Soft Focus Problem at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 26th, 2008, 11:24 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Burlington, Wisconsin
Posts: 137
Soft Focus Problem

After using my EX1 in 23 weddings since January it is very clear to me that the focus is soft, whether the ND filters are engaged or not. I calibrated the lens once and I thought that helped a lot. However it seemed to gradually become softer again. I recently calibtrated again, with good results again. I have also found that I must use a small amount of sharpening to achieve a decent look. I have achieved spectacular results at times but many shots are just too soft for me. I have the oldest firmware and as my camera is now almost a year old and has lost paint over several places I msut decide soon whether to send it in to Sony. I can not be without the camera for too long and I have not heard good reports about Sony service. My question is: Will a firmware update help and can I do it myself?

Thanks,

Mervin
Mervin Langley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2008, 12:17 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Portola Valley
Posts: 105
wow. 3 of the same posting is gonna get u in trouble. why dont you do a search next time?
Anyway, yes - sending it to sony will fix paint, soft focus and other well known issues.

there are youtube videos for fixing your backfocus, and yes, I have used them to fix my early ex1... good luck.
Greg Voevodsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2008, 03:01 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 414
Mervin, you will need another EX1 soon. So much better to shoot a wedding with 2 or 3 cameras :) Then you will always have a spare one.
__________________
Sony XDCAM EX1r, Canon 5DMkII, Røde NTG2, Røde NT1000, Røde Stereo Videomic, Sachtler DV6 SB on Gitzo 1325V, Steadicam Merlin, Omnitracker, Hackintosh 3.5Ghz Quad 8Gb RAM
Zsolt Gordos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2008, 03:06 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,268
My focus got much better since I updated to firmware 1.11.
Have you updated it?
Michael Maier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2008, 04:08 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Burlington, Wisconsin
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Maier View Post
My focus got much better since I updated to firmware 1.11.
Have you updated it?
How did you update? Did you send the camera in?

Mervin
Mervin Langley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2008, 04:53 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mervin Langley View Post
How did you update? Did you send the camera in?

Mervin
Yeah you need to send your camera in but it's well worth it.
Michael Maier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2008, 05:13 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 107
1. You can upgrade the firmware yourself, tons of us have done it.

2. It's a backfocus issue, search the forum for it.
Jon Sands is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2008, 06:30 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon Sands View Post
1. You can upgrade the firmware yourself, tons of us have done it.

2. It's a backfocus issue, search the forum for it.
How did you perform the update yourself?
Jason Davenport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2008, 06:43 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,268
Yes you can do it yourself but it's not recommended. I know somebody who messed his camera up trying. I would just send it in.
Michael Maier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2008, 07:02 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Burlington, Wisconsin
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Maier View Post
My focus got much better since I updated to firmware 1.11.
Have you updated it?
How do you do that. Does it have to be sent in?
Mervin Langley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2008, 07:04 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Burlington, Wisconsin
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mervin Langley View Post
How do you do that. Does it have to be sent in?
Sorry about the multiple posts. Somehow I keep getting messages that my attempts at posting have failed but there they are.

Mervin
Mervin Langley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2008, 11:45 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,684
Mervin,
There's no way top help you troubleshoot this problem unless you are much more specific about when you have soft focus problems. Indoors or out? what f stops? wide angle or telephoto? etc.

You should not be having random and changing focus issues with any camera unless something is radically wrong with it.

Are you shooting outdoors with f stops of f8 or higher? If so your pictures will suck because the lens will always be soft. It just doesn't work beyond f8. Back focus issues should only occur when you are wide and have focused at tele then zoomed out and worse at wide open f stops.

Tell us more or don't even bother to post.

Lenny Levy
Leonard Levy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2008, 01:19 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Maier View Post
Yes you can do it yourself but it's not recommended. I know somebody who messed his camera up trying. I would just send it in.

He must be the only one. In fact, I almost don't believe you. Out of the hundreds of members here and on the "other" forum I haven't heard of anyone messing up the upgrade. It's kind of hard to mess up a 6 step process that involves clicking an upgrade button.
Jon Sands is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2008, 04:38 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Burlington, Wisconsin
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon Sands View Post
He must be the only one. In fact, I almost don't believe you. Out of the hundreds of members here and on the "other" forum I haven't heard of anyone messing up the upgrade. It's kind of hard to mess up a 6 step process that involves clicking an upgrade button.
Hi Jon,

What is the procedure? I have had horrible experiences with Sony Service and I am reasonably intelligent so I am willing to consider it.

Mervin
Mervin Langley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2008, 09:54 AM   #15
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Maier View Post
Yes you can do it yourself but it's not recommended. I know somebody who messed his camera up trying. I would just send it in.
Michael, I take this person does not post here or on another forum?
I have never heard of anyone having trouble.

Granted, it should be done by Sony, but it's as easy as pushing a button untill an installation complete appears.
Steven Thomas is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:44 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network