White Balance: cannot proceed? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 29th, 2010, 06:21 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arcata, Ca
Posts: 750
White Balance: cannot proceed?

Hi

So today I go to a Best Western to shoot footage for a promotional video, and I go to white balance and I received a message saying "cannot proceed". If I push the WB button I get "White Balance Preset" even though I am switched to "A" or "B". All 3 switch selections give me "cannot proceed" and I'm just stuck.

I don't believe I have changed anything from the last time I shot. I have a PP set to Vortex' suggested outside settings, and one for inside. So switching between the two PPs does give me a 5600k / 3200k.

Any suggestions short of resetting the whole camera?

Thanks.
__________________
My Work: http://www.youtube.com/ChadWork1
Sony FS5 :: Panasonic GH4 :: Sony PMW-EX1 :: FCPx :: AT4053b :: Rode NTG-3,
Chad Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 29th, 2010, 06:31 PM   #2
Vortex Media
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New England, USA
Posts: 2,484
Hi Chad,

Here we go again. This question pops up about once a month.

That's one of the common problems I cover in my EX3/EX3 Field Guides.
Vortex Media's XDCAM Field Guides
Unfortunately, I didn't find out about in time to mention it in my EX1 DVD. Keep in mind that when I did the DVD, my camera was one of only two in the country.

It has nothing to do with your PP. Go to the OTHERS menu page and scroll down to the Direct Menu setting. Change it to "PART" and leave it there. You probably have it on ALL and tht disables several of external controls on the camera.

Sony really blew it with this "function". I mean, if you're going to put a big "gotcha" in the camera, why not have an error message that suggests a cause or solution?
__________________
Vortex Media http://www.vortexmedia.com/
Sony FS7, F55, and XDCAM training videos, field guides, and other production tools
Doug Jensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 29th, 2010, 06:42 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arcata, Ca
Posts: 750
Hi Doug.

Thank you! I do have your EX1 field guide and DVD, but as you said - the info isn't there. I was confused because I didn't change anything. But of course it must be user error, and I guess I had to have accidentally changed the setting.

Thanks again.

Chadfish
__________________
My Work: http://www.youtube.com/ChadWork1
Sony FS5 :: Panasonic GH4 :: Sony PMW-EX1 :: FCPx :: AT4053b :: Rode NTG-3,
Chad Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 29th, 2010, 06:45 PM   #4
Vortex Media
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New England, USA
Posts: 2,484
Actually, it is in the EX1 Field Guide on page 22 (page 25 of the EX3 book) next to a red "WARNING" logo. I only missed mentioning it on the DVD. The Field Guide wasn't published until a year later. so I had plenty of time to include it on that one.
__________________
Vortex Media http://www.vortexmedia.com/
Sony FS7, F55, and XDCAM training videos, field guides, and other production tools
Doug Jensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 29th, 2010, 06:48 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arcata, Ca
Posts: 750
Good to know! Thanks.
__________________
My Work: http://www.youtube.com/ChadWork1
Sony FS5 :: Panasonic GH4 :: Sony PMW-EX1 :: FCPx :: AT4053b :: Rode NTG-3,
Chad Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 29th, 2010, 09:57 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Central Florida
Posts: 762
Oh Chad. Did you buy the cheaper EX1 model that didn't come with the User Manual? Seriously, this darn "feature" bit me in the butt the very first day I unboxed my EX1 and walked outside to shoot my first footage. Luckily, I bought the one WITH the manual. As I love to say, "RTFM". ;-)
Dave Morrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 29th, 2010, 10:28 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arcata, Ca
Posts: 750
Oh I have the manual, and Doug's Field Guide. I just forgot about the function. I set it a year ago, then I forgot it. I have no idea how it got changed, but I was worried. So I'm happy now.
__________________
My Work: http://www.youtube.com/ChadWork1
Sony FS5 :: Panasonic GH4 :: Sony PMW-EX1 :: FCPx :: AT4053b :: Rode NTG-3,
Chad Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2010, 12:51 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: California
Posts: 230
The one white balance issue that frustrates me at times is the 'white balance is out of range' or something like that. I can't manually white balance in early morning or late evening, even though it would seem there's enough light to do so.
Buck Forester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2010, 01:29 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arcata, Ca
Posts: 750
"Out of range" is a new one on me. If the light is so low you can't pull a white balance, maybe white balanced colors wouldn't look right? What about opening up your iris? Or just going with a standard 5600, or 3200? Then color correct in post.
__________________
My Work: http://www.youtube.com/ChadWork1
Sony FS5 :: Panasonic GH4 :: Sony PMW-EX1 :: FCPx :: AT4053b :: Rode NTG-3,
Chad Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2010, 03:57 PM   #10
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 4
I had this problem

and it helped when I changed partial menu/full menu to other setting in the menu
Christian Valtanen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2010, 08:26 PM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,979
Having read about this problem, I debated to set it to Part or Full when I rented an EX1R. I am 90% sure before shooting, set it to Part. However, I got the Cannot Proceed message when I pressed the S&Q button. Should I have gotten that message when it's set to Part or is my memory of setting it to Part wrong?
Les Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2010, 08:57 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arcata, Ca
Posts: 750
Doug's answer fixed the problem.
__________________
My Work: http://www.youtube.com/ChadWork1
Sony FS5 :: Panasonic GH4 :: Sony PMW-EX1 :: FCPx :: AT4053b :: Rode NTG-3,
Chad Johnson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:42 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network