EX1R Mic Included? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 3rd, 2010, 05:23 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: London Ontario
Posts: 94
EX1R Mic Included?

I have seen many pics of the new EX1R with a shotgun attached. The B&H site shows the camera without the mic. Can anyone confirm whether or not this camera comes with a microphone included?

This Sony product page show a mic and in the description below, says

"built in stereo microphone and two-channel audio input."

I may purchase from DV Source in Mississauga, Ontario.
__________________
Regards,
Thane Silliker, London, Ontario
Thane Silliker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2010, 07:48 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 203
The very front of the top handle is a built-in stereo mic. A holder for a shotgun mic is also included. A shotgun mic to go into the holder is not included.
George Strother is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2010, 07:56 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: East Bay Cali
Posts: 563
that was a cool feature it having some sort of ambient stereo mic on the camera, but no semi-directional stick mic, most people wouldnt use the built in semi-directional stick mic anyways, replacing it with a senheister or something. and one of the other models has Nothing there at all, so i was happy to have something vrses nothing.
i have an extra one of the stock mics they put on these thing, i doubt i will ever use, sell it cheap :-)
__________________
----------------sig-----------------
Re-learning everything all over again, one more time.

Last edited by Marty Welk; March 4th, 2010 at 04:02 AM.
Marty Welk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2010, 02:50 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 414
I have noticed something weird about my shotgun mic holder on the EX1r. I can't use my Rode shotgun mic in that holder, as it will be loose even at the tightest setting.
I wonder if these sizes are not standardized...? Never happened with any other camera, so it seems the Rode is fine and the EX1r holder diameter is over sized.

Anyone else had this problem?
__________________
Sony XDCAM EX1r, Canon 5DMkII, Røde NTG2, Røde NT1000, Røde Stereo Videomic, Sachtler DV6 SB on Gitzo 1325V, Steadicam Merlin, Omnitracker, Hackintosh 3.5Ghz Quad 8Gb RAM
Zsolt Gordos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2010, 03:55 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: East Bay Cali
Posts: 563
yup read about it here with the rode just last week.

we have solutions such things 3 ways, get one of those rubber ring things with the 2 end flaps |=| , and insert it in there, I think they sell that stuff at B&H.

also one time i just put the soft side of thick Velcro in a loose mount that didnt have the rubber piece , the velcro fabric loops still keep the isolation going like the rubber does.

2 crossed nylon hair holders (for girls hair) doing the suspention mount thing in a figure 8, whatever it takes to settle it in and still have the isolation mount.
__________________
----------------sig-----------------
Re-learning everything all over again, one more time.
Marty Welk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2010, 04:07 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: London Ontario
Posts: 94
Thanks for that intel guys. Looks like a fine camera just the same.
__________________
Regards,
Thane Silliker, London, Ontario
Thane Silliker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2010, 06:15 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: c Australia
Posts: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zsolt Gordos View Post
I have noticed something weird about my shotgun mic holder on the EX1r. I can't use my Rode shotgun mic in that holder, as it will be loose even at the tightest setting.
I wonder if these sizes are not standardized...? Never happened with any other camera, so it seems the Rode is fine and the EX1r holder diameter is over sized.

Anyone else had this problem?
yeah read about it here on the forum as well. I wrapped my Rode NG2 with two turns of gaffer tape last shoot and it fit fine :)
Damian Heffernan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2010, 09:33 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zsolt Gordos View Post
I have noticed something weird about my shotgun mic holder on the EX1r. I can't use my Rode shotgun mic in that holder, as it will be loose even at the tightest setting.
I wonder if these sizes are not standardized...? Never happened with any other camera, so it seems the Rode is fine and the EX1r holder diameter is over sized.

Anyone else had this problem?
Sony makes a mic spacer its about $11.00 the sony part number 317988201 this will allow you to mount Rode and other Mics without the mic being loose in the holder. This part was included with my Sony V1 cam, you also have to use the spacer with the Sony mics, it works great on my EX3.

https://servicesplus.us.sony.biz/Par...px?stype=parts
Attached Images
 
Brian Rhodes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2010, 12:31 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Long Island, NY and Northeast PA
Posts: 132
I snipped up some garden hose.
Marc Myers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2010, 08:11 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: East Bay Cali
Posts: 563
i hope it was the anti kink kind with the built in isolation channels :-)
these mics on cam really need to have the isolation from the camera and operator , otherwise as things go all quiet on ya every squeak click snap and hand drag come out on your audio. <--- which sounds so amature as if there is a mic ON the camera :-) unbelieveable who would do such a thing without a boom operator. lots of things that a person might have to adjust on the camera Live, the direct menu, switching audio monitoring to one side, even slipping your hand onto the handle, rolling the menu roller, and as they AGE and get wear the plastic creaks and groans, and it all goes right into things like those front stereo mics. just slighty tap a Stick Mic, vrses a Hand held cardoid and you will hear it, conducts through the plastic camera easily right into the mic.
__________________
----------------sig-----------------
Re-learning everything all over again, one more time.
Marty Welk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2010, 12:35 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Port Coquitlam BC Canada
Posts: 179
That's why some sort of decent mic isolator is a must have for all these cameras.
Attached Images
 
Don Greening is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2010, 09:51 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 414
Don, I have such thing, but why on earth to occupy my shoe mount it if there is a dedicated place for shotguns?
Actually I attach my Zoom recorder in the shoe mount for a secondary audio.
__________________
Sony XDCAM EX1r, Canon 5DMkII, Røde NTG2, Røde NT1000, Røde Stereo Videomic, Sachtler DV6 SB on Gitzo 1325V, Steadicam Merlin, Omnitracker, Hackintosh 3.5Ghz Quad 8Gb RAM
Zsolt Gordos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2010, 10:36 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Greening View Post
That's why some sort of decent mic isolator is a must have for all these cameras.
That's the mount I use. This kit lets it mount to any camera mic holder clamp.

K-Tek | K-CA Clamp Adapter Kit for Camera Clamp Mounts | K-CA
George Strother is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2010, 02:00 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Rhodes View Post
Sony makes a mic spacer its about $11.00 the sony part number 317988201 this will allow you to mount Rode and other Mics without the mic being loose in the holder. This part was included with my Sony V1 cam, you also have to use the spacer with the Sony mics, it works great on my EX3.

https://servicesplus.us.sony.biz/Par...px?stype=parts
Thanks for the info Brian. Well, are those guys at Sony out of their minds? Selling a 6500$ camera and not including a piece of rubber to make it work? Its bloody ridiculous.
__________________
Sony XDCAM EX1r, Canon 5DMkII, Røde NTG2, Røde NT1000, Røde Stereo Videomic, Sachtler DV6 SB on Gitzo 1325V, Steadicam Merlin, Omnitracker, Hackintosh 3.5Ghz Quad 8Gb RAM
Zsolt Gordos is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:58 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network