PHU-60K Hard Drive at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 21st, 2009, 06:23 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London UK
Posts: 120
PHU-60K Hard Drive

What are users' latest experiences of the PHU-60K Hard Drive - is it reliable, and what are the consequences of "Media needs to be restored' message - does it simply mean the device isn't seated properly and needs re-attaching (are clips ever lost)?
__________________
Mark Slocombe, CreationVideo
http://www.creationvideo.com

Last edited by Mark Slocombe; February 22nd, 2009 at 03:14 AM.
Mark Slocombe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2009, 09:29 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,414
Don't have one but found this in the Canon area... so might as well bring it down here
for those that have the unit.... this is a software solution to joining split footage...

HVR-DR60 | Hard Disk Recording Unit
Ray Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2009, 02:13 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Centreville, Maryland
Posts: 258
I have been using the PHU-60K for 4 months and haven't had one media related problem.

The downsides to the device as i see them:

1) makes the already awkward hand-held ergonomics more cumbersome.
2) transferring the files is a bit slower than the cards
__________________
http://twitter.com/tedmcneil
Theodore McNeil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2009, 02:17 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London UK
Posts: 120
[QUOTE=makes the already awkward hand-held ergonomics more cumbersome.
[/QUOTE]

Cheers - can imagine that; am considering it for a series of 8x 2hr discussions we'll be filming - static/tripod stuff - seems ideal.
__________________
Mark Slocombe, CreationVideo
http://www.creationvideo.com
Mark Slocombe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2009, 03:23 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
Mark why don't you use sdhc cards in the camera instead ?, loads cheaper than the hard drive.

Paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2009, 04:56 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London UK
Posts: 120
Hi Paul, I have a couple of 16gb SDHC cards in eFilms adapters but haven't tested them fully; the job will be 18hrs of material in Dubai for BBC with possibly not time to offload between shoots so want the most reliable solution. First time I put my SDHC in the Ex1 I got a 'Media Needs to be Restored' msg - seems like that just means it's not seated properly, but confidence wasn't inspired!
__________________
Mark Slocombe, CreationVideo
http://www.creationvideo.com
Mark Slocombe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2009, 01:57 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
What sdhc cards did you try ?
I use the transcend 16gb, me and my colleagues haven't had any problems with them.
I'd rather buy enough cards for the 18 shoot than the hard drive.
The hard drive i believe only records in the sp mode, ie 1080/50i sp, where as the cards record all modes except overcrank.
Let me know if you want a reliable place to buy the cards.

Paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2009, 05:27 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London UK
Posts: 120
Ta - SanDisk cards; further testing this week. Will check out about the drive / SP only - that wouldn't be much use!
__________________
Mark Slocombe, CreationVideo
http://www.creationvideo.com
Mark Slocombe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2009, 05:59 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: British Isles
Posts: 415
I've been using the PHU-60K since last September and never had a problem with it. The only thing to note is that you can't overcrank with them (just like the MxR). I have two set-up giving just under 8 hours of recorded footage!
Paul Inglis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2009, 07:42 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London UK
Posts: 120
Ta Paul - does it only record in the sp mode, ie 1080/50i sp ?
__________________
Mark Slocombe, CreationVideo
http://www.creationvideo.com
Mark Slocombe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2009, 07:49 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Moab, UT
Posts: 264
I've been using the unit without a hitch. I use it for interviews, so I don't have to stop and change cards (good for 3+ hours) , so camera is on stix. Then use cards for when I'm moving.
Mike Chandler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2009, 03:04 PM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
The PHU-60 will record all standard frame rates/modes at HQ. It just can't do S&Q modes.
__________________
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2009, 03:56 PM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 1,327
We just purchased an EX1 and the drive. It works well, but I have not really put it through the paces yet. I do like the LONG record times and it is much cheaper than the 32 gig SxS.
__________________
Jacques Mersereau
University of Michigan-Video Studio Manager
Jacques Mersereau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2009, 11:36 AM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: British Isles
Posts: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Slocombe View Post
Ta Paul - does it only record in the sp mode, ie 1080/50i sp ?
Sorry for the delay! The PHU-60K will record all modes but other than Quick and Slow Motion!
Paul Inglis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2009, 01:11 AM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 186
Other than no slo-mo, it is also inadvisable to use the PHU-60K on a plane as data may be damaged in low pressure environments. The altitude limitation is 9,800 feet. Although the cabin may be pressurized, most planes bring the cabin altitude down to 10,000 feet only.
Max Allen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:55 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network