EX1: ND filter switch revisited! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 30th, 2009, 06:48 AM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
EX1: ND filter switch revisited!

Last year I mentioned in several threads how hard it is on my EX1 to engage ND1 from ND0 (ND off); some of other owners confirmed it can be tricky, as the switch lacks proper lever to facilitate precise snapping into the middle position. However, my impression was it's not a real problem for most of them.

In the meantime, my camera has undergone an overhaul by the Prime Support engineers; before sending it in I communicated my frustration with the ND switch. When I got the camera back, the ND assembly was said to have been replaced - but the problems persists. What's more, it's even more pronounced now - so much so that when I need to go from ND off to ND1, I need to first go all the way up to ND2, and only then back down to the middle position of ND1.

Can anyone confirm this? The thing is my warranty will be expiring soon, so if anything CAN be done to improve it, I'd like to have it improved. On the other hand, I don't want to send my camera away if this is how it has to be by design!

Comment welcome.
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2009, 08:24 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
Mine's not like that.

Paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2009, 09:09 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,414
Mine is not like that either, it's just easy to skip nd1 and to go straight to nd2 if you push too hard, but I don't have to go that way to have nd1 on, you should be able to go one step from nd off to nd1, this is a malfunction of the nd switch and it has to be replaced
__________________
I love this place!
Buba Kastorski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2009, 09:47 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: an Alaskan living in Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 513
I have no problem with mine either.
Ian Planchon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2009, 12:54 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
Never had a real problem.
The switch positions are not as definitive as on the PD 170, or Z1, so I am a little more careful to confirm the final setting, but not a big deal.
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2009, 09:14 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Studio Alnitak, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 640
Images: 3
Mine have always been sweet.
Serena Steuart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2009, 02:59 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Thank you all for responding. It looks I'm alone with this. But if Sony *indeed* did replace the ND filter assembly while servicing my unit, I am extremely unlucky to have the switch sticking in two of them in a row... This doesn't seem to be very probable, so I'll ask for more opinion at the same time mitigating my last statement above:

"so much so that when I need to go from ND off to ND1, I need to first go all the way up to ND2, and only then back down to the middle position of ND1."

Well, it isn't THAT bad really; I only described the way I'd have to use to always hit the ND1 position without being particularly careful. In real fact, I *am* able to engage ND1 straight from ND0, but - the switch missing any lever and being recessed - the force I need to apply in order to move it up can sometimes be too big and - instead of snapping into ND1 - it goes higher, and only stops in-between the ND1 and ND2 positions. I can see the filter holder (or other opaque part) in my VF then, partially obscuring the view (see the right hand side screen grab here: http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/821965-post105.html) ...

When it happens, it's enough to touch the switch and it will snap into ND2 position.

Really never happens with yours? I hate to be sending my camera in again...
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2009, 03:41 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Studio Alnitak, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 640
Images: 3
No, I've never had trouble. I did once fail to index the ND filter correctly (concentrating on other things) and of course I got vignetting. Have you read Help is needed EX3 owner takes apart EX3 body and has too many bits left over. - The Digital Video Information Network The photos might be of interest.
Serena Steuart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2009, 03:47 AM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Thanks Serena - in fact, that other thread made me post again my doubts about my own ND switch malfunctioning...
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2009, 01:14 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
Piotr
On my camera, the switch absolutely does not detent on ND1 with a resounding thud like it did on the PD 170. I have overshot ND1 if not attentive. My ND switch is sort of like the EX power switch in that it is easy to slide past Off and turn the cam back on to the other mode. I've just learned to double check both of those switches and accepted that they are not as good as they could be.
From your latest description I'm thinking that your camera may be typical.
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2009, 04:20 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 393
Although I do not have a mechanical ND filter issue like yours in my EX3, my V1 camera's ND filter system has a much better mechanical feel to it. The filter engage very neatly with great feedback on the switch. Nonetheless, my EX3 does not have any problems with engaging the filters, it is just a lot 'looser' in its engaging points that the V1.

Hope you have your issue sorted out properly.

Best wishes
__________________
David Issko
Edit 1 Video Productions
David Issko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2009, 07:38 PM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: PERTH. W.A. AUSTRALIA.
Posts: 4,356
Piotr.


This may sound like a stupid suggestion but here goes, just don't laugh too loudly.

For style and possibly an intention to avoid impact damage to the lever, the ND control is harder to grip hold of as it does not poke out as much as older cameras.

Try working the control with your writing hand from over the top of the camera, not from underneath. Also try to pinch the little lever or what little there is of it between thumb and finger - better fine control that way. Works for me but I am also mano-sinistra.
Bob Hart is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:25 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network