Clipbrowser Takes out the Rolling Shutter! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 11th, 2009, 07:51 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,498
Clipbrowser Takes out the Rolling Shutter!

Attended the EX1R launch in my country today and the Factory Manager from Japan demonstrated the new clip browser's ability to repair the rolling shutter effect automatically. That is really cool as us EX1, EX3 users will benefit from it. Anyway, he explained it was not implemented in EX1R like the HPX300 because there may be hits and misses by doing it on the fly. Only thing I'm not sure which version of the clipbrowser he was using as it was in Japanese!
Sean Seah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2009, 08:48 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Posts: 3,749
ClipBrowser 2.6 does this. It has a manual and and auto detection mode. It's already available for download in some countries. It fixes the "camera flash" rolling shutter issue (partial flash frame). I suspect doing it in software after shooting allows more control than building it camera. This way if the auto detection misses one can still fix manually.
Craig Seeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2009, 09:13 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Salida, Colorado
Posts: 555
What am I missing? Why would they make it available in some countries and not in others?
Charles Newcomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2009, 09:21 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Posts: 3,749
Apparently Sony's websites are maintained separately so it's not a "master plan" when it comes to software updates. Since I have visited EU, Canada, USA website, I can say the USA site is almost always last and often the updates aren not well documented. For example, USA website still post the current XDCAM Transfer as 2.7 even though it links to 2.10. It posts SxS driver as 1.0.3 although it links to the Mac version 1.0.4.

I suspect Clip Browser 2.6 will roll out in the USA in December with the release of the EX1R. I believe the EU site has 2.6 already which is where I got it from. Basically I register at all the Sony sites and grab it from whoever gets something first . . . which is never the USA site. In order to do this I believe I had to identify New York as city in the UK. It's just a minor modification of history after all.
Craig Seeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2009, 01:31 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cambridge UK
Posts: 2,829
Well there we go again, good old Europe, and in particular us in the UK, are ahead of the pack! ;-)

Seriously though, you'd think Sony would get their head round this stuff and realise it's a global marketplace they are supporting.

Or maybe we're just the Beta testers and you guys only get access when we've shown it's not bug ridden...
__________________
Andy K Wilkinson - http://www.shootingimage.co.uk
Cambridge (UK) Corporate Video Production
Andy Wilkinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2009, 06:16 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,498
One more interesting news is Sony will offically allow us to update the firmware finally. (No more depot) Due to the new 32Gb SxS-1, the firmware must be upgraded to handle that.
Sean Seah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2009, 02:12 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Aachen, Germany and Las Vegas NV
Posts: 107
I filmed a photoshooting last week and thought the auto detection of the new Clip Browser 2.6 will correct the footage but I was stupid enough not to test this tool BEFORE I took that job. So Yesterday I did run a test and it does not detect any flash in the video.... so what am I doing wrong? The only thing which works fine is the manual flash removal tool, but I have filmed 3,5 hours on that photoshoting and don't like to remove this by hand.

I don't think that the Software cause the problem, it can't work so bad I think so I search for my operating mistake (BTW: The Clip Browser User Guide which I downloaded with the Software from the Sony UK Website is just for version 2.5, not v2.6).

So for example, when I click with the right mouse button onto a clip which contains a flash and chose "Flash Band" then "Detect and Correct" and to make it more easy for the software "in and out section" with just a two second sequence which contains one flash it won't detect anything! The same happens when I chose the complete clip to do that.... I tried this with a lot of different clips with different flash settings and I was not able to make the software detecting any of these flashes. Very disappointing!

What am I doing wrong? Any ideas?
Swen Goebbels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2009, 07:16 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,554
I'm starting another thread about the problems I have been having lately. I tried Clip Browser 2.6 last night and it kept crashing my Win 7 pc. It happened at the same point in time within the clip so I am assuming it found flash and couldn't deal with it. I don't know whats wrong but its useless to me.
Steve Kalle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2009, 11:25 PM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
Swen, how long are the clips? The clips need to be quite long to allow the software to work out what is "normal".
__________________
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2009, 12:23 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Aachen, Germany and Las Vegas NV
Posts: 107
Alister,

thank you for your info about that. I thought it will be easier for the software to work with shorter clips.... I will try it now with longer clips and let you know.
Swen Goebbels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2009, 01:19 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Aachen, Germany and Las Vegas NV
Posts: 107
Now I tried some clips longer than 2 Minutes, but I don't get this tool working. I still think I operate the software wrong. Furthermore I did select now about 120 of these clips (in total about 50 minutes), then right mouse button "detect and correct"... at the end the message is "Detect Clips120 Corrected Clips 0". Also when the software really would not work perfect, there must be about 100 flashes within these clip and it should detect at least some of them.

I think there must be an info for each clip when I select the clip and click on Flash Band under the Preview Monitor. There is zero info in the timecode, detect or status field and the clips look still untouched. Also in the Folder "Flash Band" (think that's the place where clipBrowser will place the corrected clips) is empty!

Any idea what I'm doing wrong? Or maybe a OS problem? I'm running the ClipBrowser v2.6 on Vista 64 on Quad Core Notebook. As Steve wrote he has problems on his Windows 7 machine. Maybe the sometimes strange "user accounts settings" on Vista cause the trouble and will not allow the clipbrowser to change something on the clips or to copy them ???
Swen Goebbels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2009, 10:16 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 197
I'm also having problems with Clip Browser 2.6 on my 64-bit Windows 7 machine -- major crash (system completely froze while retrieving the first clip).
__________________
Bored? Check out my blog (shot with Sony EX1, Panasonic TM700, Nikon D7100, Sony NEX-5N, GoPro2): LongLongHoneymoon.com
C.S. Michael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2009, 06:10 AM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Posts: 3,749
It seems there may be a compatibility issue with Windows 7 so I hear. So it's not just us Mac Snow Leopard users who had to suffer. I guess Sony didn't have enough lead time to develop a 7 compatible version as the OS beta only went public . . . how many months ago!
Craig Seeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2009, 07:46 AM   #14
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 14
Well, our ClipBrowser paired with OSX 10.5, nor with Windows XP did not detect any of the obvious flashes from the 6 minutes long photoshoot footage recorded. So what's detect mode for?
Adam Plywaczewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2011, 11:24 AM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 26
Re: Clipbrowser Takes out the Rolling Shutter!

In my experience, rolling shutter can be described as slanting of vertical lines during a fast pan. If CB 2.6 can remove rolling shutter, can someone please show me where to do this? I only see flash band removal... sorry for sounding "newbyish"!!!

Cheers...
Martin
Martin Kolditz is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:24 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network