
EX3 & Shooting 2.35 Cinemascope Aspect Ratio

Hi everyone. This is my second (fabulous) day with my EX3... what a joy this camera is to use when compared to my EX1 :) I have a usability question that is totally childish and may have been answered before, but here goes anyway:

I will shooting starting next week a series of making of videos with the EX3 for an Audi Commercial Shoot in Germany with the EX3. I was requested by the producer that he wants the making of video to match the 2.35 Cinemascope Aspect Ratio they are also using to shoot the actual commercial (on 35mm film). So the image size will be 1920x817.

As I will be hand holding the camera most of the time, what is my best option to frame (and mask) the 2.35 Aspect Ratio on the viewfinder and then, how to properly do the cropping (masking) when editing?

I am thinking (which I tried today as its a 1/2 a...s solution but it works) on simply masking the viewfinder's LCD screen with tape (since its really large and I have space around it to do so). But as far as the editing goes, I typically use Vegas 8 or Premier CS3, what are the best usability and workflow options for me to edit the footage while viewing the correct masked aspect ratio? I don't want to edit with the full 16:9 frame nor to render all clips masked to 2.35 before actually starting to edit.

Thanks in advance for your input! :)

Lorry
Lorry Smyth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2008, 08:34 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Utrecht, NL | Europe 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 612
I don't like tape on my LCD, but I have taped some (white) yarn across the screen at some point to work as a guide.

You could use FFMPEG to crop the top and bottom of your frame before editing, but if you want to do some reframing you'd be better off sticking to the media as is and just create you project in the correct size/aspect ratio.

George/
George Kroonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2008, 09:03 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Decatur, GA
Posts: 198
Maybe the iPhone screen protection sticky stuff? Something like this: Amazon.com: Apple Iphone PDA Premium Reusable LCD Screen Protector with Lint Cleaning Cloth: Cell Phones & Service with a fine tip sharpie marking your 2.35

It may affect LCDs colour, but if you are on a commercial shoot, I'd imagine you are externally monitoring?

Just a pre-coffee crazy idea
__________________
Sony EX1 v1.11, crap loads of SxS, Macs w/ Final Cut Studio
Andrew Hollister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2008, 09:08 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Fracisco, CA
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hollister View Post
Maybe the iPhone screen protection sticky stuff? Something like this: Amazon.com: Apple Iphone PDA Premium Reusable LCD Screen Protector with Lint Cleaning Cloth: Cell Phones & Service with a fine tip sharpie marking your 2.35

It may affect LCDs colour, but if you are on a commercial shoot, I'd imagine you are externally monitoring?

Just a pre-coffee crazy idea
Andrew, great pre-coffee crazy idea:) Usually this early I cannot even focus straight :)
Lorry Smyth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2008, 11:16 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 596
I also use Vegas 8 and Premiere Pro and I would simply import the footage into Vegas (my preferred environment) and set up the project accordingly. You could also apply any cropping/resizing necessary to the video track.
__________________
Sony EX3, Vegas 9.0 64bit, Windows 7(64), Core i7, 12GB, RAID1 & 0, HotSwap SATA, 30" LCD(2560x1600)-GTX285 & 24" LCD(1360x768)-7800GT
Ted OMalley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2008, 11:21 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Fracisco, CA
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted OMalley View Post
I also use Vegas 8 and Premiere Pro and I would simply import the footage into Vegas (my preferred environment) and set up the project accordingly. You could also apply any cropping/resizing necessary to the video track.
Yes, agreed. I use vegas more than before but have so many thousands of hours (and plug-in libraries) for Premier than making the full switch to vegas has been a tough choice :)
Lorry Smyth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2008, 04:35 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 898
Love to see ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lorry Smyth View Post
Yes, agreed. I use vegas more than before but have so many thousands of hours (and plug-in libraries) for Premier than making the full switch to vegas has been a tough choice :)
The footage when you are done!
Dean Harrington is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:06 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network