Lost first clip! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 14th, 2008, 07:35 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cambridge MA
Posts: 204
Lost first clip!

I've been shooting with the EX1 for a while now and just lost my first clip. I shot a 90 minutes interview with multiple clips and the third one (14 minutes worth) wasn't recognized by the Clip Browser. It appears as a blank clip with an X on it. It has its own folder - numbered & broken into two folders - but there is a MP4 file only one of them - and it's only 174MB. When I put the card back in the camera, it told me I needed to restore my media which I did.

The clip before it is also damaged. When I play it back, there is a flash frame from yesterday's shoot. This leads me to one of my questions - should I be formatting my card after every shoot? I used to do that routinely until I read that it was better to just delete all clips. Has this topic been exhausted? I can survive without the clip that I lost, but I don't want it to happen again.

I still have the damaged file on my card. I'm assuming there's nothing I can do to get the clip back. Any suggestions as to what I should do? Similar experiences?

Thanks.
__________________
Bill Parker
www.hindsightmedia.net
Bill Parker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2008, 07:50 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cambridge UK
Posts: 2,835
Don't know if this will work..... but you can use the camera to create sub clips of the damaged one and then (just maybe???) only the clip with the 'glitch' in it might be lost and you can use the other bits. Obviously, create smaller sub clips again of the offending clip so you loose the minimum.

I've never done this but it's maybe worth a try. Good luck!
__________________
Andy K Wilkinson - http://www.shootingimage.co.uk
Cambridge (UK) Corporate Video Production
Andy Wilkinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2008, 08:25 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Posts: 3,782
Whenever I get restore clip (which is very rare) I reformat after transferring the clips. I've never lost a clip. Restore always works. When it happens it's while shooting so I've never had to transfer back to camera. If it's the metadata at issue try importing the MP4 in Clip Browser 2 as an "orphan" and let it build new BPAV folder. 14 minutes should be GBs in size.
Craig Seeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2008, 09:02 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cambridge MA
Posts: 204
Thanks for the replies.

I just installed Version 2 - which I didn't even know was out - and it got me back the smaller clip, but not the larger one. It doesn't even show the clip as damaged. It just doesn't recognize it. I can't import the MP4 clip file because there isn't one - all the other stuff from the folder is there:

HSMA0159_01R01.BIM
HSMA0159_01M01.XML
HSMA0159_01I01.PPN
HSMA0159_01.SMI

but no clip.

When I originally restored my media, there was a message that said that not all my clips could be restored. I'm assuming this is the one it was referring to. If the camera can't do it, I'm guessing I can't either.

I wonder if there's a way to translate that information into a clip. Any ideas?
__________________
Bill Parker
www.hindsightmedia.net
Bill Parker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2008, 10:05 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cambridge MA
Posts: 204
Just to add something new & weird. I have a recurring time code problem. In the Clip Browser window, my tc for a certain clip starts at 04:28:56:00. That same clip after I go through XDCAM Transfer starts at 04:42:32:20.

This also happens with other clips - and has happened to me before. It doesn't create problems with my editing - as long as I have everything - but it confuses the hell out of me when I'm trying to figure out what I have and what I don't have. Until now I haven't considered it a big deal, but I'm wondering if my camera is problematic and if it's connected to me losing that clip. Has anyone experienced these tc problems?
__________________
Bill Parker
www.hindsightmedia.net
Bill Parker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2008, 11:44 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Posts: 3,782
You're using XDCAM Transfer 2.7.1 I hope. Versions before 2.7 have several issues with time code.
Craig Seeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2008, 01:38 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cambridge MA
Posts: 204
So that makes two updates I wasn't aware of. Thanks for the tip.

How many of you reformat your cards every time?
__________________
Bill Parker
www.hindsightmedia.net
Bill Parker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2008, 04:47 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 1,430
I always reformat my cards after I offload my clips. I never had any problems for 9 months now. (knock on wood)
Warren Kawamoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2008, 01:36 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 276
I have two cameras that have worked pretty hard over the last year.

Have never lost a clip (touch wood).

We always reformat the cards in the cameras after off loading.

2 x 32 gig cards, 2 x 16 gig cards, 5 x 8 gig cards.

(We have over 5 hours recording on both cameras in SP mode).

Cheers,

Vaughan
Vaughan Wood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2008, 03:02 AM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
Sony Europe have a data recovery department that specialises in recovering lost media from tapes, discs and cards. Don't know if there is anything similar in the US but if the footage is valuable might be worth contacting Sony.
__________________
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2008, 01:51 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 32
Where you using the Sony SxS card or the Kesington combo?

I always reformat on the camera and never had a problem with the Sony SxS cards.
__________________
JB
Jose Bucaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2008, 06:09 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cambridge MA
Posts: 204
I use the Sony SxS cards. I'll definitely go back to reformatting. I'll look into the data recovery idea.

Thanks.
__________________
Bill Parker
www.hindsightmedia.net
Bill Parker is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:48 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network