Question About Frame Size at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 14th, 2008, 10:57 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 37
Question About Frame Size

I just recently noticed that when I import footage from Clip Browser that I shot 1080 24p, the actual frame size of the source footage is 1920 x 1080, but when I bring it in FCP, edit it, then export it either with Quick Time or Compressor using the same XDCam EX 1080 24p codec the frame shrinks slightly to 1888 x 1062... why does it do this, and is there any way to keep it from doing this? When I export with ProRes 422 it gives me the full 1920 x 1080 frame.
Dana Rice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2008, 11:38 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 382
Well you perked my interest, so I tried this and posted my results below to ensure that we are on the same page. I used the QuickTime Inspector window to determine the frame sizes. They are all the same full/current frame size of 1920x1080. Do you get the same results when comparing to my clips & various exports?
Attached Thumbnails
Question About Frame Size-fcp-source-clip.jpg  
Attached Images
   
Barry J. Anwender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2008, 12:02 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 37
Here's how mine looks after I export it with QuickTime conversion
Attached Images
 
Dana Rice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2008, 12:21 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 285
It's an archaic thing called "clean aperture". You just have to turn it off in the movie-properties of your clip in the quicktime-player to see the whole frame.
Dominik Seibold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2008, 12:29 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 37
That did the trick... thanks for the help guys!
Dana Rice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2008, 01:23 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominik Seibold View Post
It's an archaic thing called "clean aperture". You just have to turn it off in the movie-properties of your clip in the quicktime-player to see the whole frame.
Dominik,did not find where I can turn that off in my QT player (German).
Care to give me a hint. Thx.
Peter Kraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2008, 01:40 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 37
Peter, go to Window -> Show Movie Properties, then click the Presentation tab
Dana Rice is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:04 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network