i.Link HDV out - ?? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 13th, 2008, 09:36 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 596
i.Link HDV out - ??

Upon receiving my EX3, I actually read the entire manual. I'm not saying that this is some kind of Herculean feat -- It's just something I don't normally do. In doing so, I came across instructions for using the i.Link HDV output for recording.

To paraphrase, one must:

1. Select an SP mode (I chose SP 1080/60i)
2. Enable i.Link I/O (Menu -> Others)
3. Set "Trigger Mode" to "Both" or "External"
4. Prep software for recording (I have done this with Sony Vegas in the past - works well)
5. Set Camera to Camera Mode
6. Press REC Start/Stop button.

This process is not effective in that, for some reason, the i.Link is NEVER recognized by the computer. It is as though the camera is not hooked up. Windows does not provide any indication that a firewire device has been attached. I've tried a couple of cables (ones that I've never had a problem with before), and two different PC's.

I have also tried disabling the HD/SDI output and monitor output, and then disabling and re-enabling the i.Link. If I had to make a guess at this point, I'd guess that the Firewire port is not enabled on my camera.
__________________
Sony EX3, Vegas 9.0 64bit, Windows 7(64), Core i7, 12GB, RAID1 & 0, HotSwap SATA, 30" LCD(2560x1600)-GTX285 & 24" LCD(1360x768)-7800GT
Ted OMalley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2008, 09:53 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 596
Of course, now that I've posted, one of the computers (my notebook) began to work with the camera's i.Link - but I don't know why. I didn't change anything, both PC's run Vista 64-bit and are using Vegas 8.1 64-bit. Hmmm.

Now, on one computer, if I go select File --> Capture Video, and then select HDV, I am connected. I can choose the device by right-clicking, and choosing Device --> IEEE 1394/MPEG2-TS Device --> Sony PMW-EX3. That's right - it fully recognized the camera.

Sadly, there was no preview - just a blue-screen during the capture. However, it did record to the drive and I could then drop the recorded files onto the timeline.

Of course, this is only helpful for some situations when SQ recording is acceptable and going direct to a PC is critical.
__________________
Sony EX3, Vegas 9.0 64bit, Windows 7(64), Core i7, 12GB, RAID1 & 0, HotSwap SATA, 30" LCD(2560x1600)-GTX285 & 24" LCD(1360x768)-7800GT
Ted OMalley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2008, 10:21 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted OMalley View Post
Of course, this is only helpful for some situations when SQ recording is acceptable and going direct to a PC is critical.
Or in my case, going directly to the Firestore I already own, saving me thousands of dollars in SxS card costs. What this effectively allows you to do, is to record 720p to nearly any HDV capable recording source. Whether that be tape, or whatever else. Yes, SQ mode isn't where you'd necessarily want to be, but for talking head work, or other things it's just fine.

Honestly, the new SDHC card option will make this unnecessary in short order.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2008, 10:29 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Perrone, 720p is a HQ mode on the EX1, so you can't ingest it via iLINK.

The only HDV-compatible modes are SP 1080i (50/60/24PsF).
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2008, 10:42 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Piotr Wozniacki View Post
Perrone, 720p is a HQ mode on the EX1, so you can't ingest it via iLINK.

The only HDV-compatible modes are SP 1080i (50/60/24PsF).
Yes, you are correct. I am sorry. Sadly, I am in the midst of a project I just did this with and STILL forgot I ingested at 1440x1080...

It must be Monday!
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:33 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network