Pre-record? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 13th, 2009, 02:53 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 523
Pre-record?

Am I correct that these cameras do not have pre-record?
__________________
Andy Tejral
Railroad Videographer
Andy Tejral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2009, 03:02 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Republic of Vancouver Island
Posts: 200
Not at present, but possible with a future update?
__________________
Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable
from magic. AC Clarke
Bob Jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2009, 04:32 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 523
Does anyone know if that is possible or likely?
__________________
Andy Tejral
Railroad Videographer
Andy Tejral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2009, 05:49 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Posts: 3,778
Not at present but it might be possible with a firmware upgrade (break out another $100). Note that the JVC XDCAM EX cameras (HM100, HM700) support 2.9 seconds NTSC and 3.0 seconds PAL pre record.

If you look at EX files there's metadata for a record cache set to "false" so obviously Sony's been considering it from the get go.
Craig Seeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2009, 06:03 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,222
I'd like to see this feature, although this is less of an issue compared to the 3-8 seconds needed by my Sony Z1.
Gints Klimanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2009, 08:52 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 628
how does it help?
__________________
EX3, Q6600 Quad core PC - Vista 64, Vegas 8.1 64bit, SR11 b-cam
Erik Phairas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2009, 09:04 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 523
When your subject is unpredictable--wildlife, glaciers etc. you can start recording BEFORE you hit record--seems to be about 3 seconds in HD modes. (The camera continuously records 3 seconds in a loop and then throws them away those 3 seconds until you hit the record button. There is always 3 seconds in a buffer.)
__________________
Andy Tejral
Railroad Videographer
Andy Tejral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2009, 09:05 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 2,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erik Phairas View Post
how does it help?
Pre-record helps when you're doing "actuality" coverage. For example I'll be standing by all day with the camera powered up. When a fish strikes, I hit the record button and catch a few seconds before the reel starts to scream.

Or if you're shooting storms and want to get that lightning bolt. Just wait until you see the flash, then hit record: you'll get a few seconds before the lightning actually goes off without having to constantly roll camera and capture a lot of unwanted footage.

It's a feature I'd be willing to pay $100 to get. I would like a 7-second buffer, not a 3-second buffer. But 3 seconds is better than nothing.
__________________
Dean Sensui
Exec Producer, Hawaii Goes Fishing
Dean Sensui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2009, 09:24 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 628
Oh I see. Yea that would be very useful.. Out at the dunes I am always missing something cool by only a few moments..

Now that I know what it is... why on earth would we be limited in how long it loops? Shouldn't we be able to set the length in the menu and have it record to the SCHD card for example, a 30 second loop if I wanted it? Seems odd to even limit that at all. More like you hit the record button just to stop the loop..You could be sitting back relaxing with a cool drink. :)
__________________
EX3, Q6600 Quad core PC - Vista 64, Vegas 8.1 64bit, SR11 b-cam
Erik Phairas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2009, 09:35 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 523
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erik Phairas View Post
why on earth would we be limited in how long it loops?
Yeah, you'd think so, wouldn't you? My only guess is that uses internal, not card, memory to perform the magic. Panny lets you do a continuous record over two cards (looping back to the first) but restricts you to 3 second pre-rec. The new JVC seems to have the same limitation.

Hey Sony, are you reading this?
__________________
Andy Tejral
Railroad Videographer
Andy Tejral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2009, 01:39 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Worcester. United Kingdom
Posts: 197
The one feature I miss dearly from my Panny HVX200 days was not just the pre-record, but the ability to loop record over the two P2 cards.

You could just record and record ad infinitum and the camera would use whatever space was on the two cards. Once it used up the free space, it would overwrite the early footage (but not any previous clips that were already on the cards when you started loop-record).

This was SO useful if you were waiting for a certain thing to happen (lightning, animals etc etc).

I really wish Sony would take the trouble to make this available to us.
__________________
I taught you all I know and still you know nothing.
Andy Nickless is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:15 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network