XDCam EX and Apple Color at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 22nd, 2008, 12:37 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 12
XDCam EX and Apple Color

I wondered if anyone has a good suggestion for importing XDcam EX footage from Final Cut Pro to Apple Color.
I am having to export the XDcam EX footage as an Apple Pro res format and then put the new format in the timeline before I send to Color.

Can anyone tell me if there is another way to use XDcam EX 1080 25p in Apple Color.

Really appreciate any help on this.

Daniel

Soloist Movies
Daniel Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2008, 01:31 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 60
I have set the render control to "Apple ProRes (HDV or XDCAM HD only)" in the sequence settings. This way when i sent the sequence to Color, i didn't had to transcode. On return from color the color corrected sequence was set to Apple ProRes.
Attached Thumbnails
XDCam EX and Apple Color-01_ex1_sd_young.jpg  
Bhanu Neti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2008, 02:13 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 12
thank you. I tried your suggestion and I had no luck. When I send the sequence to color I get a red envelope on the color timeline and I cant see the footage. I am importing the Xdcam Ex shots to final cut pro from files created by xdcam transfer and have no problem seeing them in Final cut.
Daniel Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2008, 02:38 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 12
I am wonderig if I have the right sequence settings when I'm using Final cut pro and XDcam Ex 1080 25p. I use the Xdcam sequence settings.

Last edited by Daniel Jones; October 22nd, 2008 at 04:32 PM.
Daniel Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2008, 03:00 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 2,053
Daniel...

I use Color all the time. Here's my workflow:

Edit the raw footage into a 6-minute segment.

Media manage the segment to eliminate unused footage. I do this first because Media Manager doesn't work well with a sequence generated by Color.

Send the media-managed sequence to Color. Keep the same XDCam EX format. I don't make any format changes at this time.

Do my color corrections and grading.

Send the rendered Color project back to FCP as an Apple ProRes format sequence.

All the color corrections are being done in XDCam EX. It only goes to the ProRes format when the corrected/graded project is finally rendered by Color.
__________________
Dean Sensui
Exec Producer, Hawaii Goes Fishing
Dean Sensui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2008, 03:42 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 12
thank you. Is Media Manager another programme?

Last edited by Daniel Jones; October 22nd, 2008 at 04:33 PM.
Daniel Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2008, 11:39 AM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 12
XDCAM EX and Apple Color

I am sending a sequence from Final Cut Pro 6.0.2 to Apple Color and still can't see any footage.
All I get is this red envelope.


Please help

Daniel.
Attached Thumbnails
XDCam EX and Apple Color-color.jpg  
Daniel Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2008, 09:25 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 320
Hi Daniel,

Before sending to color check the following, although some of these points shouldnt really effect color it will help diagnose the problem:

Have you applied any effect to the footage?

Is your sequence settings correct? (easy setup, xdcam ex1, create new sequence, import footage)

is your render setting set to pro res or is it set to the default?

Inside color, have you made sure your setup page conforms with the footage?
Daniel Alexander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2008, 04:46 AM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 12
Problem solved!

Thank you for your reply.
After spending many hours tweaking all sorts of places to try and see the xdcam ex footage in color I finally discovered what the problem was.
When I installed Final cut studio 2 I moved all the applications to the dock and the desktop as I would be using them often.
I have just discovered that because they weren't in the applications folder, my mac wasn't updating final cut studio 2.0. And so, I didn't have the latest updates, which is why I couldn't see anything.
After installing all the updates everything works like a dream.
I am so relieved, and I wont take them out of the Applications folder ever again.
thanks again.

Daniel

Soloist Movies
Daniel Jones is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:27 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network