ClipBrowser does superb HD-->SD Downconvert - Page 5 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 13th, 2008, 02:36 PM   #61
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Worcester. United Kingdom
Posts: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by William Urschel View Post
Andy.......... So very briefly, I am as ready as you to be rid of the EX-1 for DVDs..
I'm sorry to hear of your current personal problems but when you are able, check out the Sony Z7 - it's got most of the features of the EX1 (apart from SloMo) but as I said, will record SD and HDV simultaneously.

The more I read about it, the more I like it.
__________________
I taught you all I know and still you know nothing.
Andy Nickless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2008, 04:32 PM   #62
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: near Munich, Bavaria
Posts: 139
Andy, as You wrote, that You gave others footage to work with, meaning to downconvert, I only could offer You to also send me a short clip of that problematic HD footage and I'll try my best to do a SD-DV-Quicktime with my method.

Maybe I am totally wrong, but I've just downconverted a full hd project and I am fully satisfied with the SD quality. But maybe we are really talking about different expectations.

For your example, that Z1 footage worked well and me having also a Z1 it's no wonder to me, as the Z1 is significant softer overall.
That also explains again that blurring the ex1 footage makes better sd downconversion. And that is still the only thing I do.
Getting HD into aftereffects, vertical blur, downres... voila: finest SD footage. :)

Peter
Peter Rixner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2008, 04:39 PM   #63
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Nickless View Post
... check out the Sony Z7 - it's got most of the features of the EX1 (apart from SloMo) but as I said, will record SD and HDV simultaneously.
The more I read about it, the more I like it.
Andy I'm not quite sure this is the best way to go. Check the Z7 forum somewhere round here. I think to remember some posts that there are severe pobs to record SD and HD simultaneously to DV and the CF card. P.
Peter Kraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2008, 05:39 AM   #64
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Dorset UK
Posts: 697
Andy, have you tried using Cinema Craft Encoder MP? I have heard very good reports on it. Rather than using Compressor to do the job, its a compressor plugin but extremely powerful. All the major studios use this compression engine to make their DVDs like Spiderman 3 and Return of the King.

Its not cheap at $799 but the reviews on it say its money well spent. With Compressor you can do two passes, but with Encoder MP you can do up to 99 passes to get the very best dvd.

I have just picked up a legit copy off Ebay (comes with a dongle) for 299.

I'll have it by next week so have a serious play with it. Could well be a solution.

CINEMA CRAFT Encoder SP2 - OMNI-CINEMA CRAFT
Steve Shovlar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2008, 05:53 AM   #65
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Worcester. United Kingdom
Posts: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Kraft View Post
Andy I'm not quite sure this is the best way to go. Check the Z7 forum somewhere round here. I think to remember some posts that there are severe pobs to record SD and HD simultaneously to DV and the CF card. P.
Thanks for the warning Peter.
I'll certainly check that out.
__________________
I taught you all I know and still you know nothing.
Andy Nickless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2008, 05:55 AM   #66
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Worcester. United Kingdom
Posts: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Shovlar View Post
Andy, have you tried using Cinema Craft Encoder MP?
I'll have it by next week so have a serious play with it. Could well be a solution.
CINEMA CRAFT Encoder SP2 - OMNI-CINEMA CRAFT
Never heard of it, Steve but I'll have a look at it (thanks).
__________________
I taught you all I know and still you know nothing.
Andy Nickless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2008, 07:20 AM   #67
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 245
You can d/l a demo version of CCE Basic here: Cinema Craft MPEG Encoders - Convert AVI & Quicktime to MPEG1 & MPEG2 for DVD
Peter Kraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2008, 08:43 AM   #68
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Dorset UK
Posts: 697
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Kraft View Post
There is no demo version of Encoder MP for the Mac.
Steve Shovlar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2008, 09:33 AM   #69
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Shovlar View Post
There is no demo version of Encoder MP for the Mac.
There are demoes of CCE Basic and CCE SP2. Both Win only (no prob with
an Intel Mac and a Virtual Machine like Parallels and Co) to run them on a Mac, though.
Peter Kraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2008, 11:25 AM   #70
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Dorset UK
Posts: 697
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Kraft View Post
There are demoes of CCE Basic and CCE SP2. Both Win only (no prob with
an Intel Mac and a Virtual Machine like Parallels and Co) to run them on a Mac, though.
Peter, do you have any experience with this plugin? I have purchased it blind through reading quite a few good reviews. Wondering if it is money well spent or a waste!
Steve Shovlar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2008, 11:36 AM   #71
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 245
I have not yet bought the plugin but the demoes are the best and fastest encoders i have worked with so far. Will buy the plugin right after New Year (for fiscal reasons have to wait;-)). Let me know your results.
Peter Kraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2008, 01:57 PM   #72
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Dorset UK
Posts: 697
I was going to buy the plugin for mac a couple of months ago buut the pound plummetted aganst the dollar and where it would have cost me 400 it suddenly went up to 530. Luckily I saw a guy selling it on Ebay and got it for 299. he is selling Scenerist Studio 3.1 and another Mpeg encoder called Spruce DVd maestro ( whatever that is) at the moment.

It should be with me this week and providing it works OK ( the lisence will have to be changed over with Cinema Craft and it probably phones home) I will have basic results later on in the week.
Steve Shovlar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2008, 02:35 PM   #73
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 245
Steve Spruce is the prececessor of DVD Studio Pro, Apple bought (spelling?) it, killed the win version, took the engine and gave it a new more mac-like GUI.
299 for the Mac Plugin can't be a bad investment.
Peter Kraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2008, 04:06 PM   #74
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Dorset UK
Posts: 697
OK the Cinema craft Encoder MP plugn DVD and dongle arrived yesterday morning.

It installed very easily and is fully working. Last night I put 20 minutes worth of footage on the timeline and used the Encoder MP through Compressor 3.

I did a 5 pass VBR encode. I am running Intel dual core 3 MHz with 4 Gb Ram. I found encode times were on a par with Compressors, except I did a 5 pass rather than Compressors maximum of two. Each pass is a bit faster than the previous pass, so its not like 1 hour, 1 hour, 1 hour, 1hour, 1 hour.

Results. Really excellent. And this is using basic settings out of the box. I am sure when I fully understand the PDF instruction file, which is NOT written for the layman, I will get even better results.

IMO it looks better than what compressor can produce. I am gooing to do some more testing in the next few days ( wish I could do it tomorrow but a day out with a visit to Father Christmas for my 4 year old, then friends coming a around on Friday and Saturday)

But Cinema Craft Encoder MP looks extremely promising on initial testing.
Steve Shovlar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2008, 04:53 PM   #75
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Nickless View Post
No Dominik, I mean Blur - so bad that if I watch for more than a few seconds, my eyes feel strange.
Why don't you post results you get with your methods together with examples which look great on your tv? I guess it will be possible for us to tell you what you have to do, to let your results look like them.

Last edited by Dominik Seibold; December 17th, 2008 at 06:02 PM.
Dominik Seibold is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:12 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network