720P Overcrank in 1080P Timeline at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 6th, 2009, 01:45 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Plantation, FL
Posts: 55
720P Overcrank in 1080P Timeline

I have shoot coming up (using my EX3) where I need to integrate some overcranked footage into the master sequence. I will be shooting the master footage in 1080P30. I know I have to shoot the slow motion stuff in 720P.
My question is but what do I need to do when I import the footage into FCP...Is there upres I need to do. If so how? Never had to mix footage before and not quite sure what to do to make it match the 1080p footage.

Thanks
Lucky Haskins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2009, 01:49 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 72
Create your in/out points on the 720p footage, then drop it into your timeline then render out the video (command-r) and it will upres it. This is how I've always done it to good effect...
Hiram Yates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2009, 05:55 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
When you uprez to 1080, you will get some noticable softning of the 720 image.
There has been much discussion, and various opinions, as to which is better for a 1080 project- use overcrank 720 & uprez vs. shoot 1080 & apply slo motion in post.
If you have the time, it might be useful to test both methods and draw your own conclusions ahead of your shooting schedule.
The other alternative is to shoot the whole project in 720, in which case overcrank wins hands down for slo mo.
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2009, 08:45 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,684
And the best method to apply slo mo in post is ( if you can't afford $300 for twixtor)?
Leonard Levy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2009, 05:37 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: North Hollywood, Atlanta
Posts: 437
My process that worked well before;

was to shoot All the Regular Real time footage in 1080p, 24p then the special Slow motion shots in 720p 24p at whatever overcrank speed.
Then my editing project i used 720p and imported the 1080p shots into that. With 1080 resolution in a 720p project you have significant amount you can crop in and reframe shots and retain usable resolution.

Seems to work better than the other way around which is inserting the 720p shots into a 1080p timeline and upressing them.
That was at least my experience.
__________________
Tyson X
Tyson Persall is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:21 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network