Final Cut: no 1080p sequence settings? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 11th, 2009, 02:11 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 42
Final Cut: no 1080p sequence settings?

In Final Cut, I have my sequence preset set to XDCAM EX 1080p30, yet when i go to my sequences bin in a project and view the sequence settings with EX footage in it, the aspect ration says 1080i and there isn't an option for 1080p. Is it converting my footage to 1080i?

Thank you!
Kyle McConaghy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2009, 06:42 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 41
No. It's just the aspect ratio. If you check your Sequence Settings -Quicktime video Settings - Compressor: That should be set at XDCAM HD 1080p30 (35 Mbs VBR). FCP and XDCAM EX are not good mates. You cannot set a preset for XDCAM EX. So I set it for XDCAM HD and then drop a clip onto the sequence and let FCP change it to XDCAM EX. A pain but hopefully fixed in FCP 7
__________________
Neil McClure
Canon C100, Panasonic GH3, Sony EX1, FCPx, Motion 5.1
Neil McClure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2009, 07:53 PM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil McClure View Post
FCP and XDCAM EX are not good mates. You cannot set a preset for XDCAM EX. So I set it for XDCAM HD and then drop a clip onto the sequence and let FCP change it to XDCAM EX.
Haha - that makes me feel a lot better. I just had a first try at editing some footage from my new EX1 the other day and couldn't understand why it was behaving this way! I ended up doing just what you are.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 08:00 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 528
The sequence preset for XDCAM EX 1080p / 24/30 VBR is available in easy set up and your audio/video settings tab as well. That's where you set this up - not by selecting the timeline and going into sequence settings.
Once you use easy set up correctly your timeline is set of XDCAM EX - at least this happens on my system. Nothing changes when I drop my EX clips on to the timeline.
Jon Braeley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 09:08 AM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
Hmm, I will have to look at this again. I did choose the 1080p24 VBR codec but am pretty sure FCP wanted to change the sequence setting when I dropped the clip into the timeline. Have not done any "real" editing yet, just playing around still.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 08:00 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 41
adding XDCAM EX settings for FCP

Perhaps because I have additional custom settings such as Blackmagic's my XDCAM EX settings were never added when they came available/updated. Looking at the FCP editing forum I have learnt the following:

Open the Final Cut Pro Additional Easy Setups in your Applications folder and COPY the ex settings to the Macintosh HD/Library/Application support/Final Cut Pro System Support/Custom Settings - folder. You can also trash the ones you will never use if you like.

Then delete some preferences (save a copy of your preferences such as Window layouts before you do this.)

Drag the file named "com.apple.FinalCutPro.plist" to the Trash
Double-click the folder named "Final Cut Pro User Data".
Drag the file named "Final Cut Pro 4.0 Preferences" to the Trash

Put back in your custom settings and restart FCP

Choose easy set up...
__________________
Neil McClure
Canon C100, Panasonic GH3, Sony EX1, FCPx, Motion 5.1
Neil McClure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 15th, 2009, 10:40 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kennewick, WA
Posts: 1,124
Yeah, this has been a common problem. For some reason the XDCAM EX Easy Setup settings don't get installed where they should be. Only the XDCAM (non-EX) Easy Setup's are listed. Once you do that, things will get a lot easier when editing XDCAM EX footage in FCP.

One last thing, don't forget to change your Sequence Settings>Render Tab to "Render as ProRes". This also makes a huge difference when editing EX footage in FCP.
__________________
Sony EX3, Canon 5D MkII, Chrosziel Matte Box, Sachtler tripod, Steadicam Flyer, Mac Pro, Apple/Adobe software - 20 years as a local videographer/editor
Mitchell Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2009, 01:18 AM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kent England
Posts: 9
..

because of this would you not recommend using the EX1 with FCP? FCP is my weapon of choice and im looking for a camera that works best with it, obviously the JVC GY HM series but im really liking the EX1 when it comes to capturing sport and movement.
Giles Campbell Longley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2009, 07:50 AM   #9
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
It's absolutely no problem, you just have to set the sequence properly. And if you don't, when you drop a clip into a sequence FCP will tell you that the setting is wrong and ask if you want to change the settings to match the clip.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:48 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network