Odd strobing effect in EX3 footage at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 9th, 2010, 11:37 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 121
Odd strobing effect in EX3 footage

Just got back from a gig and going through some B-roll shot on an EX3 and noticed this strange effect occasionally happening. It looks like what happens when you shoot an un-synced computer or video monitor, but it's not. When it happens, it happens for only a few seconds. My first thought was that something in the background was causing moire, but it happens regardless of background and in some of the shots, the background was way out of focus anyways.

It seems to happen at the beginning of a shot.

Here's a compressed example (I'll post the raw EX source file in a separate post as I'm having difficulties with attachments at the moment).

Any ideas?

I recently did the firmware upgrade and I'd hate to think that it's related to that, but you know how superstitions work.
Attached Files
File Type: mov BDGA3116_01_1-H264.mov (1.89 MB, 110 views)
__________________
EX3, Z1U, FX1, D1X / NeXTstation Turbo Color / FCS3
Brooks Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2010, 11:47 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 121
the raw file

Sorry, couldn't upload the raw file, got some cryptic error.

Here's a link instead:

http://files.me.com/brooksgraham/waeisc.mov
__________________
EX3, Z1U, FX1, D1X / NeXTstation Turbo Color / FCS3
Brooks Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2010, 12:19 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: melb.vic.au
Posts: 447
Can't play it on a PC with the latest Quicktime version.
__________________
www.davidwilliams.com.au
David C. Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2010, 12:31 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by David C. Williams View Post
Can't play it on a PC with the latest Quicktime version.
The H264 should play in Windows. I'd assume that you'd need the XDCAM EX codec available to play the raw file.

Also try VLC.
__________________
EX3, Z1U, FX1, D1X / NeXTstation Turbo Color / FCS3
Brooks Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2010, 01:14 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 604
I can play it on my IMac and MBP. The strobing effect does not extend to the highlight areas like the exterior or the drink waiter's shirt sleeve nor is it visible on the ladies chain patterned blouse. Does the strobing occur away from this area?
Alastair Traill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2010, 01:16 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 121
If you look closely, frame by frame, you'll see that it does in fact appear on the waiter's sleeve as well as other the places.

And yes, it occurred away from the windows and in multiple other shots. It's very puzzling and worrisome.
__________________
EX3, Z1U, FX1, D1X / NeXTstation Turbo Color / FCS3

Last edited by Brooks Graham; April 10th, 2010 at 01:18 AM. Reason: more info
Brooks Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2010, 01:43 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: East Bay Cali
Posts: 563
what you provided clues to was just reported here in this forum a few weeks ago.
they mostly determined it was that 60or50htz shutter fixer thing, turned onto auto.

you know the shutter that is supposed to FIX flickering , when you get it, causes flickering at the first of the recording for some reason.
the solution was to take it off auto, then of course apply it manually when actually needed.

i would bet that you can fix the video if it was so hugely important, by using a temporal filter in virtual dub.

http://www.dvinfo.net/forum/sony-xdc...ecs-clips.html
see if this sounds familliar, i spend the first few hours with a new camera finding the evil AUTO stuff and turning it off, so anything that goes wrong was all my fault :-) that takes one screw-up out of the picture :-)
__________________
----------------sig-----------------
Re-learning everything all over again, one more time.
Marty Welk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2010, 02:02 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 121
I bet it's that. I looked on the camera in question and it was set to "Auto/50Hz". Ugh.

Like the poster in that other thread, I could have sworn that I had turned all that evil auto stuff off, but I must have missed that one.

Thinking back now, the room did have a mix of daylight from the wall of large windows and CFLs in horrid orange fixtures. Perhaps the auto flicker was getting confused because of the mix. (or should I say "auto flicker generator")

Well, that setting is off now.

Thanks for the pointer.
__________________
EX3, Z1U, FX1, D1X / NeXTstation Turbo Color / FCS3
Brooks Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2010, 02:13 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: melb.vic.au
Posts: 447
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brooks Graham View Post
The H264 should play in Windows. I'd assume that you'd need the XDCAM EX codec available to play the raw file.

Also try VLC.
No, I've had this problem before. It's wrapped in something PC doesn't get. It's not H.264, it's re-wraped MPEG2 from. Here's the VLC output.

No suitable decoder module:
VLC does not support the audio or video format "xdv1". Unfortunately there is no way for you to fix this.
__________________
www.davidwilliams.com.au
David C. Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2010, 09:52 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ogden
Posts: 161
It's your flicker reducer FOR SURE. Turn it OFF. Not on auto. I had the same problems.

http://www.dvinfo.net/forum/sony-xdc...ecs-clips.html
Annen James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2010, 11:59 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 121
Yep. I'm completely convinced that the problem was caused by having the Flicker setting at the default "Auto/50Hz" setting.

Thanks for pointing it out. Thankfully there were only a handful of shots that had this problem and I can edit around them as they were just a bunch of candids. Thank goodness I caught this before it happened on something more critical. (and it's odd that it didn't happen on this camera before now)

Thanks again!
__________________
EX3, Z1U, FX1, D1X / NeXTstation Turbo Color / FCS3
Brooks Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2010, 07:40 PM   #12
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Annen James View Post
It's your flicker reducer FOR SURE. Turn it OFF. Not on auto. I had the same problems.

http://www.dvinfo.net/forum/sony-xdc...ecs-clips.html
I second that....
David Pryke is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:08 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network