Import ex files to avid MC4? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 27th, 2010, 04:16 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 120
Import ex files to avid MC4?

Hello,
i am usually importing the ex files to Avid MC4, directly from SxS cards, so the AMA procedure recognizes the files and a new window is opening into Avid.
But now i want to import files, that are being copied into a local hard disk.
How i can import them to avid?
It is High Definition files, so every clip it is in one folder.
Thanks
Giannis Pass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2010, 07:34 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 836
Hi there.
I use the XDCAM EX Clip Browser (v. 2.06, supplied by Sony), find the clips on the SxS card, export as mxf files (for NLE) to an external drive. Then I launch Avid, go to my project (or start a new one if these are my first clips), open a bin, choose import from the file menu, navigate to the mxf clips on the hard drive I copied them to, and press 'import'.
It works beautifully.
I also copy the whole BPAV folder to another hard drive as backup.
Regards, Malcolm
Malcolm Hamilton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2010, 07:43 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giannis Pass View Post
Hello,
i am usually importing the ex files to Avid MC4, directly from SxS cards, so the AMA procedure recognizes the files and a new window is opening into Avid.
But now i want to import files, that are being copied into a local hard disk.
How i can import them to avid?
It is High Definition files, so every clip it is in one folder.
Thanks
Well, clearly there is more than one way to do this.

1. If you have the BPAV folder structure intact, and AMA recognizes it and brings the clips into a bin. Select all the clips, On the menu choose Tools > Consolidate/Transcode. Choose consolidate. You will then get to pick a drive and some other options. This essentially copies the files into the Avid media database. My EX1 files come in faster than real time to my USB 2.0 connected drives. When I get the SATA connection, it should be about 1/3 real time.

2. If you do NOT have the BPAV structure intact and just have the raw files, then you can open a new bin, click import select all the files you want to import and the file type you want them to come in as, and let it import the files normally.

Either way works fine. There are some advantages to doing it the AMA/BPAV way though.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2010, 08:28 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 836
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perrone Ford View Post
1. If you have the BPAV folder structure intact, and AMA recognizes it and brings the clips into a bin. Select all the clips, On the menu choose Tools > Consolidate/Transcode. Choose consolidate. You will then get to pick a drive and some other options
Perrone - - I guess the method I've been using is like your number 2, and it does indeed work for me. It never occurred to me to import, with AMA, right from the BPAV folder. I guess this is getting Avid to convert/transcode to mxf, instead of asking the Sony ClipBrowser to do it. Is this preferable? I'm wondering if I should give it a try.

You're an Avid user, so can I ask you if you have a good workflow for AVCHD (my second, small camera is a Canon HF-S10, and up until now, with Media Composer v.5, AVCHD has been a real pain; v.5 has AMA for AVCHD, but I've been advised to wrap to ProRes or DNxHD first, so it's still a pain)
Regards, Malcolm
Malcolm Hamilton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2010, 09:15 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malcolm Hamilton View Post
Perrone - - I guess the method I've been using is like your number 2, and it does indeed work for me. It never occurred to me to import, with AMA, right from the BPAV folder. I guess this is getting Avid to convert/transcode to mxf, instead of asking the Sony ClipBrowser to do it. Is this preferable? I'm wondering if I should give it a try.
I had an interesting issue today. I am about to edit a short film. I had 250GB of EX1 files I shot. Most in BPAV structure. Some not. Most was shot in 1080/24p. Some in 720/60p. I wanted to import it all into the Avid media database. I have a 1080p project set up. What was interesting was that when I used the AMA > Import function, Avid had no trouble importing everything. But when I tried to import stuff that was 720/60p and NOT in a BPAV structure it choked. And I had to create a 720/60p project, import, and then open that bin in the original 1080 project and copy the files over. So doing it the AMA way saves a lot of headache in some cases.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Malcolm Hamilton View Post
You're an Avid user, so can I ask you if you have a good workflow for AVCHD (my second, small camera is a Canon HF-S10, and up until now, with Media Composer v.5, AVCHD has been a real pain; v.5 has AMA for AVCHD, but I've been advised to wrap to ProRes or DNxHD first, so it's still a pain)
Regards, Malcolm
I am a VERY VERY new Avid user. AMA doesn't have AVCHD. Where did you read that? It has access to h.264 from the Canon Cams, but that's not AVCHD.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.

Last edited by Perrone Ford; June 29th, 2010 at 08:41 AM.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 29th, 2010, 08:11 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 836
Hi Perrone,
We're veering out of the realm of the EX-1, but in a nutshell (and you may be new at Avid, but I'm just plain slow at understanding everything that goes on "under the hood" when it comes to anything more complicated than a toaster): I'm following Bob Russo's advice in a Media Composer v.5 demo he did on the subject of the new Quicktime AMA support (YouTube - NAB2010: Demo Avid Media Composer 5). From what I gather, you can fast-link via AMA, even to the raw .MTS (AVCHD) files. I was advised, though, to rewrap to ProRes or DNxHD first, before linking.
For more on this, you can check out this thread: how to use AMA to connect to AVCHD/QT files? - Avid Video Community
If you're editing on Avid, this forum will be as useful to you as this one is for your camera.
Regards, Malcolm
Malcolm Hamilton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 29th, 2010, 08:44 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Malcolm, I don't have an AVCHD camera. I have an EX1. But I do post on footage from a wide variety of cameras. In looking at that thread, it seems people were re-wrapping to QT with clipwrap. That's a Mac only solution and I don't own a Mac. I didn't have success trying to link via AMA to .MTS so that's not viable either. So I guess it's just a basic import for me, which is fine.

I will check this Bob Russo video out though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Malcolm Hamilton View Post
Hi Perrone,
We're veering out of the realm of the EX-1, but in a nutshell (and you may be new at Avid, but I'm just plain slow at understanding everything that goes on "under the hood" when it comes to anything more complicated than a toaster): I'm following Bob Russo's advice in a Media Composer v.5 demo he did on the subject of the new Quicktime AMA support (YouTube - NAB2010: Demo Avid Media Composer 5). From what I gather, you can fast-link via AMA, even to the raw .MTS (AVCHD) files. I was advised, though, to rewrap to ProRes or DNxHD first, before linking.
For more on this, you can check out this thread: how to use AMA to connect to AVCHD/QT files? - Avid Video Community
If you're editing on Avid, this forum will be as useful to you as this one is for your camera.
Regards, Malcolm
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 29th, 2010, 08:56 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 836
Yes I've got an EX-1 as well, but I use my small Canon as a second camera for some interviews. Smaller and cheaper, but AVCHD has been such a pain (takes so much extra time to import/transcode/whatever, and time=$) I've started wondering if I wouldn't be better off with a second EX-1! I shoot (and travel) by myself, though, so weight is also a consideration. Anyway, there's a PC version of the Avid thread for editing questions if you're interested.
Thanks for the advice,
Malcolm
Malcolm Hamilton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 29th, 2010, 09:44 AM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
I think if I have to deal with AVCHD in Avid I'll just do a basic import. Simple enough and I don't see it much. These days it's more HDSLR than anything. With the improvements (hack) to the GH1, I expect I may see more of that shortly.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 29th, 2010, 12:02 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 35
I do almost exactly the same workflow as Malcolm.

I played around with AMA a little before settling on my current process. No real dead solid reason for going with the clip browser\external back to avid flow... just feels comfy.

AMA was mighty fast.
Nathan Swinn is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:04 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network