Dropping Frames in FCP at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 23rd, 2009, 02:15 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New York, New York
Posts: 34
Dropping Frames in FCP

I'm putting together a simple cuts-only piece in FCP. I brought selected clips down to the timeline, playback quality set to "high," and all was working fine. After re-opening the project to start editing again I can't play back from the timeline without getting the "dropped frames" dialog box every 15 frames or so. Incredibly frustrating. No settings have been changed, as far as I know, and my external HD is relatively empty. Plays back fine with playback quality set to medium, but . . . I've edited quite a lot of other projects with the same specs and never had this problem.

EX1 1080/30p HQ
3.06 Ghz iMac core 2 duo with 4 gb of RAM
OS 10.5.7
FCP 6.0.6
G-Raid-2 1TB drive at 7200 RPM with over 700 gb free.

Any suggestions?

Thanks.
Michael Rehfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2009, 02:42 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Moab, UT
Posts: 264
You can set your playback to Unlimited Render or turn off the warning notice in User Prefs. Your monitoring options stayed the same? Maybe also try switching render files to ProRes.
__________________
www.packcreekproductions.com
EX3, Mac Pro, FCP
Mike Chandler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 24th, 2009, 08:15 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New York, New York
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Chandler View Post
You can set your playback to Unlimited Render or turn off the warning notice in User Prefs. Your monitoring options stayed the same? Maybe also try switching render files to ProRes.
Monitoring options have remained the same, that is, NO external monitor. I tried Unlimited Render but the problem persists. I'd also turned off the warning notice but I could see (I think?) those skipping frames and found it disconcerting.

I'm not quire sure how to switch render files to ProRes. Would it necessitate rendering and/or transcoding? I'd rather avoid that.

I just opened an older project that had played back fine in high quality and now has the same problem, the dropping frames warning constantly. Arrgghh . . .

Thanks again.
Michael Rehfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 24th, 2009, 09:06 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kennewick, WA
Posts: 1,124
To change the Render settings go to: Sequences>Settings>Render Tab

Change Render Setting to ProRes
__________________
Sony EX3, Canon 5D MkII, Chrosziel Matte Box, Sachtler tripod, Steadicam Flyer, Mac Pro, Apple/Adobe software - 20 years as a local videographer/editor
Mitchell Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 24th, 2009, 09:11 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Moab, UT
Posts: 264
The render files is a User Prefs setting under Render; you use the pull-down menu to change from XD to ProRes, but that doesn't sound the like problem. Odd. Sounds like drive full, but you say it has plenty of room. Maybe check scratch disk settings just to make sure they didn't change. I wonder if you took the material and dumped it into another setting timeline, say prores, and see what happens.
__________________
www.packcreekproductions.com
EX3, Mac Pro, FCP
Mike Chandler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2009, 07:05 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New York, New York
Posts: 34
I transcoded the sequence to ProRes and indeed it does play back fine in HQ. However, the original sequence that I was having problems with plays back fine now also. Hope it lasts . . .
Michael Rehfield is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:17 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network